Customer Reviews


236 Reviews
5 star:
 (171)
4 star:
 (46)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


43 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Life death and vanilla slices.
Having raved over Camberwell beauty and Having a lovely time,I have regularly searched for,yet lamented, that Jenny Eclair had decided to write no more novels. It was sheer delight to stumble across this little gem! In my opinion it is even better than the others. The characters are instantly alive from the opening chapters. The story line is powerful. It interweaves...
Published on 10 July 2012 by Amazon Customer

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Depressing
Billed as a black comedy I didn't find it very funny. Worried that this is all life has to offer and a strange ending!
Published on 16 Dec. 2012 by PCG


‹ Previous | 1 224 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

43 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Life death and vanilla slices., 10 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having raved over Camberwell beauty and Having a lovely time,I have regularly searched for,yet lamented, that Jenny Eclair had decided to write no more novels. It was sheer delight to stumble across this little gem! In my opinion it is even better than the others. The characters are instantly alive from the opening chapters. The story line is powerful. It interweaves characters and lives,both past and present. Hilarious,with witty,succinct descriptions yet equally poignant. As we get to know these people better,we are able to understand them the more and forgive them their transgressions.

My Sister and I are completely hooked on Jenny Eclair and we have long chats about her books. I think this Novel will take readers by storm.
Please do not leave it so long for the next one and furthermore can we have her other works in Kindle format?
Read it,review it,and put on the pressure if like us you are amazed by such talent!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant book, laughed and cried, 20 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Life, Death and Vanilla Slices (Paperback)
Have greatly enjoyed Jenny's previous books and the new one doesn't disappoint.

A real page turner, I couldn't put it down, but did't want to finish it either. There was total realism in the unfolding stories of Anne and Jean, and unlike many books, here was one where you really cared about the characters and what happened to them.

Jenny's style is so natural, her narrative so beautifully crafted, that she is a total joy to read.

a definite five star book. Please give us more !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Staggered, 5 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought for me - fantastic surprise - a reall book not chic lit - real themes - sad funny tragic- laughed cried and thought. Really original and entertaining and massively shocking at end. Her writing is far more erudite and considered than stage persona. Better and more literate than previous books. Great story and involving characters. Super stuff !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fresh and frank, touching, truthful and tender, 21 Oct. 2013
By 
Katharine Kirby "Kate" (HELSTON, Cornwall United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Meet muddled Anne, a middle-aged mess. Her surgeon husband Paul is immune to her, her sons ignore and patronise her. Anne's past is rocky, her back story a cause of huge regret, debilitating guilt.

Wry and realistic, recognisable and raw, Jenny Éclair brushes away pretence, she knows people aren't perfect. They have to live with mystery, misery and unresolved situations.

With Anne's domestic life increasingly deteriorating despite her dream kitchen and safe set up,`wine o'clock' arriving earlier all the time; her mother Jean soldiers bravely on up north, nursing her shattered heart. Crunch time comes literally when Jean steps in front of the traffic and is taken to hospital where she lies in a coma, mentally housekeeping her memories and sorting out her affairs, an unseen activity, but happily we are allowed in on the action.

Anne has to rush away from London and face up to her past. This totally honest, believable, sharply observed action, catches us up with her touring her old school that is being turned into flats, once again standing at the bus stop in the cold, trying not to pry into her mother's private life, while staying in her home...

Meanwhile the innermost thoughts of her sons and husband are funny, touching, and completely human.

More of a bus ride than a rollercoaster, Jenny Éclair's witty, clever, unique voice rings in your ear as you read, a really enjoyable experience, I am still thinking about Drew, Nat, Jools, Paul, Ellen even.. they were are real as my own family. Sizzling Sibling Rivalry at it's sorriest. With a soundtrack of a sewing machine, I could hear it myself.

I would love another book, or even a chapter about this lot, they have me in their grip. The ending was a little rushed, I kept looking at the number of pages and wondering how she was going to fit it all in. Off to buy a Vanilla Slice, and another Jenny Eclair book, it's one of those days!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well worth a read, 21 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Heard about this book on the Graham Norton radio show when Jenny Eclair was a guest. Couldn't put it down once I started. Not an over complexed story but one of those stories that you have to get to the end of and what a twist at the end - realy enjoye it. But god help any mums out there who have boys like Anne's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Acute Observations, 18 Aug. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Life, Death and Vanilla Slices (Paperback)
I devoured this book over two nights. It was totally amazing. Jenny has once again shown she has a real talent for fiction. Her acute observations of fraught family relationships, class differences and Middle Class anxieties combine beautifully with a compelling plot, deft characterisation and pathos mixed with laugh out loud funny one liners. More fiction please, Jenny. Her knack of getting her characters to voice what people fearfully leave unsaid is exceptional and shows a woman who's observational skills are immense. This book is a gem.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a great book, do not miss it, 30 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I really enjoyed this ,I just could not put it down. I can't wait to read more of Jenny's books. The characters feel real and there are so many things to make you laugh and cry especially if you are of a similar age to Anne....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Life, Death and Vanilla Slices by Jenny Eclair, 16 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Life, Death and Vanilla Slices (Paperback)
I found this novel very absorbing, highly entertaining and extremely thought-provoking. I could identify with the main character in many ways, but you don't have to be menopausal with teenage kids and elderly parents to connect with this book. Some of it was so laugh-out-loud funny, but always true to life. The themes of sibling jealousy, liking one kid more than another, confronting one's parents' deaths were dealt with extremely sensitively, as was the idea that we may have many 'selves' throughout our lives, some of which may not be particularly likeable. But the twists and turns of the plot also made the book an extremely satisfying read. Brilliant!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Read, 25 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Life, Death and Vanilla Slices (Paperback)
I enjoyed this book very much, and would say that has everything in it that you could wish for, i didnt know Jenny wrote novels, but i wish she would write some more!
Very very true to a lot of womens lives,i think thats where she has scored a hit myself.
It was dark, funny, and sad in places.
Waiting for another one now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An intriguing read! xxxx, 21 Dec. 2012
By 
Megan ReadingInTheSunshine (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Life, Death and Vanilla Slices (Paperback)
Anne is shocked to learn that her mother Jean is lying in a coma after being hit in an accident. But what was it that distracted Jean and caused her to step into the road without looking? And why was she holding a box of vanilla slices, that was only ever for special occasions?

Covers can sometimes be a bit deceiving, and this is the case with this book. From looking at the cover, this may seem like a light, chick-lit, fluffy read, but it's not. Instead we are given a gritty, sometimes dark and emotional story.

The story is written from the perspective of both Anne and Jean. Jean's sections are interesting because although she is currently in a coma, we go through her thought processes and relive some of her memories, whereas with Anne we are experiencing what is happening in the present day.

This wasn't something that I would have normally gone for, but I must admit it was a good read. It took a little while to properly get into the first chapter but shortly after that I was more involved in the book. It was engaging, the writing style was good, and it was intriguing to read as the further we progress in the book, the more secrets we learn about the characters and so we develop a deeper understanding and depth of the characters.

There are a few twists and secrets to uncover in this book, and as a reader I never knew where the story would take me, and this made it enjoyable to read. Worth checking out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 224 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Life, Death and Vanilla Slices
Life, Death and Vanilla Slices by Jenny Eclair (Paperback - 5 July 2012)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews