Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars I haven't done A level chemistry in 15 years and this book did a good job of refreshing my chemistry including things I have ...
I I would have given this book 5 stars but dont let 4 stars put you off buying it. It is a very clear and concise book. I haven't done A level chemistry in 15 years and this book did a good job of refreshing my chemistry including things I have completely forgotten. Covers all exam boards syllabus and highlights which bit is relevant to which exam board. My tiny issue...
Published 8 months ago by Ashabi

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars too basic on its own
this book alone would only get you a C really. the information is too basic and must be supported with other revision guides as well as the 'chemical ideas' textbook and the 'storylines' book for your year of study. however it does have useful info and sample exam/practice questions which are beneficial for testing your knowledge and understanding of the material.
Published on 2 April 2012 by bookworm


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars too basic on its own, 2 April 2012
This review is from: AS-Level Chemistry Complete Revision & Practice (As Revision Guides) (Paperback)
this book alone would only get you a C really. the information is too basic and must be supported with other revision guides as well as the 'chemical ideas' textbook and the 'storylines' book for your year of study. however it does have useful info and sample exam/practice questions which are beneficial for testing your knowledge and understanding of the material.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good supplementary book but practice questions let it down., 16 July 2014
This review is from: AS-Level Chemistry Complete Revision & Practice (As Revision Guides) (Paperback)
I used this to supplement my main text book for my AS chemistry evening class.

I studied the AQA syllabus and the content relevant to different syllabuses is clearly marked throughout the book. I could probably have done just as well only using my main text book, but it was nice to have this book too to get different explanations of the same content.

The content was condensed so I didn't feel too weighed down by how much I had to learn and it covered my syllabus fairly well. The only topic areas I found lacking were in metal extraction and chlorine reactions where the material didn't cover everything.

The end of topic questions weren't particularly helpful as they often seemed to involve questions not covered by my syllabus and it would have been nice for these to have been marked for relevant syllabuses like the content sections were. I ended up not bothering with the questions.

It has clear pages and an easy to read writing style. I might buy the A2 one in the series for next year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars I haven't done A level chemistry in 15 years and this book did a good job of refreshing my chemistry including things I have ..., 12 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: AS-Level Chemistry Complete Revision & Practice (As Revision Guides) (Paperback)
I I would have given this book 5 stars but dont let 4 stars put you off buying it. It is a very clear and concise book. I haven't done A level chemistry in 15 years and this book did a good job of refreshing my chemistry including things I have completely forgotten. Covers all exam boards syllabus and highlights which bit is relevant to which exam board. My tiny issue with it is that it needs more meat on a few concepts. But then it is a Revision book and not a Textbook so maybe I am just being finiky. It is actually better than some textbooks I've come across!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 18 Aug. 2012
This review is from: AS-Level Chemistry Complete Revision & Practice (As Revision Guides) (Paperback)
Really good book. Definately helped me even with the wjec course?
Good graphic explanations, they do put hard things into a basic context
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars and this book is great as a revision guide, 1 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: AS-Level Chemistry Complete Revision & Practice (As Revision Guides) (Paperback)
I teach Chemistry, and this book is great as a revision guide. You wouldn't want to use it as a study book throughout a course due to the shallow coverage of topics (it is a revision guide after all). There are a few typos and mistakes, but no more than I've seen in similar books. Overall, I highly recommend it for AS students, and also as a refresher for A-level and first-year undergrads!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A book with good understandability, 19 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: AS-Level Chemistry Complete Revision & Practice (As Revision Guides) (Paperback)
This book has got quite lucid text and the paragraphs are well highlighted, which is pretty useful and handy for revising. The only downside is that there are too much childish language.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very good revision book, 8 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: AS-Level Chemistry Complete Revision & Practice (As Revision Guides) (Paperback)
This is a very good revision book, both for revising before your exam and as I refresher for further study. The book is well laid out and very easy to follow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars buy it., 1 Dec. 2009
By 
This review is from: AS-Level Chemistry Complete Revision & Practice (As Revision Guides) (Paperback)
This is a great revision book for any syllabus that you are
studying and it also explains every topic clearly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 11 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: AS-Level Chemistry Complete Revision & Practice (As Revision Guides) (Paperback)
My son found it very helpful
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars AS Chemistry Revision book, 11 Oct. 2013
This review is from: AS-Level Chemistry Complete Revision & Practice (As Revision Guides) (Paperback)
Brilliant. Very useful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

AS-Level Chemistry Complete Revision & Practice (As Revision Guides)
£9.29
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews