Customer Reviews


52 Reviews
5 star:
 (30)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great
We are really big fans of the CGP series. They cover everything on the curriculum, however this is forever changing with the current government! The book is nice and bright and appealing to children. It provides a page or two on each of the subjects such as commas, apostrophes, connectives etc...

On the downside there are no test questions. But I still get this...
Published 6 months ago by Beam

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Shame about the spelling
It's sheer fantasy to imagine that any pupil could master the incredibly complex spelling and grammar of English from a 68-page book. Spelling gets a mere 11 pages.

I've been teaching basic literacy skills for almost a quarter of a century, and I've written materials which are used in over 1,000 UK schools. The only children who would get on with this book...
Published 3 months ago by T. Burkard


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good., 15 Jun 2014
By 
Mad Saint Uden "Mad Saint Uden - it's an anagram" (Kent - UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: KS2 English: Grammar, Punctuation and Spelling Study Book (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I recommend any parents getting them to photocopy the pages you want to use to be able to do the same activities at a later date and thus compare the results.

This is good for extra tuition and home work...that is if you can bribe your 9/10 year old to sit down and do these.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good as a revision tool, mainly. Simple to understand with clear examples., 6 Jun 2014
By 
ROROBLU'S MUM "ROROBLU'S MUM" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: KS2 English: Grammar, Punctuation and Spelling Study Book (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is a short book, but its explanations are clear, and it contains good examples that make it easy for children to grasp what is being taught.

My son is about to start teaching KS2, and I got this primarily for him, so that he could see more practical work for the age-range, rather than simply relying on the teacher's textbooks that he himself is learning from.

He's used this to focus when planning lessons, but he did think that the book is more of a revision guide, rather than a study guide, as it is short and covers mainly only the most common aspects of Grammar, Punctuation and Spelling, which is understandable. However he did think that the explanations were good, with good examples being given, and that the questions were clear, and the book well illustrated and fairly fun to use. He was able to use the book to varying degrees with low, mixed and high ability children. For the latter, this is perhaps not taxing enough, and the tests were a bit too easy for them, but for non-expert parents who are looking to enhance their child's education at home, this is a pretty decent starting point.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars KS2 English study book, 24 April 2014
By 
Sussman "Sussman" (London CA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: KS2 English: Grammar, Punctuation and Spelling Study Book (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
A good textbook that gives the young student, in a straight forward manner, the ability to acquire and reinforce those basic skill sets that are the essentials of good grammar. This would be for things such as better punctuation and spelling. The CPG books are clear and colourful and the text is well laid out, and you able to zero in on areas of weakness and you are shown how to avoid common errors. This is done by showing good examples and holds clear summaries that explain all the central rules. At the end of the book there are additional useful tips on SATs test.

The text is not only there to help the student in their SATs tests, but can also help those that need to `brush-up' on their basic grammar. A very good resource and that is highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars KS2 English: Grammar, Punctuation and Spelling Study Book, 5 Mar 2014
By 
S Riaz "S Riaz" (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: KS2 English: Grammar, Punctuation and Spelling Study Book (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This study book covers everything your child will need to learn for the Grammar, Punctuation and Spelling part of the new Key Stage two SATs. This is not really a workbook, although there are three question books available in each area (Grammar, Punctuation and Spelling) which contain lots of practice questions. The book is split into four different sections: Grammar (nouns, pronouns, verbs, adjectives, adverbs, etc, along with a few test-style questions at the end of each section), Sentence Grammar (phrases and clauses, connectives, etc), Punctuation (apostrophes, commas, brackets and dashes, colons, semi-colons, etc) and Spelling (plurals, prefixes, suffixes, synonyms and antonyms, etc).

I really like the CPG books and this is a clear and colourful example, with good explanations of everything that needs to be covered in the SATs tests. There is a useful glossary and answers to all the questions included at the back. However, you will probably need the workbooks – or, at least, the one for the area your child finds the most difficult – as there aren’t really enough questions in this to give enough practice in all the different areas. Overall, though, a useful and well presented tool, which can be used both for studying from and as a reference book .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 21 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: KS2 English: Grammar, Punctuation and Spelling Study Book (Paperback)
We are really big fans of the CGP series. They cover everything on the curriculum, however this is forever changing with the current government! The book is nice and bright and appealing to children. It provides a page or two on each of the subjects such as commas, apostrophes, connectives etc...

On the downside there are no test questions. But I still get this five stars as it has been very useful for both myself and my daughter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars covers everything, 16 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: KS2 English: Grammar, Punctuation and Spelling Study Book (Paperback)
It explains everything. It's just a shame their aren't enough 'have ago' trials for the children to consolidate their understanding.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good - easy to follow, 17 July 2014
By 
Ajo "ak" (Surrey, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: KS2 English: Grammar, Punctuation and Spelling Study Book (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is a study book, with no tests, just simply to follow explanations for 11+ grammar, punctuation and spelling. It handles all aspects of that level of English language. Explaining what are nouns, commas, etc.

Generally - these books (I got most of them) are very engaging, they looks to be written in a manner that make the children (my child) want to use them in stead of being forced to use them (although the first few sessions were a struggle...).

There is little more to say, they cover all of the 11+ topics required for grammar schools, I find verbal reasoning the most important one as this is not though at state primary schools. Maths is so looks to be simpler, although the exams are full of logical tricks - and these books help the children to spot them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Shame about the spelling, 23 April 2014
By 
T. Burkard (Norwich, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: KS2 English: Grammar, Punctuation and Spelling Study Book (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
It's sheer fantasy to imagine that any pupil could master the incredibly complex spelling and grammar of English from a 68-page book. Spelling gets a mere 11 pages.

I've been teaching basic literacy skills for almost a quarter of a century, and I've written materials which are used in over 1,000 UK schools. The only children who would get on with this book are the ones who have already reached a very high standard. For the great majority, this book moves far too quickly and is almost devoid of practice. Like so many materials you see these days, it seems to have been written with a tick-box mentality: we've covered this, so let's move on. Children need a lot of practice before they master basic skills to the point where they function automatically.

I also have a study guide published by CGP for passing 11+ Maths, and it is actually rather good-- I could see how many parents could use it effectively. Alas, this book just has far too many rules (most of them with a lot of confusing exceptions), and the progression is not logical. Skills do not build effectively on what has already been learnt, and nothing is more frustrating than learning a lot of arbitrary rules--and then forgetting them or at best getting them muddled.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars easy to use, 14 July 2014
By 
Pompom (Devon) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: KS2 English: Grammar, Punctuation and Spelling Study Book (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Child friendly format, easy to use. Good range of questions. Good workbook to work through though,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great revision workbook, 14 July 2014
By 
H. Eaton "Helena Eaton" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: KS2 English: Grammar, Punctuation and Spelling Study Book (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Great book for revising grammar, punctuation and spelling at key stage 2. The exercises are challenging and illustrated in an engaging way. My only slight criticism is that they seemed a little packed onto the pages and could seem a little daunting as a result. But the content is great and it's an excellent workbook for children approaching their SATs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

KS2 English: Grammar, Punctuation and Spelling Study Book
KS2 English: Grammar, Punctuation and Spelling Study Book by CGP Books (Paperback - 5 Jun 2013)
4.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews