Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Exciting Read!!
This may not look like your average girls read, but think again, I really enjoyed this book! It is entertaining, exciting and gives a very good insight into the K&R business (that Kidnap & Ransom). Hope Ben Lopez will write another book soon!!
Published on 26 July 2011 by Maria Berens

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Promises more than it delivers
The summary descriptions available made this look like a dynamic action packed insight to a shadowy, dangerous world. Yes, there was insight to the motivations and methods of hostage-takers in different parts of the world. That was as far as the interest factor extended. Lopez himself comes across as highly self-regarding and, well, quite boring. He is obviously good at...
Published on 29 Feb 2012 by Tony (Solihull)


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Promises more than it delivers, 29 Feb 2012
This review is from: The Negotiator: My life at the heart of the hostage trade (Hardcover)
The summary descriptions available made this look like a dynamic action packed insight to a shadowy, dangerous world. Yes, there was insight to the motivations and methods of hostage-takers in different parts of the world. That was as far as the interest factor extended. Lopez himself comes across as highly self-regarding and, well, quite boring. He is obviously good at what he does, but he does tend to keep reminding the reader of that. Maybe the ability to maintain one's composure under pressure, and being able to remain focussed during long periods of boredom and inactivity are pre-requisites for the job. But too much of that came across in the style of writing. So there was always a backdrop of an exciting world, but the lack of personality in the delivery never really took me into that world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Exciting Read!!, 26 July 2011
This review is from: The Negotiator: My life at the heart of the hostage trade (Hardcover)
This may not look like your average girls read, but think again, I really enjoyed this book! It is entertaining, exciting and gives a very good insight into the K&R business (that Kidnap & Ransom). Hope Ben Lopez will write another book soon!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Read, 13 Aug 2011
This review is from: The Negotiator: My life at the heart of the hostage trade (Hardcover)
I didn't know quite what to expect from this book but I'm always interested in learning new things and it sounded interesting. It turned out to be quite fascinating and a real page-turner. There are many interesting aspects to the way it was written. The autobiographical element about how the author arrived at this career and what it's like to be a negotiator. The psychological element regarding not only what it's like for the victims and families of hostages, but great insight into the minds of the kidnappers and the authorities handling such cases. Throughout the book, he gives many detailed examples of the various types of kidnapping and hostage situations from around the world. In the end, I was hungry for more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great from start to finish, 20 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
In an arena with many so called experts, this is a book written by someone with the academic qualifications and the operational experience. A great read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I was held captive!, 19 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very interesting and well written about a subject that most of us have only seen in Hollywood films; and as per usual the films stray from the truth. I would definitely want Ben negotiating for my release.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Ashleigh Magee, 20 July 2012
This review is from: The Negotiator: My life at the heart of the hostage trade (Hardcover)
Ben Lopez's The Negotiator is a fascinating insight into hostage negotiation and the dangers involved.

The book gives a detailed look behind the scenes of terrifying kidnap situations where every second counts and decisions made may mean the difference between your hostage's life or death.

Brilliantly and thrilling written, this is the book best I've read all summer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Why?, 31 Dec 2011
By 
David R. Beck - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Negotiator: My life at the heart of the hostage trade (Hardcover)
I bought this book from a book clearance shop for £4:99 less than 6 months after its publication date. This suggests it has not been flying off the shelves, which came as something of a relief. For, whilst undoubtedly well written without being a literary masterpiece, and with the holiday sun-lounge sector of the market as its clear target, there is a prevading sense of "why was this necessary" overhanging throughout. There has always been an unwritten rule, certainly here in the UK, that negotiators do their job and then fade quietly into the background. Why so? Because in divulging so much tactical methodology (not in great detail, but in sufficient terms as to make them understandable to anybody with a vested interest) this book risks making the next negotiator's job that much more difficult, and putting the next hostage's life in just that bit more danger. That's the ultimate irony of a book claiming to be about saving lives, and by buying it I guess I have contributed to that risk increasing. But is is readable, and I couldn't not like it for that...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant insights, 17 Nov 2011
By 
Margaret Cahill "Wessex Astrologer" (Bournemouth, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Negotiator: My life at the heart of the hostage trade (Hardcover)
I borrowed this book from the library on our cruise ship and I couldn't put it down. Apart from giving fascinating insights into the negotiator's role in K&R 'Ben' also teaches a lot about personality types. His knowledge of the psychological make-up of different personalities and the best way to deal with them was extremely helpful just for use in everyday life. I would strongly recommend it to anyone who is simply interested in people, quite apart from the revelations of such an incredible job.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth a king's ransom, 1 Aug 2011
By 
This review is from: The Negotiator: My life at the heart of the hostage trade (Hardcover)
K&R sounds like a Midlands plastics firm, or a shabby used furniture shop just off the High Street. In Ben Lopez's business it stands for Kidnap & Ransom, and his job is trying to arrange happy outcomes to such crimes.

He's a negotiator, like the ones you see in films only real, and he deals with very real, very nasty people. Popping up anywhere on the planet at short notice with his shadowy team, he puts words into baddies' brains, not bullets. It's a technique that seems to work; he hasn't lost a hostage yet.

This book takes us along for the harrowing ride into the what has to be the most difficult of situations. We get to see all the activity going on behind the scenes, smell the testosterone flooding the hair-trigger hot-spots, feel the desperation, the anger, the fear, and marvel at the composure and restraint of a well-schooled pro in action.

Stuffed with eye-opening facts about the kidnapping "industry" and enough tension to snap jaw muscles, The Negotiator is an astonishing, must-read real-lifer of a telly series just waiting to be made.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Birthday pressie, 25 Oct 2011
By 
C. Aitken "happyeverafter" (scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Negotiator: My life at the heart of the hostage trade (Hardcover)
I bought this book for my husbands birthday, he thoroughly enjoyed it! I thought he would, think i'll have a wee read next!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Negotiator: My life at the heart of the hostage trade
The Negotiator: My life at the heart of the hostage trade by Ben Lopez (Hardcover - 21 July 2011)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews