Customer Reviews


73 Reviews
5 star:
 (59)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best volume so far in the Outlaw series ?
This is volume 4 of the Outlaw series (after Outlaw, Holly Warrior and King's Man). It is focused on the five last years of the reign of Richard Lion Heart (from 1194 to 1199), after his release from captivity, and his constant struggle against Phillip II, the King of France. Again, we find Robin Earl of Locksley, and his men (including Little John and his fearsome battle...
Published on 19 July 2012 by JPS

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Decent enough plot and characters
I had difficultly assessing this book.

In the end, I decided it was a "like", but it was close.

This is the third in the series, and I have not read the previous ones, so am not sure if it is typical or not.

Its an expansion and continuation of the story of Robin Hood ( now the Earl of Locksley ), and by this book, it is his loyal...
Published 11 months ago by Signalman


‹ Previous | 1 2 38 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent read, 10 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If high adventure and medieval warfare are what you seek look no further. A simply gripping read which held me all the way through. Chivalry never looked so good!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another exciting episode in the life of the hero!!!, 16 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Warlord (Outlaw Chronicles) (Hardcover)
I can't wait to see the next volume which I think centres on the antics and life of Friar Tuck.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Move over Robin, the Lionheart has arrived!, 2 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you hunger for bigger battles after the seige of Nottingham Castle and the battles in the Holy Land from previous books Warlord provides what it says on the tin - WAR over quite a good number of years including the odd seige of a castle or two or maybe three.
This book shifts its focus ever so slightly from Alan's adventures with Robin (although he hasn't completely taken a back seat in this tale) to Alan's adventures as a loyal and supportive Knight under the leadership of none other than Richard the Lion Heart himself. And yets as an extra bonus Alan has a family murder mystery to solve inspired from his last meeting with the now at long last dead Sir Murdac AND the psychotic and disfigured Nur is still haunting the lands around Westbury. So as you can see there is A HECK OF A LOT for Alan to deal with besides just surviving one battle around Normandy from the next.
There isn't ever a slow period, a peaceful season or a respite for Alan as he has challenges both personal and private to deal with whether he's at home with the ever reliable Goody or abroad amongst his fellow Knights.
This book is quite an eye opener mixed in with a history lesson for most people probably know the Lion Heart best for his failed campaigns into the Holy Land. But what Angus Donald reveals in this telling is a glimpse into what the Lionheart did next as he began years of sieges and battles to reclaim his lands lost to King Philip of France. A campaign I dare say he proved more successful that is until....well I won't spoil it.
However I will say that woven within the latter half of this epic tale is a secret that could change a lot of lives for better or for worse if discovered and claimed by Robin and his men - and that dear reader is where Angus Donald cunningly leads you into the next book in the series.
Over all a roller coaster of a read - each chapter grips you by the collar and drags you through Alan's many trials and tribulations and will leave you gasping for breath at the end but also craving more. A superb piece of historical fiction written with a human heart, soul and mind at the centre of it all that gives this story such power over the reader that they are gripped even when there isn't a sword clashing with a shield or an arrow being fired from a castle keep.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Warlord, 27 May 2013
By 
David E. Hudson (Farnborough Hampshire U K) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Warlord (Outlaw Chronicles) (Hardcover)
If you've been reading the previous books you'll love this, another excellent story, you can't go wrong with this.

D Hudson
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gripping from start to finish, 20 May 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
My first Kindle read and I picked a good one.
I have enjoyed all the previous Outlaw book and this Warlord was not a disapointment.
I can't wait to get my hands on the next one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It Drew Me In:, 16 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
What a story, just did not want it to end!!!! It was gripping, enticing ~ literally kept me on the edge o our sofa!!

Cannot wait for the next instalment!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars enjoyble read, 9 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
as ive read all angus Donald books I looked forward to this new edition didn't disappoint I am looking forward to his next book in this reries
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another brilliant book in the series, 21 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Rating chosen as it is a very good book.
Fits into the series well.
Recommend to anyone who likes this style of historical fiction.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Thoroughly enjoyable historical novel., 12 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
For anyone who has read the first novels in the series this is a natural follow-on and equally as good. The characters continue through the series but each book is a stand-alone story. Well written and most enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Captivating, 4 Mar 2013
By 
J. Roberts (Manchester UK) - See all my reviews
Third book in a fantastic series
Well written keeps you on tender hooks all the way through and leaves you wanting more
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 38 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Warlord (Outlaw Chronicles)
Warlord (Outlaw Chronicles) by Angus Donald (Hardcover - 19 July 2012)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews