Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


49 of 52 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really helped with revision
How do you REVISE for English? I am not a teacher but as a parent needed some guidance on how to help my child.

My 12 year old son has just had his end of year 8 school exams. In December his teacher told me that his classwork and homework were good, but he really struggled in tests because he couldnt seem to focus or ran out of time.

I bought this...
Published on 16 Jun. 2011 by K. Dew

versus
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Very thorough but perhaps a little boring
From a teachers point of view this makes life easy as everything is clearly covered and student won't miss anything however from a student's point of view (mine at least) they found it a little boring and the texts to analyse were not very inspiring. Good if you have children who are very eager to learn, not so good if you have reluctant children who YOU want to learn!!
Published on 26 Jun. 2012 by Nicmarjel


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

49 of 52 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really helped with revision, 16 Jun. 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: KS3 English Workbook (with answers and online edition) (Paperback)
How do you REVISE for English? I am not a teacher but as a parent needed some guidance on how to help my child.

My 12 year old son has just had his end of year 8 school exams. In December his teacher told me that his classwork and homework were good, but he really struggled in tests because he couldnt seem to focus or ran out of time.

I bought this book and for a few months before exam week he worked through an exercise once or twice a week by himself. When he had done the exercise we talked though what he had written and I made suggestions on alternatives. In the week before exams (half term...ugh!) he did an exercise most days.

He did really well in his exam. The most significant thing for me is that his confidence has been really boosted, it is only year 8 after all. In our experience this book is great for providing focus for a child to revise English and some exercises for them to work to time.

Further, it gave ME lots of food for thought and a starting point for conversation about what he was thinking and doing. That was really key.

If as a parent you are considering getting this book, make sure you are willing and able to put in the time with your child working through their answers and building up their confidence. Seems to have worked for us. :o)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a must have, 21 April 2010
By 
This review is from: KS3 English Workbook (with answers and online edition) (Paperback)
the books in this series are a must have for any parent who wants to help their child with school work, they pretty much cover everything thats in the current curriculum.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Books, my son did very well using them, 10 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: KS3 English Workbook (with answers and online edition) (Paperback)
very good books for my son, he finds them easy to use and his grades went up after using them for his revision
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Very thorough but perhaps a little boring, 26 Jun. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: KS3 English Workbook (with answers and online edition) (Paperback)
From a teachers point of view this makes life easy as everything is clearly covered and student won't miss anything however from a student's point of view (mine at least) they found it a little boring and the texts to analyse were not very inspiring. Good if you have children who are very eager to learn, not so good if you have reluctant children who YOU want to learn!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very useful!, 17 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: KS3 English Workbook (with answers and online edition) (Paperback)
A very good way to give your child extra homework if they don't get enough at school. Also good that the answers are there for the parents...lol!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars As always excellent learning material for young minds, 17 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: KS3 English Workbook (with answers and online edition) (Paperback)
Excellent book for young minds. Really helped my son improve his grasp and command of the english language, particularly as english is not his favourite subject. I would also recommend the grammar and punctuation CGP book. Infact CGP books have served all my children very well. I would always give them 5 stars. Their learning materials for young minds are stimulating and encouraging. Keep up the good work CGP
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 28 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: KS3 English Workbook (with answers and online edition) (Paperback)
Excellent delivery earlier than usally 3-5 days. Very useful for my kids learning at home. Thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Sound purchase., 29 Aug. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: KS3 English Workbook (with answers and online edition) (Paperback)
Appropriate for KS3 pupils in preparing for assessments. Good hints and tips throughout. Shame it is only black and white as it can become a bit monotonous to look at. But that doesn't interfere with the quality of work provided and the variety of activities. Pleased with my purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Useful English work book, 22 May 2015
By 
Andrew C. Mitchell (Manchester, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: KS3 English Workbook (with answers and online edition) (Paperback)
This book is just right for improving English for the eleven to fourteen year old. It can be used to support the work of a tutor outside school. It is good for first language speakers and yet is useful for second language work also. It is simply laid out and easy to follow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant helpfull books, 28 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: KS3 English Workbook (with answers and online edition) (Paperback)
These books are great ,I get them for my grandaughter ,,it's cheaper than a tutor ,,,and she can do as much or as little at a time to suit her ,,,and the speedy delivery cannot be faulted ordered Friday ,,,delivered Saturday ,,,thankyou ,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

KS3 English Workbook (with answers and online edition)
KS3 English Workbook (with answers and online edition) by CGP Books (Paperback - 21 Feb. 2014)
£5.65
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews