Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An absolutly amazing book
Pimp enthrawls the reader right from the start as you are drawn into the world of Bobby Lancaster. As a reader you will go through the whole book with conflicting emotions; supporting him in his uncompromising effort to succeed and then disgusted at the horribles beatings he gives out to women. Even though we see his eventual redemption in old age and deep regret of his...
Published on 11 July 2002 by a_d_i_n

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Positive view and excuses made...
...for "pimpin'" and enslaving women. The book is well-written, of this there is no doubt, but the contents are rather repulsive. I would recommend looking in local libraries for this book rather than buying it. While the author is now dead, first-hand purchases keep it in print and I'm not so sure that's for the best.
Published 7 months ago by A. Moncrieff


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An absolutly amazing book, 11 July 2002
Pimp enthrawls the reader right from the start as you are drawn into the world of Bobby Lancaster. As a reader you will go through the whole book with conflicting emotions; supporting him in his uncompromising effort to succeed and then disgusted at the horribles beatings he gives out to women. Even though we see his eventual redemption in old age and deep regret of his previous life, at no time does the book ever come across as preaching the immoralities of any way of life. It simply is the very frank account of one man's life and the reader is deeply rewarded when coming to their own conclusions about the man known as Iceberg Slim.
A must read, regardless of genre preferences.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing book. Unforgettable., 28 Feb 2011
This review is from: Pimp: The Story of My Life (Paperback)
I first read this book, aged 14, both my older brother and father bought me it. It's everything I like in a book- disturbing, thrilling, exciting, heart breaking and certainly educational. A must read for people that like books that are equally gut wrenching and heart warming. Anyone that gives it one star, must be extremely dull!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic!, 22 July 2000
By A Customer
Since I have read this book I have tried, in vain, to find another book to match it's emotional depth (yes, it's there under the surface-if you look for it), intelligence (irrelivent of your own opinions),street smartness and theory's about the pimp game, which I'm a part of and dark humor and unparalleled talent for creating atmosphere.
Look in it for what you want. Like any work of art, the book may be translated and percived in many ways by the reader. It provides food for thought. The book delivers on so many levels that maybe only someone square & with an oversion to graphic language describing the cold realities of someone's life would dislike it.
Lastly, although it is intended to create the aura of fantastic,fascinating reality, ledgendary persona and I do not take from the solid authenticity of the knowledge used to write the book, the work is fictional.
It is set in the 30-40's in Chicago. There are no concise, contemporary works on this subject that I know of. I am currently working on a book. Anyone wishing to discuss the subj/author feel free to mail me.I will get back to you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Revealing of the pimp game.This is Criminal Orientation, 26 Sep 2000
By A Customer
This book is a masterpiece. No one can come close to telling a story about pimps than the ice himself. Donald Goines' "Whoreson" was good, but this tops that by a long shot. However I advise anyone with the propensity to pimp not read this book because it may put ideas in your head. Robert Beck says he wrote this in order to show the pugnacious nature of pimping, but in his efforts to do so, he glamorizes the pimp, which is himself. While the book did spend a little time talking about his days in prison, I dont think a clear description of how hard prison life is was expressed enough. I especially like the ending of the book when Iceberg Slim sees his error in the way he neglected time spent with his mother and tries to make up for lost time by staying at the hospital with his mother for days without ever leaving. It makes the reader conscious of the fleetness of time and how precious a mother's life is to a son even the coldest hearted of sons the Pimp Iceberg Slim
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars the most influential book youve never read, 16 Feb 2014
a spectacularly horrible way to try to live and forever copied by so many rap artists also can see where irvine walsh gained a lot of ideas for trainspotting in both style and content
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good, 14 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Enjoyed this book although the phrases used sometimes used left me bemused at times the pimp to ordinary English dictionary that was at the end of the book would have been better used at the beginning . Apart from this it was enjoyable,couldn't out it down and now look forward to reading more of the authors work . For someone who spent time behind bars and was quite a brute he was quite the author . Recommend it to anyone .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Positive view and excuses made..., 27 Aug 2013
By 
A. Moncrieff (up your a s s) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Pimp: The Story of My Life (Paperback)
...for "pimpin'" and enslaving women. The book is well-written, of this there is no doubt, but the contents are rather repulsive. I would recommend looking in local libraries for this book rather than buying it. While the author is now dead, first-hand purchases keep it in print and I'm not so sure that's for the best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic, 4 Aug 2000
By A Customer
Ever since I read this book I have tried, in vain, to find another book to match it's emotional depth (yes, it's there under the surface-if you look for it), intelligence (irrelivent of your own opinions),street smartness and theory's about the pimp game, which I'm a part of and dark humor and unparalleled talent for creating atmosphere.
Look in it for what you want. Like any work of art, the book may be translated and percived in many ways by the reader. It provides food for thought. The book delivers on so many levels that maybe only someone square & with an oversion to graphic language describing the cold realities of someone's life would dislike it.
Lastly, although it is intended to create the aura of fantastic,fascinating reality, ledgendary persona and I do not take from the solid authenticity of the knowledge used to write the book, the work is fictional.
It is set in the 30-40's in Chicago. There are no concise, contemporary works on this subject that I know of...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Man Alone, 8 July 2000
By A Customer
One of the best books you will ever read. It conjours up images that will not leave you quickly and attachs the reader to Slim's triumphs and troubles in a most intense way. Top class.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Breathtakingly gritty, violent and sad, 3 Feb 2000
By A Customer
I read a review of this book about three years ago and thought I must try that. I had forgotten about it until a few months ago when I came across it by chance. I'm so glad I did. 'Pimp' is the harrowing true story of Iceberg Slim's life. It is not nice. But it is an absolutely riveting read. From his childhood and sexual abuse (by an older woman), through his hard-won success and affluence to the brink of self destruction and poverty, this book will take you through a battlefield of emotions. The most unexpected being pity and sympathy, because this man has been evil. But he knows it and regrets it with an intensity that solicits a response other than outrage and revulsion. If you enjoy films from Scorsese and Tarantino you should enjoy this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xae1c1b4c)

This product

Pimp: The Story of My Life
Pimp: The Story of My Life by Iceberg Slim (Paperback - 5 Feb 2009)
6.79
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews