Customer Reviews


41 Reviews
5 star:
 (30)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect
Classic, these are the best help guides around. Recommended by my son's tutor these guides are accessable for all levels.I now have them in the college library.
Published on 11 Dec. 2011 by Library Louise

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Only covers the basics.
If you've read a CGP guide before then you'll know what to expect, here - lots of cheerful, breezy cartoons, digressions, speech bubbles, etc... not necessarily the kind of stimulus to excite your most able students, perhaps, but a godsend if you need a snappy narrative/character introduction and have only a passing acquaintence with the text.

This, however,...
Published 23 months ago by Lutz Svensson


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Only covers the basics., 7 May 2013
By 
Lutz Svensson (Deptford, London, UK.) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: GCSE English Text Guide - Lord of the Flies (Paperback)
If you've read a CGP guide before then you'll know what to expect, here - lots of cheerful, breezy cartoons, digressions, speech bubbles, etc... not necessarily the kind of stimulus to excite your most able students, perhaps, but a godsend if you need a snappy narrative/character introduction and have only a passing acquaintence with the text.

This, however, falls slightly short of expectations. It's okay on the basic narrative, but contextual support seems thin on the ground and there's some thematic territory that's barely covered.

Social class..? Barely mentioned.

Gender issues..? Scarcely a whiff.

Historical context is a bit weedy, too... a Higher level Eng Lit GCSE answer would benefit from reference to topics that simply aren't mentioned here. Postmodern perspectives, anyone..? Evolution, the animal-human continuum and the Beast metaphor..? Religion..? Alas, CGP 'toons just don't cut it at this level. Hey-ho.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars LOTF Revison Book, 6 April 2010
This review is from: GCSE English Text Guide - Lord of the Flies (Paperback)
Overall the product is pretty good, it gives a good grounding to each character etc... but for a higher overall grade in any exams you need to be able to link quotes up and do some deeper thinking, and out of the box ideas. A good book, but you cant learn everything out of a textbook, you need to some of the work your self.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Sound basic guide., 12 Mar. 2014
By 
Bluecashmere. (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: GCSE English Text Guide - Lord of the Flies (Paperback)
This book seems to be aimed mainly at the lower end of the ability range. It relies on jazzy presentation including, unfortunately, pictures throughout from the poorer of the two available films. It should prove helpful to those who are the victims of indifferent teaching, but is, of course, no substitute for close knowledge of the novel - an exceptionally fine novel in my view. The essentials are here, but they are available online at no charge. The BBC site has none of the colour effects but more depth, and the material is organised in a much more accessible form. This will do no-one any harm but I rather doubt that it is worth the outlay.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect, 11 Dec. 2011
This review is from: GCSE English Text Guide - Lord of the Flies (Paperback)
Classic, these are the best help guides around. Recommended by my son's tutor these guides are accessable for all levels.I now have them in the college library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Useful, 24 Jun. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: GCSE English Text Guide - Lord of the Flies (Paperback)
My daughter bought this for revising and wished she had bought it earlier. It helped her to understand the book a lot more
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good study aid, 18 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: GCSE English Text Guide - Lord of the Flies (Paperback)
I bought this for my son to use when studying Loord of the Flies for GCSE. He found it extremely useful
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Help, 10 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: GCSE English Text Guide - Lord of the Flies (Paperback)
I bought this book as I was coming up to my GCSE English language assessment and I was uncertain of the key points in the story and any main things that I needed to know. This book was the BEST TJING I EVER BOUGHT related to my GCSE's it helped me massively as it is very clearly laid out and was an excellent help. THANKS to who ever created this book!!!!!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Really well put together guides, 1 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: GCSE English Text Guide - Lord of the Flies (Paperback)
These CGP Study Guides proved to be helpful to my kids. They supported the work they were doing at school and also gave a guide as to the expected perspective of possible exam questions. i.e. what an examiner may be looking for as an answer when asking about a character and their view of the situation they were experiencing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Book, 16 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: GCSE English Text Guide - Lord of the Flies (Paperback)
The format was not what I imagined and I bought it in preparation for my child's GCSE studies although the syllabus has now changed and we don't need it. Book was second hand but in good condition so accurate description on the site. I would use this seller again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A very useful book, 22 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: GCSE English Text Guide - Lord of the Flies (Paperback)
I bought this item for my son who is doing his GCSE exams. He has found this book very helpful and i would highly recommend this book to help anyone doing the same exams
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

GCSE English Text Guide - Lord of the Flies
GCSE English Text Guide - Lord of the Flies by CGP Books (Paperback - 27 April 2011)
£5.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews