Customer Reviews


44 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Really good read!
This book was a really good read! I love anything to do with Tudor/ Elizabethan times and this book didn't disappoint. When I first started reading I wasn't sure whether it was my kind of book as a lot of it was an account by Thomas Howard (who I previously disliked). However it was excellent and written in a very different way to others in this genre. Loved it!!
Published on 4 Jan 2012 by HannahN

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars very disappointing
I should have realised the level that this book is pitched at when I saw on the back it states perfect for fans of The Tudors (television series).
Basically this book is a medieval soap opera and not a very well written one at that. There are some glaring mistakes where twentieth century jargon is used. This jumps off the page at me and is very irritating.
It...
Published 12 months ago by Ms. P. Allom


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars very disappointing, 11 Dec 2013
By 
Ms. P. Allom - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rivals in the Tudor Court (Tudor Court 2) (Paperback)
I should have realised the level that this book is pitched at when I saw on the back it states perfect for fans of The Tudors (television series).
Basically this book is a medieval soap opera and not a very well written one at that. There are some glaring mistakes where twentieth century jargon is used. This jumps off the page at me and is very irritating.
It states that "This book is entirely a work of fiction. The names, characters and incidents portrayed in it are the work of the author's imagination. Any resemblance to actual persons living or dead, events or localities is entirely coincidental." Well I wish that this had been the case and then we wouldn't have to suffer her portrayal of some of the greatest historical lives.
The book goes along at a romping rate and if you are a Mills and Boon or Barbara Cartland fan then this might be for you but if you are a fan of more thoughtful historical fiction then I wouldn't advise trying this nonsense.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The Mysterious Case of the Transatlantic chipmunk, 16 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rivals in the Tudor Court (Tudor Court 2) (Paperback)
The Mysterious Case of the Transatlantic Chipmunk

Long before the British ever settled in North America in 1607, or indeed just after the Spanish first set foot on mainland South America in 1498, there appeared on a lawn in England, specifically that of Sir Thomas Howard to be the 3rd Duke of Norfolk, a chipmunk scampering through the branches of a tree!. Now this is no ordinary chipmunk, he can travel in a solitary state unaided by any known man, through air or perhaps by teleportation in the Star Ship `Enterprise', from his indigenous country of North America to Europe and even to the islands of Britain. And to add to this mystery, Sir Thomas was able to identify the species correctly by name, well that is, according to the author Darcey Bonnette. On page 83 of the paperback that is what Sir Thomas supposedly saw out of his window on a day in 1512 as he idled one morning deep in thought.

This kind of rubbish is indicative of the general content of this book as Ms Bonnette writes about one of our most distinguished statesmen and politicians, who had an acute and formidable intelligence as though he is emotionally unbalanced and obsessed by female breeding. I emphasise to the author that Sir Thomas was a major player of the political stage as well as a soldier of considerable ability in many military operations not a man obsessed by procreation and women breeding

The fist two hundred pages of this book seem to consist of nothing but begetting children, pregnancies and confinements, followed by infant mortality and huge emotional outpourings. The children were actually born and did die very young, but Sir Thomas was a man of his times of which child mortality was a normal part of life with two thirds of all children dying before the age of four: people just got on with it, they knew no alternative. Beating of the breast and weeping probably did take occur but not constantly for hundreds of pages! As this subject seems to be the obsession of the author, perhaps it should be on the reading list of future obstetricians or at least midwives.

More of Sir Thomas's actual life is included in the latter part of the book but again he is examining his conscience and chewing over his life. He is portrayed as a weak man obsessed by sex, child birth and also malevolent and ambitious manipulation. I would say he was a survivor and possibly an opportunist. If born today he would be in Government in a leading role. This book centres on his women and if any reader is interested in history in any accuracy then this is not for you.

How insulting to the British is Ms Bonnette when writing about a man who was the Lord Admiral, a Knight of the Garter and a military leader at the battle of Flodden as well as military campaigner in France. She even includes in the book one character, who is English, saying `the English language is hard and cold, as are the English' Why then is it that most of these English characters seem to spend a great deal of time sobbing, sighing, shouting and generally behaving in a very un-English manner? I wonder if Ms Bonnette has ever been to England. Apparently not, is she thinks we have chipmunks here.

Admittedly the author states the work is fiction and in the author's imagination, but to write about Sir Thomas in this way is insulting.

Her next novel, if based on English history, will no doubt have the odd moose crossing the lawn and a cougar up a tree - Perhaps all in 1500!

By the way the English are very humorous but very proud and loyal we do not take kindly to having our public figures rewritten for the sake of a trashy book of this nature
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars very poor, 21 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rivals in the Tudor Court (Tudor Court 2) (Paperback)
I bought this book amongst some by Phillipa Gregory and Karen Harper and quite frankly it just doesn't bear comparisson. It is very inaccurate historically and is full of errors one of which stands out as being written by an American (as is Karen Harper) when she describes the chipmunks bouncing ocross the moss. Someone should have told her that chipmunks have never been known in the wild in England. There are other, more serious errors, but this is just an example. It really is poor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Very Poor, 20 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rivals in the Tudor Court (Tudor Court 2) (Paperback)
I spent the first half of the book waiting for Norfolk to stop behaving like a girl, and the second half wishing I didn't insist on finishing a book, whether it be good or bad.

I'm sorry, but this is a third-rate novel, written by someone who cannot write from a male point of view. There's nothing intrinsically wrong with that, of course, but if you can't do it, then don't try it. The chipmunk, I fear, will haunt Ms Bonnette for some time - such a simple thing, to change that to 'squirrel'.

This whole thing just didn't ring true for me - I think perhaps that the author's ear was just ever so slightly 'out' - at least as far as I was concerned - and it felt as if I was reading fan fiction.

Best avoided. Read Dorothy Dunnett's 'Lymond' books if you want a sensationally good romp through history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Avoid like the sweating sickness!!, 14 July 2012
This review is from: Rivals in the Tudor Court (Tudor Court 2) (Paperback)
I am in the middle of this book - what a waste of money - if one more character 'averts' his or her head I will scream and as for the chipmunk bounding through the scenery - WTF?? The whole book is like a first draft for a third rate village play. Leave it on the shelf and wait for Ms Gregory to write her next novel - Ms Bonnette, you would do well to get some writing classes under your belt! Meantime, we need fuel for our wood burner...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars get your facts right., 31 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a well written book, i thoroughly enjoyed it. However my reason for only giving 3 stars is the basic inconsistency of firstly stating how Lady Anne has lovely green eyes, shortly afterward commenting on her lovely blue eyes, then reverts to green eyes again. This makes me loose respect for the author. very disgusted at this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Really good read!, 4 Jan 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book was a really good read! I love anything to do with Tudor/ Elizabethan times and this book didn't disappoint. When I first started reading I wasn't sure whether it was my kind of book as a lot of it was an account by Thomas Howard (who I previously disliked). However it was excellent and written in a very different way to others in this genre. Loved it!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Compelling, 15 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A very interesting and well informed story. Historically quite factual and was told from three different aspects of Thomas, Elizabeth and Bess. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 8 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
good book I lost myself for a few days
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Historical novels by Darcey Bonnette, 7 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Brilliant book could not put it down. Gave a very good insight into Tudor life. Would definitely recommend this author .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Rivals in the Tudor Court (Tudor Court 2)
Rivals in the Tudor Court (Tudor Court 2) by Darcey Bonnette (Paperback - 24 Nov 2011)
£5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews