Customer Reviews


216 Reviews
5 star:
 (115)
4 star:
 (72)
3 star:
 (21)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fun, addictive and entertaining read! xxx
Kerry Tambini moves her family to Shorling to set up home in the coast, full of dreams and a feeling that they will be so very happy there. However, Kerry's dream life comes crashing down as it is revealed that her husband Rob has made a huge mistake. As a result, Kerry is left trying to raise her children in a town where she has no friends and doesn't know anyone...
Published 17 months ago by Megan ReadingInTheSunshine

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good read
On holiday and this was a good gentle read ... Good story and very realistic. Easily believable in this daft world.
Published 16 months ago by Jackie Goddard


‹ Previous | 1 222 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fun, addictive and entertaining read! xxx, 28 Feb 2013
By 
Megan ReadingInTheSunshine (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Pedigree Mum (Paperback)
Kerry Tambini moves her family to Shorling to set up home in the coast, full of dreams and a feeling that they will be so very happy there. However, Kerry's dream life comes crashing down as it is revealed that her husband Rob has made a huge mistake. As a result, Kerry is left trying to raise her children in a town where she has no friends and doesn't know anyone. Convinced by her children into adopting a dog, could things start looking up for Kerry?

I really enjoyed this book! The way I could describe this is that it is an enjoyable, fun book that everyone will take delight in reading!

Kerry in particular was a fantastically written character, I warmed straight away to her, and there are many scenes and aspects of her life that readers will be able to relate to - this made Kerry very realistic, very true to life and in my opinion it enhanced my enjoyment and involvement in the book as I felt I knew her. The other characters are very well explored, they're very believable and Kerry's relationship with other characters are built up very well during the course of the book so that as a reader we genuinely care about these interactions and want to see them develop and progress.

There are many humourous moments throughout, some that will make you smile, and others that will have you snorting with laughter! Buddy the dog in particular causes lots of funny moments that lighten the mood and make this a light-hearted read! I really looked forward to the parts with Buddy in because he was always causing trouble!

Pedigree Mum is a light-hearted, beautiful book that is both entertaining and charming all in one! It is the perfect book to become lost in for many wonderful hours, so next time you're at the shops, grab a copy and a bar of chocolate, and enjoy relaxing with this delightful read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely read, 28 Feb 2013
This review is from: Pedigree Mum (Paperback)
I received a copy of "Pedigree Mum" in exchange for an honest review.
It will be very hard to write a review without giving the plot away but I will try anyway.
Firstly, the Tambinis' family was a perfect family for me, from the very beginning. Not the family on the left, populated by curly - haired blondes with Nicoise salad or fresh tuna, or the kids in Breton tops. No. They were perfect for me, even when the kite wouldn't want to fly. and this is why I have my fingers crossed really hard and said to myself, please please please don't spoil it!
And from the very beginning I liked Rob. Theoretically speaking I guess I shouldn't have liked him, but I did, end of story. Although there were moments that I wanted to slap him hard, shake him and tell him to stop behaving like this.
And I loved Kerry from the word go. I loved the way she was, with children, friends, family and life itself. It was really nice to see how she dealt with the situation and the whole move, finding new pupils, friends. Okay, maybe taking a dog just because children want it is not my idea of fun, because dog = a lot of responsibilities and going for walks even when it rains, storms or snows, and it is the bright side of having a dog, sometimes it turns out to be a good idea in the end. Not only for kids. Brigit was right in that matter:)
The writing was brilliant, just flowing, and the book was written in a very interesting way. The plot was full of twists and turns and I didn't know where Gibson is going to take us, which is really a super thing. For me it was not predictable at all and I must say that well, I am a little disappointed with the end because I was hoping for something else. But it's just me.
So, for me it was a real page turner. It was really good to read a book with dogs in it as well, as I am a big dogs lover and I know exactly how it is to deal with Buddy - alikes. Like I said, maybe I have hopes for other end but the actual one didn't spoil this book for me at all.
Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars memorable book for its type - with slight reservation, 29 July 2013
By 
Fiona Ramsay - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pedigree Mum (Paperback)
I don't usually write reviews, but I enjoyed this one so much - and was disappointed with the ending. It reminded me
of convoluted stories written in school where the writer runs out of time, inspiration or both and brings the story to an abrupt close. Given the high quality of the characterisation here, I would have liked a more fully developed ending. The book finished but the storyline felt left in mid-plot. A sequel please, to finish it properly?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable read !!!, 6 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pedigree Mum (Kindle Edition)
This is the first Fiona Gibson book I have read after it came up on recommendations from amazon it was a light funny read which I enjoyed while sat in the sun this weekend!!! I'm now going to read her other books!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good read, 17 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pedigree Mum (Kindle Edition)
On holiday and this was a good gentle read ... Good story and very realistic. Easily believable in this daft world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So funny!, 6 Mar 2013
By 
Sarah "Sarah" (Bedfordshire, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Pedigree Mum (Paperback)
Pedigree Mum is a fantastic novel from bestselling author Fiona Gibson.

Kerry and Rob have been happily married for a number of years when they decide to move from London to the coastal town of Shorling. Kerry is ecstatic and cannot wait for the family to settle into their new home. However, out of the blue Rob makes an enormous mistake that dramatically effects the family's lives. Before she knows it, Kerry is struggling to look after the children, hold down a job and put up with desperate pleas to get a dog. Feeling sorry for the children, Kerry gives in and adopts a lovely dog called Buddy.

I loved Kerry's character, she is strong, determined and tries hard to get her life back on track. There are also a number of characters and sub-plots woven into the plot, which work really well. I particularly liked Harvey and found Brigid to be quite amusing. The best character, however, has to be Buddy the dog, he is very good at getting himself into awkward situations and embarrassing Kerry.

I loved this book and did not want to put it down. Gibson has created a strong story with believable characters and filled it with lots of humour that had me laughing out loud. There is a certain clown scene in the novel that I think is one of the funniest scenes I have ever read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Doggie-Delights!, 3 Mar 2013
By 
D. Graham (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Pedigree Mum (Kindle Edition)
I really enjoyed Fiona's latest page-turner, with a 'pooch' theme! It was so easy to get into, and I couldn't put it down, so it's just as well I had flu because I had an excuse to take to my bed and read ALL day :-)
I love her style of short sharp chapters,great characters, honesty with humour, different threads within the one storyline.
I loved Kerry's character (I tried to teach piano for a couple of years....enough said)but all my sympathy went to Rob! He was tricked, and had to live with the enormous consequences.
I too didn't anticipate the way it would finish but that's just made me carry on thinking of the story in my own head how I think it might continue......isn't this what an author wants us to do?
It was hilarious - especially the 'intimate' moment between 2 clowns, and the list comparing advantages of 'Dog' to 'Man' hit quite a few chords!
Well done Fiona
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect with a cuppa and a comfy sofa!, 8 Mar 2013
By 
Best Crime Books "Best Crime Books" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pedigree Mum (Kindle Edition)
I was very pleased when the new Fiona Gibson book was uploaded to my Kindle and I earnestly got stuck in. The synopsis promises us a straying husband, broken hearts and a slightly deranged rescue dog. What's not to love with that and to be honest with dreary February upon us I was looking forward to getting stuck into a light hearted and humorous book. Kerry Tambini and her husband and two children have made the bold move to move out of town and to the coast in a place called Shorling. Sadly, when her husband Rob makes a huge mistake Kerry is left to settle the family on her own she doesn't know quite how she will cope. In the case of Pedigree Mum it involves a varied cast of characters in an `everybody knows everything' place with a crazy dog for company.

The first few chapters already had me smiling as Fiona Gibson sets her storytelling to the highest standards. The descriptions of the snooty mothers whose children eat nothing but organic produce and that look like they stepped out of a catalogue had me laughing out loud. Kerry and her family are so easy to like as they are like the majority of normal families. Their life is normally organised chaos and when Kerry decides to cave into the kids demands for a dog she has no idea what she is letting herself in for. Along comes Buddy the rescue dog who quite frankly should have a book of his own. With a knack for being outrageously naughty, his appearance normally caused trouble in one form or another.

We get to see quite a bit of Rob and his life as he battles to get things right and although this part of the storyline fitted in well I loved nothing more than seeing Kerry integrate herself in a new town. Some of the characters were very funny and all of them were entertaining in their own way. I read this book in just over a day and a half and didn't like it when I realised I had finished! I absolutely loved this book. It cheered me up no end on my miserable commute. Thankfully, I have a few of Fiona's other books I haven't yet read so I can look forward to getting stuck into them. This book was entertaining and addictive making me laugh in all the right places. The perfect accompaniment to a cuppa and a comfy sofa!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 10 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pedigree Mum (Kindle Edition)
Good holiday reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good read, 18 Jun 2014
By 
Mrs. S. Fisher "Sarah Fish" (N.Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pedigree Mum (Kindle Edition)
Enjoyed this but not as much as mums on the run. Not as many belly laughs! Good story line, nice holiday read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 222 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Pedigree Mum
Pedigree Mum by Fiona Gibson (Paperback - 28 Feb 2013)
5.24
Usually dispatched within 7 to 11 days
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews