Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


31 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars an excellent read
I highly recommend this book. This is a day to day diary evoking all the smells, horror and mundaneness of war. A fascinating read, so interesting; as among all the horrors are the simple things that Stuart Chapman did, like going to explore villages or going to the cinema, things that would not have occurred to me happened in a war situation. Each time I read it I find...
Published on 21 Jan 2009 by A. Abd El Kader

versus
18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Eyewitness Source
Curiously both the reviewer who has given this five stars and the one that has given only one are broadly correct. This is a first hand source - and soldiers in war, particularly junior ones, do not get to see 'the big picture'. For the many war consists of walking backwards and forwards, hunger, lack of sleep, carrying ungainly objects, getting wet, seeing the bloody...
Published on 14 Sep 2009 by Stephen Bull


Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Eyewitness Source, 14 Sep 2009
By 
Stephen Bull - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Home in Time for Breakfast: A First World War Diary (Paperback)
Curiously both the reviewer who has given this five stars and the one that has given only one are broadly correct. This is a first hand source - and soldiers in war, particularly junior ones, do not get to see 'the big picture'. For the many war consists of walking backwards and forwards, hunger, lack of sleep, carrying ungainly objects, getting wet, seeing the bloody results of an action or explosion, being ordered about, and taking whatever small pleasures or witicisms as they find them. Neither do the majority engage in hand to hand combat, and quite a few of those that do are not around to complete their diaries afterwards.

Briefly therefore this is not a polished or literary work with benefit of hindsight, like say Edmund Blunden's 'Undertones, or anything by Sassoon or Graves. Its a simple diary, and from it you get some notions of how the artillery and mortars worked, and of the banality of the life of one cog in a big machine. Perhaps frighteningly 1914-1918 will almost certainly have been the most exciting, terrifying, and interesting episode in this man's life. Here is both the danger and the pleasure of the 'social history' of the ordinary man, which is now the politically correct orthadoxy adopted by so many who teach the subject.

Recommended as an authentic document, not recommended as a scintillating read !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars an excellent read, 21 Jan 2009
By 
A. Abd El Kader (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Home in Time for Breakfast: A First World War Diary (Paperback)
I highly recommend this book. This is a day to day diary evoking all the smells, horror and mundaneness of war. A fascinating read, so interesting; as among all the horrors are the simple things that Stuart Chapman did, like going to explore villages or going to the cinema, things that would not have occurred to me happened in a war situation. Each time I read it I find something new to ponder on. Stuart Chapman's experience of hunger, exhaustion , at times fear and "getting on with the job" brought up a mixed bag of emotions - at times funny, at times sad, at times filled with horror.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Only My Opinion, 10 Jun 2010
By 
John A. Cooke (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Home in Time for Breakfast: A First World War Diary (Paperback)
As an ex infantry officer I was rather intrigued with this book, they (the BEF)were always told that the war would be short and that they would indeed be "home in time for breakfast". If you view it as literally a diary you will not be disappointed simply because that is exactly what it is, and it is a diary of war. There are days of sheer terror and days of extreme boredom but all carefully recorded by a simple but decent man who happened to survive. I enjoyed it very much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars an absolute must, 3 Dec 2009
By 
This review is from: Home in Time for Breakfast: A First World War Diary (Paperback)
Although this may never intended to be published, it is a must read. butal, heart warming an honest. I would recommend this to anyone with an interest.10/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars First World War, 1 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Home in Time for Breakfast: A First World War Diary (Paperback)
I have always been interested in the First World War as seen through the eyes of an ordinary man. Very interesting reading particularly as some of the places mentioned were where my own father was during the war. I would recommend this to anyone who wants to see how the ordinary "Tommy" fared, and how they coped with the loss of friends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellent, 6 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Home in Time for Breakfast: A First World War Diary (Paperback)
You sent it to us in very good time and my partner thoroughly enjoyed reading this book as he is very interested in the first world war
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Worth Reading, 4 Jan 2012
This review is from: Home in Time for Breakfast: A First World War Diary (Paperback)
A great read! Told with good humour while sharing the realism of the Great War. It does not overstate the terrible conditions, but the author tells his story as he experienced it - the pains and the pleasures.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 15 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Tedious, 17 July 2009
This review is from: Home in Time for Breakfast: A First World War Diary (Paperback)
Ok so it's a front-line account written by a man who was there but it is terribly boring.

The author has little, if any, literary ability and doesn't seem to have had an interesting war. His account is told without any insight and dosn't include any of the detail that would make it interesting.

To be fair to the author I doubt he ever envisaged publication and wrote his diary to remind himself of his time in the war - not to explain anything to others.

There are far more interesting and informative first-hand accounts (Richards, Manning etc).

Don't buy this, buy those instead
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Home in Time for Breakfast: A First World War Diary
Home in Time for Breakfast: A First World War Diary by Stuart Chapman (Paperback - 12 Nov 2007)
6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews