Customer Reviews


63 Reviews
5 star:
 (30)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unusual perspective
I did not like the prologue but once that was read, the novel was a super read, written from the unusual perspective of Lady Jane Greys youngest sister, the historically ignored Lady Mary Grey. Life in the 16th century was not easy for woman of noble birth, many of whom lived, and died, at the whims of men and the monarch. Mary Tudor actually comes across as likeable in...
Published 17 months ago by mrsannebean

versus
25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Fiction, not historical
I've never written a review on Amazon prior to this, but, well. I struggled with "The Tudor Wife", finding it so unrealistic it was almost laughable, but given the low price of this, I felt I should give the author another go, as I love historical novels from this period.
The central character of Jane Grey is so unrealistic and unbelievable, and from my limited...
Published 20 months ago by Jen Wilson


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Fiction, not historical, 14 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Fallen Queen (Kindle Edition)
I've never written a review on Amazon prior to this, but, well. I struggled with "The Tudor Wife", finding it so unrealistic it was almost laughable, but given the low price of this, I felt I should give the author another go, as I love historical novels from this period.
The central character of Jane Grey is so unrealistic and unbelievable, and from my limited reading on this family, her interpretation of the rest is equally incredible. I really, really wanted to like this book, but the ridiculous Guildford and co, and the inclusion of yet another random affair for which there doesn't seem to be any need, made it virtually unreadable. The only character I could really believe acted the way he is written was Northumberland, with his scheming and plotting.
I hate to have to sound so negative, but if you want a good set of Tudor novels, which at least make an attempt to be realistic, stick with Philippa Gregory and co...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Dreadful :(, 4 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Fallen Queen (Kindle Edition)
Dull and repetitive. if I had read about one more piece of embroidery or the individual flowers that made up a bouquet i would have screamed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A story of psychological warfare, 14 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Fallen Queen (Kindle Edition)
I would accept that the historical background is probably authentic, but for my taste it is over-written with much emphasis on detailed description of fabrics and decoration; also (worryingly, for me) on the sado-masochistic element and the physical handicap of little Lady Mary. The possible insights into the character of Lady Jane were interesting
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Another dreadful book, 10 Aug. 2013
This review is from: The Fallen Queen (Kindle Edition)
I'm not sure who told this author she could write - nor am I sure why I actually bought this book, having ploughed through a couple if her other books.
The character of Lady Jane Grey in this book is appalling. Her Father is utterly cringeworthy and Guildford Dudley is just plain embarrassing.
I think someone should sit this author down, go through the Tudor timeline with her and then make her promise to never EVER write another book on this period again.
Awful awful awful awful awful
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unusual perspective, 2 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Fallen Queen (Paperback)
I did not like the prologue but once that was read, the novel was a super read, written from the unusual perspective of Lady Jane Greys youngest sister, the historically ignored Lady Mary Grey. Life in the 16th century was not easy for woman of noble birth, many of whom lived, and died, at the whims of men and the monarch. Mary Tudor actually comes across as likeable in this tale, a juxtaposition to the usual 'BloodyMary' and it gives the impression that she did not want to execute Jane and Guildford, realising they were innocent pawns but was forced to by her absent husband, Philip of Spain because she wanted him to love her.
Highly recommended for all Tudoe history followers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Of fashion and gems., 8 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Fallen Queen (Kindle Edition)
Not as good as I thought it would be. If you want to know about the fashion of the day in great detail together with all the gems that went into them then this is the book for you. For me there was not enough story to it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Book, 9 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Fallen Queen (Kindle Edition)
Well written beautiful descriptions, transports readers back in time. Very touching with good historical background. Everything a reader could want.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Three grey sisters, 19 Sept. 2013
By 
Karen Purton (Croydon, London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Fallen Queen (Kindle Edition)
A more personal account jog the lives and lives of 3 sisters whose lives were bound up with the Tudor dynasty. A good readable book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant story, 30 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Fallen Queen (Kindle Edition)
Thoroughly enjoyable book. Found it hard to put down. Well researched and well thought out. I was in Tudor England.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable, 27 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Fallen Queen (Kindle Edition)
I felt it sometimes lost itself in overly descriptive writing, but in the main I enjoyed it very much. This shows how vulnerable people can be used by powerful, ambitious people.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Fallen Queen
The Fallen Queen by Emily Purdy (Paperback - 12 Sept. 2013)
£6.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews