Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen in Prime Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars39
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£4.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 27 February 2002
This workbook contains questions on the key stage 2 syllabus and 'The Study Guide' the knowledge. They are difinitely revision books as opposed to teaching books, but are ideal for the parent who wants to help their child but doesn't know where to start.
The child could work through the book independently if they are in year 6 and have covered all the syllabus and depending on their ability.However, should they become 'stuck' together parent and child can use 'The Study Guide' to figure out the problems.
At least the parent can rest assured that should the child be profficient at all the content of the book,they will do very well indeed in their SATS.
Its worth remembering that nothing beats parent and child talking things through together....and these books provide the stimulus and content for parent and child to do just this.
0Comment|59 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 August 2011
This book has been good for flushing out any areas that my daughter needed some extra help with and for that reason alone it was worth the money. My only criticism would be that each topic is a little short and doesn't give enough practice but you can invent your own questions where they might need some extra attention. Good for the summer hols to keep their 'hand in' so to speak.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2006
We bought this book, together with the KS 2 Maths Study Book, to help prepare our 11 year-old for entrance exams for a British school. I'm reviewing the book after she passed the exams: it's dog-eared, and she's completed pages 1-52 on her own initiative, ranging from "numbers" through "classifying shapes", "measurements", to "handling data". All this is presented with CGP's usual child-friendly humour: for example, the introduction states: "this book contains lots of tricky questions designed to make you sweat – because that's the only way you'll get any better."
Summary: appealing, well-designed self-help book for Key Stage 2 maths students.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 December 2013
Difficult enough to challenge my 10 year old but not so difficult that she wants to give up.
The exercises provide excellent examples to enable the child to work through the questions with minimal supervision or prompting. The tasks reinforces classroom teachings and refreshes forgotten calculation methods.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 September 2012
Essential for those in year 7 doing transfer test/11 plus/entrance exams for grammar schools but make sure you choose the current publication which contains the most up to date curriculum content.
i didnt and ended up with confused child.....and parent!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 August 2012
I've found this book very helpful. It has shown me what needs to be learnt in the first 3 years of high school and to what depth. The questions are nicely spread out in a good sized font. Like it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 August 2013
This is a very well put together book, but would have been better if more specific to a year group. There is quite a jump between year 3 and year 6.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 October 2015
Bought this book came the next day amazing book for my cousin in year 3 he loves it and it matches along with what he is studying in school
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 August 2013
Good quick questions. I use this book daily to keep pupils up to date with their maths skills in breakfast club
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 January 2014
I bought this to help my son with maths homework as it was recommended to me - found it very helpful.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)