Customer Reviews


53 Reviews
5 star:
 (30)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent choice
I found this edition very helpful and easy to use.from studying for four weeks it really helped me understand life in the UK which made me pass first time.
Published 3 months ago by kelvin

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Handy Guide
To those wishing to take the British Citizenship test this book and disk will surely prove to be a reliable guide and set of crib sheets and notes - mostly in the form of questions.

I've also found it useful for setting quizzes - to find out how much we natives know about some of the finer points of politics and law, for example.
Published 4 months ago by G. J. Oxley


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent choice, 17 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Life in the UK Test - Study and Practice (Paperback)
I found this edition very helpful and easy to use.from studying for four weeks it really helped me understand life in the UK which made me pass first time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must for applicants, 8 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Life in the UK Test - Study and Practice (Paperback)
This book uses the original text but somehow is better set out - I prefer the fonts in this book. The CD Rom is very helpful in improving memorisation and answering techniques. Needs updating as the 2014 text is different.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars All you should need, 1 Oct 2013
By 
Sussman "Sussman" (London CA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Life in the UK Test - Study and Practice (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
A straight forward book that enables the `student' pretty much all they need to get through the test. The language is succinct and has the benefits of being `adapted' so any user where the English language is not their first language will be grasp what is going on and what is wanted from them. The book is neatly divided into sections, and where appropriate is supplemented by pictorials and outlines to support the learner. The real plus point here is the accompanying CD media which generates practice tests that simulate the tests you will be tested on for real. A good book that does what is meant to do, in an understandable format.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A well written introduction to the UK, 12 Aug 2014
By 
Birmingham Book Reader (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Life in the UK Test - Study and Practice (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
While I am a life long British Citizen I have for a while wanted to read this book.
Having done so it has reminded me just why the UK is a great place to live.
The start of the book gives an "potted" history of the UK. Which I found a helpful reminder.
The book then goes on to other aspects of our society. For me the best part (other than the questions! I got so many wrong at first!) was the section on customs and traditions, plus sport etc.

The "test" questions were good - like having a quiz in the home there are twenty practice sets od tests of questions (with twenty-four questions eacg) included in the book... As well as a CD with many more.

This is a really good book to read for someone who needs to pass the UK Citizenship test and just for interest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An interesting and comprehensive book, 16 July 2014
By 
B. Bello (Stourton) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Life in the UK Test - Study and Practice (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
An interesting and comprehensive book which is well set out, clear and is a best seller for CGP who are so good at presentation of material required to pass exams etc. - in this instance the test is for those coming into the U K.

It fully covers the relevant Home Office text - which is adapted well in order to make it easier to understand for those who may not have English as their first language so it is easy to read and understand.

The practice tests really assimilate the test conditions and provide real answers which are so helpful. It is really thorough and you have all the information you need to pass the test - a must have in these circumstances.

Another top rated product for CGP.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Informative, 18 Jun 2014
By 
Whatchamacallit (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Life in the UK Test - Study and Practice (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Despite being a lifelong UK citizen I didn't know quite a lot of the information that's in this book. I found it very interesting as a learning experience, but also as an insight into the process that prospective UK citizens have to follow. There are twenty practice tests of questions (with twenty-four questions per test) included in the book, and there's also a CD inside which contains more tests digitally. It's worth noting that the disc needs to install software on your computer (PC or Mac) in order to work, but there's also the option to take free tests online.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A good grounding, 16 July 2014
This review is from: Life in the UK Test - Study and Practice (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I got this out of curiosity to see what people have to got though to pass their test.

It's an interesting and well set out book. There was a lot there that I didn't know and I've been a Brit all my life! I can't see how some of the questions are relevant but it suspect if you are able to memorise everything in this book, you'll know more about life in the uk than the typical Brit.

The cd installs on your laptop easily and has questions to let you get some exam practice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good resource, 25 July 2014
By 
Smatch (South West) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Life in the UK Test - Study and Practice (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Well designed book, it's easy to skim through and to methodically work through as well.
The software that is included in total honestly could be done without, but does adda certain colour to the strict and simplified layout of the book. All in all a very useful piece of literature, updated to the times of course so I assume it will be good for another couple of years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great product, 20 Aug 2014
By 
Mr. D. J. Carr "David Carr" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Life in the UK Test - Study and Practice (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
A brilliant summary of the Uk plus questions you are expected to to know the answers to - but quite often don't! We've found the tests to be a good game for visitors. They are always surprised at what they are expected to know - and laugh at some of the statements included regarding how oursociety theoretically works. Very highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Life in the UK, 3 Jun 2014
By 
Arthur Dooley (N Wales) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Life in the UK Test - Study and Practice (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Despite already being a lifelong citizen of the UK, I was interested to read just what new arrivals seeking to find a new life in the UK have to go through with regards to a UK citizenship test. Covering all aspects of British history and culture, the book offers itself as a perfect primer for those about to take the test.
Complete with an interactive CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Life in the UK Test - Study and Practice
Life in the UK Test - Study and Practice by CGP Books (Paperback - 1 Jun 2013)
10.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews