Customer Reviews


49 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (13)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Sequel, but also stands alone
Thought provoking from the first page. Gulpingly gruesome in places and one slightly confusing bit I had to re-read and still didn't make sense - but that excluded a 'can't put down' read from an exciting author. I'd recommend this and his other books which I read earlier this year.
Published 9 months ago by Ms. Suzanne Hunter

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Thought provoking
The worrying thing is that this novel is not entirely fictional, but is partially based on how the secret elite societies work.
Published 4 months ago by deborah


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Sequel, but also stands alone, 12 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Thought provoking from the first page. Gulpingly gruesome in places and one slightly confusing bit I had to re-read and still didn't make sense - but that excluded a 'can't put down' read from an exciting author. I'd recommend this and his other books which I read earlier this year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 21 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An excellent book. The author's best yet. The book draws you in from the very beginning. The story was intelligent, intriguing and fast-paced, I couldn't put it down, and yet didn't want it to end. One of the best books I've read in a long time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant fast paced story, 12 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
After reading the first chapter, couldn't wait to pre-order the full book. A fast paced well written story that has everything you want. I couldn't put this book down and can't wait for the next book from this author. Definitely worth reading you won't be disappointed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cracking page turner, 11 Oct 2013
By 
L. L. G. Newhouse (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
If you like your conspiracy thrillers fast-paced and high-octane then this book is for you! I read it in one sitting devouring all the twists and turns. I can't wait to see what Sean and Isabel get up to next!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars High tension adventure, 11 Oct 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Third novel in the series.

Sean is missing in London and suspected of a murder. Isabel is near frantic in her effort to find out where he is. Unknown to her, her son is not safe with her friend, Rose, as the action moves to New York City.

The NYPD, SEC, FBI are all gunning for Sean as a dangerous criminal, while Isabel, with a little help, manages to keep one step ahead of the villains, still convinced of Sean's innocence. Once again the story comes to a head deep underground and the future seems very bleak for Sean, Isabel and their son, Alek. Captivating!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fast paced Global Conspiracy Thriller, 29 Jun 2014
Firstly I would like to say I love the cover on this book, it's perfect for the plot and I love Manhatten too so a great reminder.

When I started reading this I had no idea it was the third book in a series with the Jerusalem and Istanbul Puzzle having come before. However the book can stand on it's own very well, although now I will go back and read the other two and in the correct order as I believe many of the characters in this book appear in those earlier books.

I didn't know what to expect but have to say the book was a very pleasant surprise. It's a very fast paced, high energy, gripping and at times gruesome thriller.

There is a global conspiracy with the focus being the BXH Bank in Manhatten. All the action is located there. Isabel is the main character and the heroine of the novel as she pulls out all the stops to find her missing husband Sean who is being accused/framed for a murder she is convinced he didn't commit. On top of that she is anxious about the safety of her son Alek who she leaves in London with someone she can trust while she searches for her husband in Manhatten. As the story progresses her actions and the people she meets leads to her own life being in danger aswell as her family. She doesn't know what to believe, who to trust and how to get to the bottom of the mystery which is highly complex and involving China, a historical symbol and gruesome rituals involving murder and a plot to bring down or take over BXH Bank as a means to an end.

The book isn't for the faint-hearted but it is thrilling with lots of twists and turns which you have to keep track of and i did find it difficult to put this book down, its great! I can see the ending does leave it open for another sequel which I also look forward to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Thought provoking, 23 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The worrying thing is that this novel is not entirely fictional, but is partially based on how the secret elite societies work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fast moving and topical, 17 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Manhattan Puzzle (Paperback)
Whilst its location isn't as exotic as Jerusalem or Istanbul, this is more than compensated for by the streamlined pace and topical subject matter. Also, the decision to devote a large part of the story to Isobel's point of view and develop her character is a good one, especially given the news that a fourth novel, set in Nuremberg, is in the pipeline. I look forward to their continuing adventures.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Good read, 10 Jan 2014
By 
Mr. Brian T. Logan "BTL" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The Manhattan Puzzle should definitely be read after the after The Istanbul Puzzle (Book 1) and The Jerusalem Puzzle (Book 2).
Unlike the first two books I found it a bit disjointed compared with the first two books - probably down to me having read the first two books ages ago and I had to back in my mind to remember the main characters from the first two books.

Nevertheless a good read following on from the stories for the first two adventures.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Compelling, 3 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This was difficult to put down.
Whilst repetitive at times ,it was enjoyable, though it is best to read the first two books in the series first.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Manhattan Puzzle
The Manhattan Puzzle by Laurence O'Bryan (Paperback - 10 Oct 2013)
5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews