Customer Reviews


68 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An interesting viewpoint of The Tudor Court
This book is brilliant for anyone who enjoyed 'The Other Boleyn Girl' or any of Philippa Gregory's novels. It looks at the life of the daughter of Mary Howard, daughter of the Duke of Norfolk, and cousin to Anne Boleyn.
I thoroughly enjoyed this book, as I've read a lot about the Tudors, in both fiction and non-fiction books, but I've never read one told from the...
Published on 14 Jan 2012 by N. S. Ingle

versus
24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Better than The Tudor Wife but that's not saying much!
This is yet another canter through the wives of Henry VIII as seen through the eyes of Mary Howard who comes to court to serve Anne Boleyn. Dear Anne...if she had never existed I doubt whether there would be these innumerable rehashes of her story. Mary is what I would term heavy weather, as another reviewer has noted it doesn't take much to get her tear ducts flowing. As...
Published on 17 Feb 2011 by N. Bratby


‹ Previous | 16 7 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars this is a good, 18 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
this is a good read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 27 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great history read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 11 Sep 2014
This review is from: Secrets of the Tudor Court (Paperback)
CANT GET INTO IT
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 15 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 7 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book was so well weritten with events unfolding with such tragic losses of lives which impacted on so many levels to characters depicted within the storyline. Was so impressed that could not put book down and read over 80% on first session. One of the chapters was quite long but prevailed and was totally gripped by all that unfolded throughout. Would buy more books by this author as well as recommending to others
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 4.5 stars from this American, 17 Feb 2011
This review is from: Secrets of the Tudor Court (Paperback)
There is a great possibility that UK readers and American readers will differ on their opinions on this book, but as an American enthralled with the history of England's monarchy, this is my review from the US release of Secrets of The Tudor Court written under the name of D.L. Bogdan in the states.

This is another great read to add to your Tudor fiction library. It is full of the Tudor speculation and gossip that Tudor fans have come to enjoy and love, but this is not told in an over the top fashion. It is fast paced and intriguing, as the Tudor courts and the events of the demise of Henry VIII's wives are merely a backdrop for Mary Howard's story. Although an avid fan of Tudor history, this particular story is new to me, as I have never registered the fact that the shrewd and cunning Thomas Howard, known to many as simply Norfolk, had a daughter named Mary Howard.

The story begins with Mary Howard's vicious birth, and it is vicious because Norfolk is busy beating up Mary's mother Elizabeth Stafford when she is in labor. The entire novel is full of Norfolk abusing the women in his life. His wife, his daughter, and then being the one main force behind both of his niece's Anne Boleyn and Catherine Howard wedding Henry, and eventually their demise. Mary Howard grows up under the thumb of her father, and she finds some comfort with her brother Henry Howard, Earl of Surrey, until she realizes he is a chip off the old block. Initially, though, her brother and she enjoyed sharing poems with other literate members of the court. Through all the events of the wives of Henry, Mary is watching and trembling with fear throughout, but it is told with her fresh point of view and made me really care for Mary. It was a sad life for Mary, being unloved, until she finally is wedded to the admirable Henry Fitzroy, who was none other that the king's own illegitimate son. Just when Mary thinks she will be able to have a life of her own and have babies, which is her deepest wish, her father decides that although they can marry each other, they cannot actually be together till he deems fit.

Mary watches her mother being beaten by Norfolk, and eventually the abuse moves towards Mary as well. These were hard scenes to get through, and displayed a lot of madness and cruelty of Norfolk. Mary is used as eyes and ears for Norfolk at court, and she witnesses the political machinations behind all the evil that occurs at the Tudor Court. It was not all Henry VIII's doing, it had a lot of Thomas Howard's hands in it. This is not a depiction that is any way favorable on Thomas Howard by any stretch of the imagination, but makes one wonder what really went on behind the closed doors of the Tudor courts. Along with the relationship with her family, we are also subject to Mary's friendships with her father's long-standing mistress Bess Holland, and with friends at court such as Margaret Douglas who was a niece of Henry VIII constantly in the middle of court issues.

This was an impressive debut for Bogdan, covering a lot of material within the myriads of rumors and gossip of the courts, and I enjoyed it immensely. This is a wonderful addition to my Tudor fiction library, though not for those who would prefer more fact than fiction with regards specifically to the Tudors and the mention of some of the rumors that have since been believed as false. The reason they were included is because the author felt it would add to the atmosphere of the Tudor courts, since most of the rumors were believed to be fact at the time. The novel covers the reign of the queens Anne Boleyn, Jane Seymour, Anne of Cleves, Catherine Howard, and Catherine Parr, ending with Edward VI on the throne. As a complete and total Tudor junkie, I found that it was full of suspense, drama, and garnered my admiration for Lady Mary Howard, making me want to look for more information on this young woman who was witness to much of the turmoil of the Tudor courts, and daughter to the creator of many of the secrets of the Tudor courts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Family Secrets, 8 Aug 2011
By 
Ms. Heather A. M. Moore "FILM ADDICT" (NOTTINGHAM UK.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Secrets of the Tudor Court (Paperback)
I have been gripped by this book, it tells the story of Mary Howard daughter of the Duke of Norfolk.
She is the cousin of Anne Bolyn and Katherine Howard the two ill fated wifes of Henry the 8th.
Mary is bethroed to Harry Fitzroy the son of Henry the 8th who can never be aknowleged and can never inheirit the thorne.

The story is interesting as we can see the Major events at court take place and how these shape Mary.
This is also about family ,Mary who wants her fathers love she sees her father as the solider , the man who hurts her mother , he is also a man who lost his first wife and many children in infency and he has to control his daughter and her path like he has control over his nieces future.

This is a must read for fans of histrocial fiction and I would love to see a film or televison adapation as this is a unique take on the history of tudor britian and the longing to do the right thing by your family in those difficult times
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best books I have read in a long time!, 7 Mar 2011
This review is from: Secrets of the Tudor Court (Paperback)
I thoroughly enjoyed this book! Not only is it fictional but it takes you through all 6 of Henry VIIIs wives from a different perspective. Definitely recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 16 7 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Secrets of the Tudor Court
Secrets of the Tudor Court by Darcey Bonnette (Paperback - 20 Jan 2011)
£5.99
Not in stock; order now and we'll deliver when available
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews