Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn more Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars35
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£10.79+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 26 March 2013
The only reason that I would recommend this book for A2 is for the exam questions at the bottom of each chapter so you can get an idea of how good you have a grasp on each section.

However, the level of detail is nowhere near what is required for the exam - you need to know the specification inside out and this book doesn't give the depth of knowledge, or even close.

If you can only afford one revision guide, buy a different one for the same course that has more detail if you can. If not, use the textbook and online resources. It will definitely not get you to pass the exam as a revision resource (unless you're aiming for an E.
11 comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 September 2013
If you are just buying this book for A2 then don't.
It is great for summarising information and the little questions but t does not provide enough information. It's just a revision guide.
I recommend the OCR Heinemann textbook as a great companion book for this. The only problem with the textbook is that it's more expensive but it is jam packed with information and questions- a definite must for A2 biology.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 June 2013
Though there are a few good points in this book, it seems as though the authors have tried to cram every little detail about everything down your throat, which I found a bit odd in a CGP-book, based on their normally rather relaxed, jokey style.

It also seems that just about every other word is in bold as a key-word, making the use of this book even more confusing.

Steer well clear
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 May 2012
This book was bought for my daughter who needed to revise smartly.
She began her revision early and was able to utilise this book effectively.
She made flash cards from each chapter that was relevant. The colour coded information
on each subject matter was helpful and easy to follow. She found it helped and felt
at ease when she did the biology paper.
Great resource.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 October 2015
Literally the only thing getting me through A2 Biology. This book explains the course in terms I can easily understand and really helps to get your head around difficult concepts. I would say that you should use this with class notes/textbook as it isn't fully comprehensive but it is still a great help for the more complex parts of Biology.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 April 2012
My son was struggling with using the huge OCR study and revision books. He wanted the content broken down into easier to manage and understand sections. This book alongside the AS version has done just that and he is happier using this as his main revision guide for the subject.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 October 2013
The book came soon after I ordered it. I didn't expect it to be delivered so quickly. The information in the book is not sufficient enough but its a good starting point. You may need to refer to other sources to get higher marks.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2013
Good snapshot stuff, makes good use of graphics and keeps it in simple, manageable chunks. Be aware that this does not cover everything so you shouldn't use this on its own, but its a very good supplement.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 March 2011
For all those who are studying for their OCR A Level Biology, this book is an absolute must have! It cuts out all the fluff in the textbook and gets straight to the point, making it easier to memorise/understand. Obviously, it's a revision GUIDE so don't make it your only source of revision as it doesn't always contain examples that help you answer stretch and challenge exam questions, which helps you get the much coveted A* at A Level!! But I love, love, love it!!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 February 2013
It's such a helpful book and summarises all the content of A2 Biology into a couple of pages! - Would recommend to anyone taking A Level Biology! :)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)