Customer Reviews


257 Reviews
5 star:
 (197)
4 star:
 (34)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A lovely Christmas read.
The photo above does not do the book cover any justice.This book is so Christmassy it might have fallen out of Santa's sleigh. Real silver glitter you can touch covers part of the roof and around the window and door, it's so sparkly.
This is the first book I've read by Trisha Ashley and looking through her other books on Amazon I find that this is not the first book...
Published 8 months ago by cassam

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars So predictable
I chose this for a comforting Christmas read when I don't have time to concentrate. It met this requirement but would have been so much better if there had been an element of surprise. I knew exactly what was going to happen and I had to make myself finish it.
Published 6 months ago by Cheryl Hillier


‹ Previous | 1 226 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A lovely Christmas read., 7 Nov 2013
This review is from: Wish Upon a Star (Kindle Edition)
The photo above does not do the book cover any justice.This book is so Christmassy it might have fallen out of Santa's sleigh. Real silver glitter you can touch covers part of the roof and around the window and door, it's so sparkly.
This is the first book I've read by Trisha Ashley and looking through her other books on Amazon I find that this is not the first book that is set in the Lancashire village of Sticklepond and although, like me you don't have to have read any of the other books first I really want to read them and find out how some of the other villagers who are on the peripheral of this book came to be there.
This book is about Cally who has been left pregnant by her cad of a boyfriend who has gone to work in Antarctica telling her if she keeps the baby she's on her own. Cally goes ahead with the pregnancy and Stella is born with a serious heart condition which can only be corrected by an operation in America before her fifth birthday.

Cally has to move back to her Ma's house in Sticklepond and try and raise money to give Stella her life saving operation. She meets Jago who looks like Johnny Depp (which can only be good) and they become friends but when Jago's money grabbing ex girlfriend appears on the scene Cally worries that he will be whisked off back to London again. She decides to put her love life aside and concentrate on Stella who is such a delightful little girl that I found myself willing everything to go well for her.
We are introduced to Cally's mother Martha who is an absent minded artist, there are some lovely moments between her and little three year old Stella. The rock star vicar Raffy and his wife Chloe who has a chocolate shop (there's a book about them) Miss Honey who lives in a care home and has a shop to sell and many more characters from the village. There is also a secret as to why Martha's family, the Almonds have not been welcome in the village for many years.

I did enjoy this book, it's the kind of book you can curl up with at a roaring fire with a glass of wine and some chocolate. It makes you feel as if you have a nice warm blanket around you. It's full of clever twists and turns along the way.
This is another book that's all about food. Cakes! Cally is a cake writer for a magazine and has to experiment with lots of different recipes, in fact a dream job. There are even a few recipes at the back of the book to try out yourself. So forget the chocolate,you will want cake.
After reading this delightful story I want to pack my up belongings and move to Sticklepond.Who wouldn't want to live in a village full of writers and artists with shops with the name of Cinderella's Slippers and Marked Pages, a pub called The Falling Star and a Witchcraft Museum ?
I will now have to visit more of Trisha Ashley's books as I really enjoyed her style of writing and I'm not ready just yet to leave Sticklepond behind.
A lovely Christmas stocking filler for any book lover.
Thank you to the publisher who provided me with a copy of this book in return for an honest review.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another fabulous book by Trisha Ashley, 8 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wish Upon a Star (Kindle Edition)
Again a book you don't want to put down. It's lovely to be back in Sticklepond again and find out what has happened in the village. A real feel good book, with the right amount of humour and tension.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars best ever, 8 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wish Upon a Star (Kindle Edition)
I Could not put my kindle down so I have a grumpy dog now through lack of attention and cuddles
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Trisha does it again, 18 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wish Upon a Star (Kindle Edition)
loved this book and as usual couldn't put it down. fell in love with the characters as you always do x
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Very predictable, 14 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wish Upon a Star (Kindle Edition)
I bought this book after really enjoying "Every woman for herself", which was witty, unusual and full of great characters.

Unfortunately this book bore no comparison. Totally predictable from the outset, unbelievable and quite annoying characters, (and too many unless, I guess, you've had the misfortune to read all the series) even the outcome of the op- like she was gonna kill Stella off?!) and overly long-winded... it was inoffensive but quite frankly a waste of time, even on a fluff level - and I love a bit of fluff!

Plus WHAT IS WITH THE RECIPES? I would buy a recipe book if this is what I wanted. Move on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A read for all seasons, 17 Feb 2014
This review is from: Wish Upon a Star (Kindle Edition)
When Cally's daughter Stella requires life saving surgery, Cally will do anything to save her daughter, even if that means selling their home and moving back in with her mum.
Knowing her daughters life depends on it, Cally sets about fundraising and soon the community start helping too.
Can they raise enough to save Stella and restore hope in the community.

In the freezing cold temperatures of winter, I snuggled up with this book and became enthralled in a truly heartwarming and at times heart wrenching story.

My emotions were caught in the pages and I found myself enveloped within the love of this book. The love a mother has for her daughter, the love a community has for someone in need and the love a new found romance can bring to someone's heart.
For within every page was pure emotion in words.

Emotions in the form of Jago and Cally, their connection was so strong that I found myself eagerly turning the pages.
Jago was a wonderfully thoughtful man, a true gentlemen.
Not only did Jago and Cally have a wonderful connection but they both also had nasty exes who just wouldn't take no for answer.

Despite the festive cover, this is a beautiful read for all seasons.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very good read, 16 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wish Upon a Star (Kindle Edition)
Love Trisha Ashley's books have read them all, she is one of my favourite authors, really draws you into the story every time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must Read, 10 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wish Upon a Star (Kindle Edition)
This book is so lovely and must be red if you are into romantic books. So i give this book 5 Stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it., 9 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wish Upon a Star (Kindle Edition)
would recommend this book to anyone. I didn't want to put it down. the perfect amount of romance and storyline.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stars everywhere, 9 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wish Upon a Star (Kindle Edition)
I always Enjoy Trishas Books but wish upon a star was maybe the best so far I love the way she brings Village life into the story as well ..a light easy cheerful read if you haven't read it now is the time to get it .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 226 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Wish Upon a Star
Wish Upon a Star by Trisha Ashley (Paperback - 7 Nov 2013)
3.85
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews