Customer Reviews


40 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Small and perfectly formed
In recent years it’s seemed that in the world of literature big is best, and in order to qualify as a great work an author has to emulate Tolkien or Tolstoy with sprawling locations, character and interweaving plot strands. So, it’s refreshing to find a little novel that (in terms of size) is more Great Gatsby than War and Peace.
Fup is a colossal 89...
Published on 25 Nov 2003 by Allan Price

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful book, marred by ending
Absolutely adored the book right until the abrupt ending, at which point I felt thoroughly cheated and wished I hadn't bothered reading it.

Ending aside, it's the perfect 'grown up' fairy story, with swearing grown-ups living their lives as opposed to fantasy princesses dreaming of wedding dresses. Given the character of the duck, the author has obviously spent...
Published on 25 Jan 2011 by Rosey Lea


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A 20th Century Classic of simplicity and charm, 17 Jan 2011
By 
This review is from: Fup: A Modern Fable (Paperback)
"FUP" A 20th Century Classic of simplicity and charm. Jim Dodge is a master story teller and a humanist of extraordinary wit and style. From the very first instant on page one of this little gem - the reader is hooked. As the story unfolds you are at all times engaged, and, amidst the laughter, find yourself dreading the climax as this is a novel that you do not want to end. Having been introduced to Dodge & FUP by a friend, I have since gone on to read all his novels and have to say that I am sore disappointed to find he has not written more. I live in hope!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wonderfully funny and entertaining, 16 Jan 2011
This review is from: Fup: A Modern Fable (Paperback)
A wonderful short book perfect for a Sunday afternoon! Fup is indeed a modern day fable but what it is actually saying is personal to each reader. The story is packed full of wonderful descriptions and excellent prose. The players are well rounded and have a true feeling to them even though there is little space on the page to flesh out their character; this is a testament to the author.

The story made me chuckle inside and smile more times than I can mention and actually made me laugh outloud a time or two.

It might be a simple tale but it is told with remarkable wit and intelligence and is a thoroughly enjoyable read. Buy it, read it, enjoy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fup, 7 Jan 2011
You will not regret buying this beautiful little book. It is very short but still very worth it. Its not my usual thing and I expected not to like it, but it has gained a permanent place in my heart. Well done Jim Dodge for humour that is both decisively adult and truly funny and a message that delivers itself without sacharine sweetness, unlike so many others today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant ... love it ....., 6 Jan 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fup: A Modern Fable (Paperback)
Oh Fup!
Have this on Kindle as well as my much loved and now tatty pb
Just bought pb a copy for my 15 year old..

A must read and keep book if ever there was.

Everyone should own a copy of this .... Love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 6 Jan 2011
By 
A Johnson (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Excellent short story! Would not describe this as a childrens book due to the swearing. I did not know what to expect with this story reading the description, but it's clever and gripping throughout.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pure Genius, 7 Oct 2005
This review is from: Fup ("Rebel Inc") (Paperback)
The best little book I have ever read (& read & read) - the only downside with Fup is it's so good that you keep giving it to friends and having to buy it again for yourself. A truly beautiful and highly imaginative piece of literature - inspirational, warm and above all very funny. By far & away Jim Dodge's best work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Breathtaking., 8 Mar 2001
This review is from: Fup ("Rebel Inc") (Paperback)
This is simply the best little book I've ever read. I've bought four copies now, because the first three were all eventually given to friends who gave them to friends who gave them to... Everyone should read this, it should be on the national curriculum for schoolchildren.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A pocket size guide to life for dreamers., 17 Jun 2004
This review is from: Fup: A Modern Fable (Paperback)
If you like novels to be very short and beautifully sweet, then this gem is for you. Like sticking in your favourite film to escape life for a few precious hours, you can sink into this beauty and be done in less then a few hours. I couldn't possibly describe the plot of this unusual fairytale, except to say that the main character is a duck. Yes a duck called Fup! Don't worry, all will be revealed to you when you begin this witty journey into American rural nostalgia. This is my favourite of Jim's wonderful work, and is the best book this humble reviewer has ever read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THIS BOOK IS DANGEROUS, 10 Nov 1999
By 
Mr. S. G. Maskell "smaskell" (ENGLAND) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Fup ("Rebel Inc") (Paperback)
Don't trust it, Mr Dodge is Satan and is trying to corrupt yoof with this subversive prodagandica tale of a relationship between a duck and a simpleton. This is controversial stuff - makes that makes Jonathan Livington Seagull seem saintly.
BUY IT AND LOVE IT - BUT PLEASE DON'T TRUST IT.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Hmmm, a winner in places, but sadly not all., 22 Oct 2012
By 
Manda Moo (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Fup: A Modern Fable (Paperback)
Hmmm, I didn't think that this was as good as Stone Junction, short and relatively sweet though, so worth a read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Fup: A Modern Fable
Fup: A Modern Fable by Jim Dodge (Paperback - 2 April 2009)
£6.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews