Customer Reviews


38 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Clear and concise. Allows practice of what can't be covered in full at school., 19 Nov 2012
By 
ROROBLU'S MUM "ROROBLU'S MUM" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: AS/A Level Maths for Edexcel - Statistics 1: Student Book (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This book is good value at the RRP, but it's even better at the discounted amazon price. This review is by an A-level student who's missed a fair bit of school due to illness, but who feels that the workbook is allowing her to keep up with her class.

She says that the explanations are clear, there are several worked examples of the same topic, and that despite missing some entire classes, she was able to pick up the missed topics very quickly, as it's in the style of 'an intro to'.

Overall, very easy to use, with enough examples so that practice makes perfect, and the CD and exam-style questions provide good timed practice for exam prep.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book!, 19 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: AS/A Level Maths for Edexcel - Statistics 1: Student Book (Paperback)
I tend to learn more on my own than in class, so this book was brilliant. It's clear, no fuss, has lots of examples and tons of questions to get you the really high grades. A++
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very helpful review of the subject at a higher level, 15 Feb 2013
By 
Mr. A. C. Thorne (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: AS/A Level Maths for Edexcel - Statistics 1: Student Book (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This guide designed for the A level syllabus would I think prove very useful within it intended purpose, but I obtained it to support a revision of statisitics for the purposes of research. As somebody constantly undertaking various types of research I have never found myself to be an intuitive mathematician, and so have need of a regular review of the subject of statisitics and statistical analysis. This guide really offers as simple approacoh as it is possible to achieve whilst meeting the need for relevant information.
My son who is studying maths at approaching this level has found it covers the required syllabus areas of the AS/A level syllabus and so we are both happy to use it as a resource.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good value for money, 13 Jan 2013
By 
SJSmith (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: AS/A Level Maths for Edexcel - Statistics 1: Student Book (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
As a teacher and occasional home tutor I am a fan of the CGP products and I have found this Student book up to their usual high standard.

It is written with lots of `white space' which makes it easy for the student to read and feel comfortable with and after all statistics is not a topic students normally feel comfortable with!

I recommend that the student use the book to complement, extend and reinforce what is taught in lesson. It is also useful as a revision aide especially used with the CD that contains mock exams and practice papers. Each question having a model answer allows the student to really get to grips with showing where the marks come from.

Please do take account of the fact that the guide was written specifically for Edexcel. There will be significant overlap with other exam boards but work with your teacher if you do still wish to purchase this book and you are following a different exam board.

Overall, very good value for money - especially at this discounted price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent support resource, 17 Oct 2013
By 
Seren Ade (UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: AS/A Level Maths for Edexcel - Statistics 1: Student Book (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This Stats 1 Module student support book from CGP is, as ever for the range, a very good thing. The module syllabus is fully covered, the book is well-laid out and extremely user-friendly.

Sections are clearly structured and explanations are thorough - far better than the stuff that was available when I did my Maths 'A' Level. For 'A' Level candidates, the CD, in particular, is a valuable resource - providing mock papers and detailed, worked-through answers. But this book is also a useful resource for people brushing up on Maths, or studying university subjects requiring a certain amount of Maths-based knowledge.

This is now in regular use as a source book by my younger brother, a second-year Physics student.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Educational Text, 28 Aug 2013
By 
Beanie Luck Spud (Cotswolds) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: AS/A Level Maths for Edexcel - Statistics 1: Student Book (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Got this as my 16 year old son Matthew is just about to start college to do his A levels.

I have never been so proud of anyone in my life and he is way smarter than i am which is quite the humbling experience.

He was thrilled to bits when i showed him this book as he is studying Mathematics, Chemistry, Biology, Psychology, English, and Law.

He went through the text and found it very informative and it matches his course content exactly so he will be able to use this as an additional study guide.

Very highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I wish I'd had this book, 11 May 2013
By 
Emily - London (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: AS/A Level Maths for Edexcel - Statistics 1: Student Book (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
When I did Maths A level I had to struggle with a text book that believed in you making maths discoveries yourself. I love this CPG text book because it is the exact opposite. It is like following a footpath with plenty of sign posts. There are handy `tips' in the margin reminding you what key notation means. The answers to the questions are in the back, with workings and a bit of chat. There are little diagrams and `hints' on how to solve problems, and some practice exams to download.

This book is about the A' level Mathematics for Edexcel Statistics 1, so it covers the basics - representing data, probability, Venn and tree diagrams, normal distributions, correlation and the basics of linear regression. This is not a book to teach you about multivariate analysis or computer modelling, but it might be useful even as a university student in getting you to the starting blocks, helping you brush up rusty statistics, and in my case fill in a few rusty holes in my memory.

It is visually attractive, and surprisingly readable if you dip into it as I did. It is well priced for something so self-contained, with the equivalent of teacher's notes, and could be a real help if the teacher is less than clear.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It's good, 17 April 2013
By 
Kris (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: AS/A Level Maths for Edexcel - Statistics 1: Student Book (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
A great revision guide, simple as that. It doesn't seem to presume too much knowledge, as it is very detailed, but not so basic that it is targeted at novices. There are frequent mini tests to check your knowledge which are useful, but I can't comment on the cd as I have no way of using it. Just make sure you buy the right guide for your exam board!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well Presented and Concise, 15 April 2013
By 
Zip Domingo (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: AS/A Level Maths for Edexcel - Statistics 1: Student Book (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
An excellent study aid as are most products from this publisher; it includes a CD with a couple of past papers on it and the book is nicely laid out and accessible for teenager and adult alike, including some good exercises and sample exam questions.

In fact is a good way to refresh your maths whether taking the As/A Level paper or not, and an interesting way to get your head around statistical models that have moved on a bit since days of yore. So good all round educational tool at a reasonable enough price for the content.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Comprehensive, with review questions and a worked exam, 16 Nov 2012
By 
Peter (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: AS/A Level Maths for Edexcel - Statistics 1: Student Book (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This book provides comprehensive coverage of the Edexcel S1 (Stats 1) module. What's more, it has several worked examples, and a block of exam-style questions at the end of each chapter. Even better, there's a CD at the end with exam-type questions in the page layout you'd expect in an exam. Each question has a model answer that you can toggle on and off, so you can write your answer, then see where you might have dropped marks (by not explaining the steps you took to arrive at your answer, for example). For some reason, the answers are turned on by default, so you need to hide them quickly if you want to work through the questions yourself.

My daughter is doing this course at school. She found the way linear interpolation was explained at school to be confusing; using this book, she quickly sorted out the confusion. So she's a happy customer!

Note: the subjects covered and the methods vary between exam boards, so this book is only suitable if you're doing the Edexcel AS or A-level exams.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xae1169c8)

This product

AS/A Level Maths for Edexcel - Statistics 1: Student Book
AS/A Level Maths for Edexcel - Statistics 1: Student Book by CGP Books (Paperback - 14 May 2012)
11.19
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews