Customer Reviews


60 Reviews
5 star:
 (43)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great book for revision!
This CGP Biology revision guild is very good as long as you have learnt everything on your proper text book. The book is informative about exams and tells you how to answer application and how science work questions. however, the only drawback is that it is not very detailed for a thorough revision. therefore, as i said before, as long as you have learnt the knowledge...
Published on 21 April 2010 by Y. Jin

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Useful tool
This book is a useful tool for anybody starting the course. What it lacks is detail, and I have found that a lot of the explanations are simplified in comparison to the AQA Textbook which is endorsed by AQA. I would still recommend this though, because if you're not scientifically-minded like me and you can't really be bothered to read around the jargon in the texbook,...
Published on 14 Jan. 2010 by Buddy Ben


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great book for revision!, 21 April 2010
By 
Y. Jin "JinJin" (Northampton, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: AS-Level Biology AQA Complete Revision & Practice (Paperback)
This CGP Biology revision guild is very good as long as you have learnt everything on your proper text book. The book is informative about exams and tells you how to answer application and how science work questions. however, the only drawback is that it is not very detailed for a thorough revision. therefore, as i said before, as long as you have learnt the knowledge from a proper text book, this book will be great for revision!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent for any AS Students!, 8 Sept. 2011
This review is from: AS-Level Biology AQA Complete Revision & Practice (Paperback)
As a student who struggled with AS Biology last year this came in so handy. The AQA textbook which is supplied by many 6th forms/schools/colleges etc can be very daunting and use 100 words to explain something that this CGP textbook explains in simple terms in about 10! As an earlier review said, where it lacks detail it makes up for it in it's simplicity & easiness to get your head around it. It has many quirky ways of helping you remember certain processes which I find useful. Definitely recommend it to ALL AS students it's extremely helpful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Useful tool, 14 Jan. 2010
By 
Buddy Ben (United Kingdom, East Midlands) - See all my reviews
This review is from: AS-Level Biology AQA Complete Revision & Practice (Paperback)
This book is a useful tool for anybody starting the course. What it lacks is detail, and I have found that a lot of the explanations are simplified in comparison to the AQA Textbook which is endorsed by AQA. I would still recommend this though, because if you're not scientifically-minded like me and you can't really be bothered to read around the jargon in the texbook, this helps a considerable amount.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exactly what I need for my course, 31 Oct. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: AS-Level Biology AQA Complete Revision & Practice (Paperback)
Read from the textbook too if you want a high grade but this contains most of the stuff you'll need for the exams and it even has 'examples' which almost identically matched the exam questions I had. Got me an A.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Simple!, 11 Oct. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: AS-Level Biology AQA Complete Revision & Practice (Paperback)
really good, but has no where near the same amount of information that my other AQA textbook has. Whether this is an advantage or not (dependent on whether you would rather have a simple understanding or not) is up to you, but i find its handy to have when you want to understand hard topics in a simple way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A cheap and helpful book, in accompaniment to others only however, 14 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: AS-Level Biology AQA Complete Revision & Practice (Paperback)
This product so far has been okay, maybe missing out some minor detail which could be useful during a lesson, but generally a simple and easy to use book, with so far all key terms needed and a functional layout. Could be a bit more vibrant so it's a little more interesting to read, but the questions and details provided are good.

For some reason my cover says revision guide not complete revision and practice, but it has exactly the same inside so I can't complain; ironically I bought second hand to save price and maybe get some free notes and annotations but even though it said may be highlighting there was nothing so I suppose this is a good thing?! XD worth to buy in ACCOMPANIMENT to another book,

I have also bought AQA student support materials As Biology unit 1 (leaf cover) And AS level bology for AQA student book CgP (DNA cover) which overall cover everything perfectly - recommend leaf and DNA covers books to be honest but this was cheap and simplified them both so I can at Keats use this first and then build on it with the others - for the price worth the buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT BUY, 1 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: AS-Level Biology AQA Complete Revision & Practice (Paperback)
Since reading many different reviews on this CGP revision guide I decided to purchase it to see for myself.Overall compared with the large textbook students receive from schools it is highly useful, it covers the topics in as much depth as possible, the larger textbook can have alot of excess information you don't really need for the exams hence if you learn your stuff from lessons along with the specification and use this guide in the run up to your exams you'll do great.
Clear layout,colourful and those priceless CGP jokes make this product worthwhile.
However it does miss a small amount of detail you need to know specifically on protein structure so do use other resources alongside.
If you're struggling to understand AS level biology just buy it - it will help !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A MUST for A-Level Biology!!!!, 15 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: AS-Level Biology AQA Complete Revision & Practice (Paperback)
This revision guide helps me to learn all of the key information required to survive the exam. Although a few things is missing, it doesn't change the fact that this revision guide is a life-saver. From the past paper questions and papers I've done so far, I've found the material in this guide better than the textbook. So far, amazing!! Without this guide, I would drop the subject! YOU NEED THIS!! It will help you SO MUCH!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Daughter's revision, 31 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: AS-Level Biology AQA Complete Revision & Practice (Paperback)
Unfortunately she didn't pass the exam but I'm sure that's not down to the book. She found it really useful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 23 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: AS-Level Biology AQA Complete Revision & Practice (Paperback)
I used this with the aqa specification and my full text book and can say that it has been very useful and I would recommend to anyone looking for a revision guide, my only criticism would be that not everything you need to know is included but just look on your specification to see what is missing (only a small part is missing)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

AS-Level Biology AQA Complete Revision & Practice
AS-Level Biology AQA Complete Revision & Practice by CGP Books (Paperback - 29 Sept. 2010)
£9.29
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews