Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 28 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
One of the best of the series. Nothing else to say but as I have to write something then this should be enough!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well plotted with a satisfactory conclusion., 29 Nov 2012
On a hot August day Inspector Bill Slider of Shepherds Bush police station, is called to an unexpected death in an attic room in a Victorian terraced house just off the Uxbridge Road. Here he finds the body of a man in his early thirties dead in his bath. At first taken as a suicide Slider is not sure, as they can find nothing to identify the man. The name Robin Williams under which he rented the room proves false.

Convinced this is murder, Slider first has to identify the corpse and that takes him and his team on a merry dance, through, tattoo parlours and Soho Porn studios. As they trace the pattern of his recent life Slider finds nothing that adds up to who this man actually was.

This is a fascinating and intriguing mystery, just who and what was the mysterious Robin Williams.

We meet again with the elegant fastidious Detective Sergeant Atherton, slider's sidekick and friend; and always a delight is Slider's boss Detective Chief Inspector Fred `The Syrup' Porson he of the famous malapropisms. An old-fashioned copper who dislikes meetings, hates politics and is allergic to golf. Bald with shaggy eyebrows no one ever invites him to a brainstorming breakfast meeting. When Slider brings him up to speed on the case he growls. `A case of walking your chickens before they can run, if you ask me'

After a couple of days when all the leads seem to present even more questions, Sliders morning report to Porson brings forth `Well, feelings are in the eye of the beholder' What lines are you pursuing?

Well plotted with a satisfactory conclusion, a Cynthia Harrod-Eagles book featuring Bill Slider is always a joy and this one does not disappoint only when I turn the last page and wonder how long I will have to wait for the next one.
-----
Reviewer: Lizzie Hayes
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blood Never Dies, 6 Sep 2012
By 
Gloria Feit (Long Beach, NY) - See all my reviews
The latest Bill Slider mystery finds the DI called to the scene of what was initially thought to be a suicide but which, on closer examination, seems to be a murder. Things become much more complex when the Shepherd's Bush police cannot find any identification for the dead man, nor any personal items, such as cell phone, computer, or wallet, at the scene. Any when they do get the name of the flat's tenant from the building owner, that name appears to be false. Things become murkier as the investigation continues, with more bodies appearing to be tied in to the first.

Present are the usual assortment of colleagues who fans of the series have gotten to know and love, despite (or perhaps because of) their quirks and eccentricities, of course their boss, DS Porson, master of the malapropisms, who "used language like a man flailing at wasps - - usually effective, but never a pretty sight."

Meticulously plotted, the author brings matters to a most satisfactory resolution. As much as the mystery itself, and the wonderful characters who inhabit it, among the most enjoyable ingredients of this series are the charming descriptions, of people and places, employed by her, e.g., "scrawny frog-eyed Hollis, with his despairing hair and feather-duster moustache [who] made Peter Lorre look like a model from a knitwear catalogue;" the aforementioned building owner, "short and swarthy, his head emerging from his shoulders without the bother of a neck;" one character who had "so many spare tyres round his neck he looked as though his chin was resting on a stack of crumpets;" another who had teeth "so white he'd have been useful to have around on a rocky shore in the fog;" a bouncer whose "chest was so broad his nipples were in different time zones. He looked as if he could lift weights with his tongue;" and Slider himself who, at one point at the end of a long day, removes his shoes and socks in a quiet moment: "His feet wriggled gratefully in the open air like puppies shown affection at last." I always finish a Cynthia Harrod-Eagles/Bill Slider book anxiously awaiting the next one, and this one is no exception. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bill Slider., 13 Jan 2014
By 
S. Gregory "Sonbonone" (Sheffield England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have only read the 'Bill Slider' books from this writer but am transfixed by their detail and by their humour, should be made into a series a little on the lines of Beck in Nordic Noir.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Good Read, 6 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I enjoyed reading this book, i am a big fan of Cynthia Harrod Eagles books. I have read all the Dynasty series, the 3 Kirov books and all 15 of the Bill Slider Mysteries, plus some of the standalone books she has written over the years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars LOVE BILL SLIDER, 20 July 2013
By 
Kathylene Privitera (Augusta, WV United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
HE DOES NOT HAVE A NEW BOOK OFTEN ENOUGH, BUT AS SOON AS I READ ONE IS BEING RELEASED, I BUY IT....I LOVE SERIAL BRITISH DETECTIVES AND CANNOT GET ENOUGH OF MY FAVORITE AUTHORS!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars "Blood Never Dies" is a solid police procedural, 8 Jun 2013
By 
L. J. Roberts (Oakland, CA, USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
First Sentence: Exsanguination was the word Slider found wandering around his mind.

When is a suicide not a suicide? When it's a murder. When the details are just slightly off. When is a murder particularly hard to solve? When you don't know the identity of the victim. It's even harder when you find a name but realize it's false. For DI Bill Slider and his team, the more they dig, the more murders occur, and the more obscure becomes the motive behind it all.

Cynthia Harrod-Eagles has a wonderfully descriptive style. Her writing, and dialogue, is natural, sprinkled with wry humor, and occasional colloquialisms.
She is very British, so occasionally some of her references of phrases might not be understood by Americans. It doesn't matter; look them up and move on. It is well worth it and you learn something along the way.

Her writing can make you stop and consider..."Death was so mysterious, Slider thought, not for the first time. The difference between a human being and a dead body was so profound, it always amazed him that made the difference, the vital spark, could disappear so instantaneously and completely."..."He looked at her. `Animals just follow instinct. It's only humans who perform calculated acts of vileness.'"

It is particularly appealing that, although Bill Slider is the protagonist, it is truly an ensemble case. Everyone has an important role to play. I also appreciate that Harrod-Eagles shows the harsh and plainly unfair reality of one's career being limited by either not having the "right" look or manner. "But scrawny frog-eyed Hollis, with his despairing hair and feather-duster moustache...made Peter Lorre look like a model from a knitwear catalogue. ...He was a damn good policeman, which was all that counted to Slider--though not, of course, with the media-obsessed top bods in the Job, who would never promote Colin Hollis to any position that might get him on camera." Slider is misfit in his own way. He doesn't judge others but has a dogged determination to find the truth; he believes in fighting for right and justice.

What was missing was the some of the sparkle that makes this, for me, such a must-read series. There wasn't as much interaction between Slider and his wife, Joanna, his father and Atherton, to which one always looks forward. Even the lovely and malapropos-plagued D.S. Porson--"A case of walking your chickens before they can run..." was little less apparent than in past stories.

It's the excellent plotting that makes this such a compelling read. You feel the team's frustration knowing the clues are leading somewhere, but having no idea where. You become part of the team, looking for the answers, rather than stand outside the story.

"Blood Never Dies" is a solid police procedural, with a strong plot and characters you want to visit again and again.

BLOOD NEVER DIES (Pol Prod-DI Bill Slider-England-Contemp) - G+
Harrod-Eagles, Cynthia - 15th in series
Severn House, 2012
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Slider rules OK, 18 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Love all the Slider books! As a musician, I loved the Joanna background, and truth to tell, missed her being around so much in this latest one. Love the with and the puns and looking forward to the day when I have time to sit down to re-read them all from the beginning!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Another winner from Ms Harrod-Eagles, but..., 10 Mar 2013
By 
Annie W "bookworm" (Aberdeenshire, Scotland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I thoroughly enjoy the Bill Slider investigations, for the plots, police procedures, and the private lives of the various members of the team - and in this book, we're permitted to see further into the lives of several of the other characters, rather than largely just Atherton and Slider, which augers well for the future.

As always, this is an enthralling plot, although I have to say I found myself frustrated by the length of time it seemed to take the whole team to work out the reason behind the first murder victim's actions (any more would be a spoiler, but you'll know what I mean when you read it).

"Blood Never Dies" is filled with all the things I like about this series: there are well-drawn characters, lots of atmosphere in the descriptions of everything from the pubs, sleazy clubs, and drug-taking to the relaxing, lyrical descriptions of the countryside, and throughout it all is our old friend Bill Slider, striving to solve a growing number of murders, even while hampered by the politically-aware, publicity-seeking, self-serving senior police hierarchy of whom so many in Britain complain today. There are the usual, extremely clever chapter headings, amazing word plays, unobtrusive literary quotes, and constant banter, all of which mean the reader cannot relax their attention without the fear of missing something of note.

It's a long time since I lived in London, and while there are many things in this book which I recognise as little changed, I have to say that her descriptions of the London "scene", the drug-taking and -dealing, and the city's entire sub-culture, where overseas visitors speak the language to a higher standard than the natives, give me a great sympathy for the Sliders of this world - and no desire at all to return there.

Cynthis Harrod-Eagles' powers of observation and description are cutting and utterly believable, and I look forward to the next book in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Slider and co on top form again, 14 Sep 2012
Clever plot, beautifully crafted and with the welcome return of Bill Slider and his team. I laughed out loud in places at the descriptions and wonderful turns of phrase yet the book never loses sight of the crime at the centre of the plot. If you've never read any of the Bill Slider series this may not be the best to start with - part of the joy is that it feels like meeting old and much loved friends - but it's a great addition to the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Blood Never Dies (A Bill Slider Mystery)
Blood Never Dies (A Bill Slider Mystery) by Cynthia Harrod-Eagles (Paperback - 31 Jan 2014)
8.61
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews