Customer Reviews


172 Reviews
5 star:
 (94)
4 star:
 (66)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Practice and Learn Maths 5-6
Over the years I have often found CGP workbooks to be very helpful and this is one of a range for Key Stage One children. It is a nice, colourful workbook, with a pull out section of answers and a counting game in the back cover for which you do need a dice and counters (easily borrowed from another game). The book covers the following topics: numbers and words, counting,...
Published on 20 Feb 2012 by S Riaz

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Ok but...
Reader friendly, child friendly pages. Quite challenging for 6-7 year olds who need some support in this subject. Parental support would be required. Probably more suited to 7,8 and 9 years olds if working independently. Could be longer.
Published on 25 Oct 2012 by M. de-layen Vian


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Practice and Learn Maths 5-6, 20 Feb 2012
By 
S Riaz "S Riaz" (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Practise & Learn: Maths (Ages 5-6) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Over the years I have often found CGP workbooks to be very helpful and this is one of a range for Key Stage One children. It is a nice, colourful workbook, with a pull out section of answers and a counting game in the back cover for which you do need a dice and counters (easily borrowed from another game). The book covers the following topics: numbers and words, counting, counting in ones and tens, counting in twos and fives, ordering numbers, more or less, adding, subtracting, pairs of numbers, money, patterns and ordering, measures, time and shapes. It is particularly helpful to find a book with an English money section, as most books on the market hardly cover this very difficult topic. There is a double page spread for each topic, which provides good practice and is just enough to tell if your child really struggles with one particular maths area. A clear, well laid out workbook, which will engage young children. The inside cover lists the complete range of English, Maths and Skills practice books in the range - I would love to see a Skills Practice book aimed just at money and time, which are, I think, two of the hardest areas to teach.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This reminds me of Maths books from my childhood!, 10 Jan 2012
By 
Pompom (Devon) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Practise & Learn: Maths (Ages 5-6) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Clear, concise maths for 5 to 6 year olds, presented in an appealing way. Has already caught my little boys attention - I will be buying more from the set. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Product tested on 5 and half year old niece, 30 Dec 2011
By 
Amazon Customer "Sussman" (London CA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
My niece loved this activity book, although I have the sneaky suspicion that she found it rather easy to go through. My brother's little bundle joy is 5 and half so well within the target audience so to speak! Her critique was rather interesting and I must say ahead of her age! She loved the bright colours and the page layout and remarked that books like these should not be too long as it is easy to lose interest, the little cherub! The tasks were nice and varied and the board game at the end meant that, even after completing most of the tasks she would look at again, what was nice is the fact that book is packed with a lot of key skills, but to name a few:-

1.Phonics Practice
2.Prefixes and Suffixes
3.Same and Opposite
4.Punctuation
5.Tongue Twisters
6.Brain-teasers
7.Writing Sentences

Above is just a sample of the areas covered in this edition. To some sum then a very nice a colourful way in which to engage a young mind without making it look and feel it's another school set, homework based exercise. Therefore `we' give it a well worthy 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'Practice & Learn: English (Age 6-7)' learning the easy way, 16 Feb 2012
By 
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This 'Practice & Learn: English (Age 6-7)' has been put together in a way that makes learning very attractive for children. Half the battle at times is making learning enjoyable and this learning aid helps to avoid those awkward "Oh Dad do we have to?" situations.

Our five year old daughter along with our seven year old son have both enjoyed using this book to complement their school learning. Some questions our younger daughter can answer and other more challenging questions our son has been tackling.

Liberal use of illustrations help make this English book a positive learning experience for children and not something they dread. Often the same concept is considered from different angles helping to reinforce learning of a particular concept.

Good fun: I would confidently recommend this book to any parents with children within the age range.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Learning Tool For Kids, 21 Dec 2011
By 
Coincidence Vs Fate - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Practise & Learn: Maths (Ages 5-6) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
My son is a pretty average five-year-old really. He goes through phases of liking school and then not liking school. Sometimes it's a struggle to prise him away from Dr Who or Star Wars long away to do any school work.

When I showed him this he gave his usual disinterested glance as it didn't contain a droid OR a Timelord, but after a bit of persuading we started looking through it.

The book is really well laid out and contains some great thought provoking problems for kids. For example; How many red apples are there? How many green apples are there? How many apples are there? It's clever because it makes them work stuff out for themselves. It's the classic situation where they're learning without realising it.

We're not quite as lucky as the other reviewer where their son spent a couple of hours on it, but we're getting there. Though, I think the coming event this Sunday may delay matters somewhat!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A bright boy might love this, 20 Dec 2011
By 
Ajo "ak" (Surrey, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Practise & Learn: Maths (Ages 5-6) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
My 5 year old boy is OK with Maths, he does not love it nor does he hate it, however he picked up this book and finished it in two sessions (and said he loved it). Each of `his' sessions lasted 2-3 hours...

It's well set out, starting with very simple exercises building up to something more challenging for 5 - 6 year olds.

The good points:
- Kids learn maths without feeling they have to
- It keeps them busy and quiet for hours

Bad points:
- none
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Colourful work book with a range of topics and help learning tips..., 19 Dec 2011
By 
Stuart Moses (Epsom, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Practise & Learn: Maths (Ages 5-6) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is a colourful workbook, with attractive graphics to make maths seem fun. The illustrations include rockets, balloons, kites, animals, apples, cakes and ice creams. These pictures should help hold your child's attention as they answer a wide range of questions. On the other hand, they aren't so engrossing that they will distract the pupil from the maths questions.

The topics covered in this book are Numbers and Words, Counting, Counting in Ones and Tens, Counting in Twos and Fives, Ordering Numbers, More or Less, Adding, Subtracting, Pairs of Numbers, Money, Patterns and Ordering, Measures, Time and Shapes.

The centre pages contain the answers. They also include helpful learning tips which you can share with the student such as, 'If your child has made a few mistakes, remind them to double check their work next time - it's a really good habit for them to get in to.'

As a potential reward for completing the book, there is a maths-based board game printed on the inside back cover. It's called Race To The Moon, which will help the pupil revise some of the topics in this book. The only problem was my six-year-old son was more interested in playing this game than doing the exercises in the first place!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good book and lovely to see the kids enjoying learning., 4 Jan 2012
By 
Ferris "Ferris" (Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Practise & Learn: Maths (Ages 5-6) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This book is well suited to the age group and my five year old does find it quite challenging. The pages are colorful and the wording is large which is really engaging. The activities are varied and if your child is resourceful enough they can find the answers in other places on the page.

For a few nights now we have worked through a few pages a night instead of watching the Simpsons. It is really good seeing how enthusiastic this book has made my boy to learn and it will be helping him get ahead in his school learning.

I have two grips with this book which we have overcome but ;
1. it would be really nice to have wipe clean pages so it could be used again and again, we have worked through in pencil but you can see the answers still even when rubbed out.
2. 8 pages of the book have been taken up providing the answers, this is a waste of space and not really required as an adult can help check if the answers are correct. Also a child could quite easily look up all the answers. Luckily the answers are in the middle of the book so it was quite easy to pull the out.

Good book and lovely to see the kids enjoying learning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very good book., 4 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book are amazing for 5-6 years i love it. It is useful for kids to follow and work through.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A good little book, 19 Dec 2013
By 
Flyboy (Bristol, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Practise & Learn: Maths (Ages 5-6) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Got this book for my daughter to do in the holidays. Parts of it I would say are for children older than her, but she has enjoyed some bits. We will keep working at it as she progresses........
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Practise & Learn: Maths (Ages 5-6)
Practise & Learn: Maths (Ages 5-6) by CGP Books (Paperback - 6 Dec 2011)
£3.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews