Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen with Prime Learn more Shop Men's Shop Women's

Customer Reviews

3.4 out of 5 stars47
3.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£10.78+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 29 January 2011
I bought this because my Psychology teacher did not provide organised or needed notes. This book provided all noted needed on Topics of Psychology needed for Unit3 and all Unit4 material too! A break down of what AO1, AO2 and AO3 was - which i couldnt find anywere else! A look at what the examiners want and how to write an essay which i needed! The concise information for each topic for unit3 helped me learn quickly and feel confident with my notes to use in the exam! Great for the price!!
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 January 2013
I was bought this by a thoughtful family member, and although it is mildly useful it is very bare. From the perspective of someone taking an exam on this, I would say that this book alone is not enough to work from. There's only minimum information, so it's more of a 'quick revision' tool than a complete revision guide. It completely misses out some vital parts of some topics and is more of a summary. However, it's useful for a starting point to elaborate on.
I would suggest only using this book if you have other books and notes to reference as well, or you wont have enough to write for your exam!
(I personally prefer the Complete Companion textbook, it has more information and is helpful with the structure of essay writing.)
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 June 2011
This CGP revision guide is a good aid for anyone studying Psychology at A2 Level. As a revision guide, it covers all the required topics, but I must stress that it does not cover them in enough detail to achieve the top grades. Like all other CGP guides, the concepts are well explained and nicely summarised. The layout is excellent with all the topics subdivided into manageable chunks. Also, as with all CGP guides you can expect plenty of jokes to make you cringe.

I would recommend that you purchase this guide, however, you should make sure you have another source to fill in the gaps.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 February 2012
CGP books are usually awesome, and the AS one was really useful last year, but unfortunately this one was not up to standard.
Due to the amount of optional modules, they have created a bad trade off between breadth and detail.
It is okay for a small, concise overview of certain areas, but there is no where enough detail to answer a 24 mark question on any of the topics.

Sorry CGP.

Don't buy this.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 March 2010
this is a good book as it summarises a2 psychology quite well, although i think there should be a little more detail of methodology and synoptic links
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 October 2010
I was really disappointed with this book. I wanted it just for revision purposes but its way too basic even for that.
Don't use this as a source textbook, it wont get you anywhere, and its not nay good even for revision - i mean its whole topics condensed to 1 page. if you re looking for above C grades, its not the one for you. I was really disappointed, as I liked CGP for gcse.
22 comments|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 October 2014
This is a very good book if you want the basics laid out to you clearly with good summaries. It's easy to use and read, but make sure you have another source to revise from!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 June 2014
Not suitable for studying A2 psychology as it doesn't have as much information for Ao2 points and I think it's based on the previous spec so it's a little outdated
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 July 2014
Really simple and easy to understand. Too basic to use as a stand alone for revision but perfect for condensing notes and for use alongside other material.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 March 2016
This is a Revision book. Don't try to use it to learn everything because it lacks detail and excludes a few things. I'm not 100% on the 'complete' aspect of it, it's good to read through sections before you cover them to lay the groundwork. It makes things pretty easy to understand and if you need to quickly refresh a topic or see how you are on some things I'd recommend it.

It's designed (like most revision books) to be used in conjunction with a complete/student book or other resources.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)