Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars75
4.6 out of 5 stars
Price:£9.15+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 15 May 2014
Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
As reviewed by our 10 year old next-door neighbour, who ordered these to see whether she wanted to take the exam: "If you're considering the 11+, then these papers will be really helpful. They cover all aspects of the exam - through several practice papers, and accompanying sheets which not only gives the answers, but also explain the questions. Importantly, these tests will give you a taster of the 11+ if you're undecided - and with adult guidance, they'll help you prepare for exams. You'll need adult help, though, as you wouldn't be able to use them alone."
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 100 REVIEWERon 3 February 2015
Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
This book contains 2 practise tests for the 11+ and an answer book which actually explains how the answers were achieved rather than just the answer, an essential in my opinion.
The tests have been designed to cover a little bit of everything that will normally appear on the 11+ and gives an idea on how to answer the questions too. It is a great way to take away the terror of an exam, because your child will have “been there, done that” and whilst exams are still horrible, practice always prepares you.
This is a very easy to work through set of tests, written in a style that children will see in school and in exams, it is excellent at what it is designed for.
As to if this will take the place of a tutor, no I don’t think it will. Children learn best with a teacher and if your child is going for a grammar school place where there is a lot of competition you can bet the shirt on your back that there will be kids there who have had tutors, exam coaching and all sorts of tricks to get them up to standard, this is one of those tricks, but it is only one.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 March 2014
These are proving most helpful in preparing for the 11+ exam. I do recommend them for any year 5 child
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
.

This is good way to really prepare a child for the test, we tested the kids using exam conditions, and we believe this best prepped them for the real exam. Even if the test is not applicable for your area its central themes and tenets, as supplemental work, can do nothing more than be a positive enforcer when added to the correct papers for your area. That said you should still ensure that you know which tests are used in your school district and ensure that you have covered those test papers to best prep your child for the exam. While you get two test papers per section, it would have been nice to have had more, but this a minor problem. A very good resource that will hopefully get the results we are looking for.

.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This is the second pack of 11+ Practice Test Papers by CGP, based on the CEM (Durham University) test. Many schools and LEAs have opted to use the CEM Durham entrance tests, rather than the previous GL Assessment. The GL tests usually tested children in maths, English, Verbal and Non-Verbal reasoning. The CEM (Centre for Evaluation and Monitoring) tests are designed to be fairer and ‘resistant to prepping.’ In other words, children should have a more level playing field, with tutoring being of less help. However, ironically this has created a new market for workbooks, aimed at preparing children for the CEM tests. The subjects covered are slightly different than the GL Assessment, consisting of tests in Verbal Reasoning, Comprehension, Maths and Non-Verbal reasoning. Although, possibly, it is the way the particular subjects are tests which really varies and it is worth checking with the schools that you are interested in, to check which tests they use in the various exams (often schools have two different rounds of tests) and to see whether you are able to see any past papers (sometimes available during open days). There is also a useful website address on this pack of information about who sets the 11+ tests in different areas of the UK.

This pack includes two sets of Practice Papers, although there is an interesting disclaimer stating that Past Papers are not available from CEM themselves and that they have used, “feedback on real CEM tests from parents and tutors to identify the topics that come up most often.” In other words, these are the best approximation of the kind of test your child may sit in a school which uses the CEM test, but is not necessarily going to contain the same kind of questions. It is, though, currently the best preparation available. Both CGP and Bond have begun to publish books and past papers containing the kind of questions used in the CEM tests. This particular pack has two sets of practice tests, with questions in Verbal Reasoning, Comprehension, Maths and Non-Verbal Reasoning. There is also a useful answer booklet and multiple choice answer sheets for each test. If you do wish to prepare your child for the new tests, this will provide practice of the kind of tests they might sit and should be used after the workbooks in the various subject areas.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 6 August 2015
Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
We've used CGP material for some time. I've always found their material clear and interestingly presented. The book was well laid out in A4 format. This is not a study book like many other CGP guides; it is a pack with 2 sets exam papers covering English, math's and verbal reasoning. The papers are laid out as per a real exam, so there is a realistic feel to doing them. My minor criticism is that perhaps two paper sets aren’t enough…. But apart from that the pack is very useful and should help anyone soon to undertake the exams and perhaps get the nerves out of the way early.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 7 November 2015
Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
The 11+ test is not used all over the country any longer, but it still has a following in certain areas. As such, it has bred a desire for parents to be able to help 'prep' their children on the types of questions that they will be asked. Interestingly, the CEM test, is designed to even the playing feild, and to be less easy to prepare for, thus preventing those with endless reams of money from spending a fortune on tutors to guarantee their child does well.

Enter the CGP Practice Tests for CEM 11+. Although they claim to be unable to show specific examples of what type of question would arise in a CEM test, I think you can rest pretty well assured that they cover the topics and question type well.

Pack 2 can be used on it's own, or alongside the original pack issued. The pack itself has two practice tests inside it, like the initial pack issued. These again cover the areas of Verbal and Non-Verbal Reasoning, Comprehension, and Maths. My eldest is too young to be taking an 11+, and probably won't be choosing to do so, but she absolutely loves to try different tests and to see which areas might need more work on them. She found the layout really straightforward, and the answers are included in a booklet so that you can quickly assess how well your child has done at tackling the questions.

If your child is seriously looking at taking the 11+, then it is a great idea to let them have a little practice. It can help allay their fears about the unknown, and also to highlight any areas that need a bit more support. These practice tests can help with this and, as such, I highly recommend them!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 11 June 2014
Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
This set comes in a handy velcro folder and is just a set of 2 full practise test papers or mock exams for the CEM Durham university version 11+ test. If your child is sitting this type of test it'll be a perfect chance to practise and feel confident with the format. We are not yet sure which type of test our child will be taking so just using these for general practise and it works very well for this too. Each test in this pack includes the full selection of verbal reasoning, comprehension, maths and non verbal reasoning
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 22 January 2016
Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
This is virtually the same review as the one I did for Book 1 of the CEM (Durham University) practice tests and for the same reasons. These weren't around when I sat the 11+ all those decades ago and we had to make do with teachers creating their own based on past experience. It could be hit and miss. Luckily I had some very good teachers who devoted time and effort to preparing us as best they could. I wish this type of book had been around then. This is the first book of three and it contains a two complete test papers that cover all the subjects that come up on the CEM (Durham University) 11+ test. Complete with a comprehensive answer book, this should give parents and tutors a good idea of the strengths and weaknesses of their child and areas that may subsequently need a bit of work. You do need to check that your child will be using the CEM (Durham) 11+ as not all 11+ tests are the same, although broadly similar. Good to give your child the opportunity to practice and get used to the layout of the test paper and if you decide to time the tests an idea of what they can do in a specific amount of time and how best to pace themselves. I've been through this process now a few times with my own children and my grandson and found this type of book to be very useful for the reasons stated.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 September 2014
Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
The CEM 11+ exam is only one form of testing schools may be doing but if you know the secondary school of your choice is using these tests as an entrance exam then they are worthwhile getting in order to practice. This is book 2 of a pair (the first set offers a different set of practice questions). It would also be good to speak to the school your child is currently in as they may have some revision material they can give you.

Currently the pack is on sale at £7.32 and for that price you get another set A and B practice papers (although one of the questions in this pack is the same as in the other pack) in verbal reasoning, comprehension, maths and non-verbal reasoning. Now if you've bought the books to help you develop your skills further then this is definitely a way to test those skills. There is also the answer book with the pack which would be good for those parents wishing to be involved in the preparation.

It looks clear on the page (unlike some of the study guides) and gives clear instructions. I like them to use with Y9 (mixed ability, majority low reading age) as a skills based assessment.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse