Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An invaluable resource for students who haven't done triple sciences
Speaking as a teacher, this is an excellent book for students who haven't completed triple sciences at GCSE (i.e. you did Core/Additional Science or Science/Additional Science instead of separate Chemistry, Physics and Biology GCSEs). If you completed triple sciences, and especially if you got A/A* grades, then in all honesty you probably don't really need this book...
Published on 15 Dec 2010 by K. Street

versus
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed
I have just started AS chemistry and having got 2 As & 2 A*s in my modular examinations at GCSE purely from reading the excellent CGP revision guides I thought it would be good to get a starter book made by the same company. Perhaps it's less a fault with this product and more the fact that the GCSE CGP books were so good, but the material in this just seems to be a more...
Published on 1 Oct 2010 by highhopes


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An invaluable resource for students who haven't done triple sciences, 15 Dec 2010
By 
This review is from: Head Start to AS Chemistry (Paperback)
Speaking as a teacher, this is an excellent book for students who haven't completed triple sciences at GCSE (i.e. you did Core/Additional Science or Science/Additional Science instead of separate Chemistry, Physics and Biology GCSEs). If you completed triple sciences, and especially if you got A/A* grades, then in all honesty you probably don't really need this book! But for those that didn't and who are going onto to A-level study, it's highly recommended. It's short and concise, with clear explanations. Well worth having a look through during the summer before you start your AS course, and also worth having to hand for the first couple of weeks for those times when everyone else in the class seems to already know something you have no idea about!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed, 1 Oct 2010
This review is from: Head Start to AS Chemistry (Paperback)
I have just started AS chemistry and having got 2 As & 2 A*s in my modular examinations at GCSE purely from reading the excellent CGP revision guides I thought it would be good to get a starter book made by the same company. Perhaps it's less a fault with this product and more the fact that the GCSE CGP books were so good, but the material in this just seems to be a more condensed version of the GCSE textbook, and anything else was covered in my first 2 chemistry lessons at AS.

Save your money and don't bother with this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Get a Head Start, 13 Aug 2009
By 
Fita Izak (London, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Head Start to AS Chemistry (Paperback)
A Wonderful book, CGP really do know how to present books, I found it to be both enjoyable and resourceful, it's a must for students going onto AS Level Chemistry. Since there is a pretty big gap between the standard required from students, with pretty much no transition.
A Must Buy for Student, Parents, Teachers and Tutors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really good preparation reading, 19 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Head Start to AS Chemistry (Paperback)
If your making the transition from GCSE to AS this text is really good to get you up to the right level.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 25 Jun 2014
This review is from: Head Start to AS Chemistry (Paperback)
Brilliant book; has some definitions and key terms that weren't covered in my triple science GCSEs. Very helpful as I took chemistry a year early, so it has helped me to get back into it again in preparation for AS level.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good content, 2 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Head Start to AS Chemistry (Paperback)
Bought as a gift and my niece recommends the book. Same book recommended by the college to all the students
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars as chemistry, 31 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Head Start to AS Chemistry (Paperback)
Would recommend this series to anyone who has children at secondary school. Although it is AS level it covers the basics as well so is very good for those studying at gcse
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very helpful, 28 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Head Start to AS Chemistry (Paperback)
I bought this for my daughter, She just started her A levels this year and she said it's really helpful to her..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Head Start, 1 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Head Start to AS Chemistry (Paperback)
Good for A level chemistry starters. The price and illustrations are fine. Will definitely recommend it to fellow students who have failed to understand the basic concepts of the subject
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great for people starting AS Chemistry, 2 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Head Start to AS Chemistry (Paperback)
I found this book very useful for gaining a basic understanding of what I'd need to know to do AS Chemistry. The book does not ramble and go into too much detail and is to the point, making it understandable for those that have just finished their GCSEs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Head Start to AS Chemistry
Head Start to AS Chemistry by CGP Books (Paperback - 14 July 2008)
4.11
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews