Customer Reviews


32 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars National Service
My Husband enjoyed this book very much.
especially as he was an ex national service man.
and found some parts very funny.
Published on 29 Jun 2012 by Anne

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Takes You Back
Realistic, wide-ranging review of the old days. The repetitive recollections are fascinating, since, at the time they were perceived by each recruit as only happening to him. A bit gossipy, or trivial in places, the author having just accepted each individual contribution. Takes you back!
Published 23 months ago by J. D. Wren


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars National Service, 29 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: National Service: From Aldershot to Aden: tales from the conscripts, 1946-62 (Hardcover)
My Husband enjoyed this book very much.
especially as he was an ex national service man.
and found some parts very funny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Gift. Trip Down Memory Lane., 7 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: National Service: From Aldershot to Aden: tales from the conscripts, 1946-62 (Hardcover)
I bought this book(my first online)as a Gift for Fathers Day. My Father in Law has told us many a tale of his years in National Service,with much enthusiasum, that when I saw this book, I knew it would be right up his street.He has since read the book about other mens stories through National Service, and found so many of them to be simalar stories, that it could have been his camp.He got a lot of pleasure out of the book, a trip down memory lane. Would use Amazon again to purchase Books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Takes You Back, 3 Aug 2012
By 
J. D. Wren - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: National Service: From Aldershot to Aden: tales from the conscripts, 1946-62 (Hardcover)
Realistic, wide-ranging review of the old days. The repetitive recollections are fascinating, since, at the time they were perceived by each recruit as only happening to him. A bit gossipy, or trivial in places, the author having just accepted each individual contribution. Takes you back!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not the service my father remembered, 24 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: National Service: From Aldershot to Aden: tales from the conscripts, 1946-62 (Hardcover)
Like others here I bought this book for my father for fathers day. He had been conscripted into National Service during the early 50's, serving in the Royal Artillery and stationed in Germany. He read the book from cover to cover and wasn't overly impressed. As other reviewers have mentioned the stories of the men featured do tend to put an overly rosy tint on what actually went on. Needless to say a book he was looking forward too reading was a let down, and not something he enjoyed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Very Boring, 19 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
No real stories, just short snapshots of National Service, not worth reading. I could write a better book than that on just my National Service
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars how National Service shaped the outlook of an entire generation -- for better or for worse, 20 Aug 2012
This review is from: National Service: From Aldershot to Aden: tales from the conscripts, 1946-62 (Hardcover)
To mark the fiftieth anniversary of the end of National Service, social historian Colin Schindler interviewed ex-conscripts from all social backgrounds and across all ranks, who tell in their own words how National Service shaped the outlook of an entire generation of young British men -- for better or for worse.

"It turned me from a boy to a man," recalls Geoff Rock, "if they could do that today there would be no kids hanging around on street corners"; the lasting legacy for Joe Trotter is that "it taught you how to look after yourself. And everyone still comments on how clean my shoes are"; but Joseph Strode is perhaps one of many who felt it was all just a waste of time when he concludes that "I can't say I enjoyed being in the army, but it stopped me being an idiot".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 27 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: National Service: From Aldershot to Aden: tales from the conscripts, 1946-62 (Hardcover)
Very good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars We happy few., 6 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
From the point of view of a National Serviceman in the RAF the stories are true to life and bring back many HAPPY memories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great present, 28 Dec 2013
This review is from: National Service: From Aldershot to Aden: tales from the conscripts, 1946-62 (Hardcover)
Was bought as an Xmas present for my dad who did National Service. He was very pleased, as it bought back lots of memories for him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bought for my husband, 21 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: National Service: From Aldershot to Aden: tales from the conscripts, 1946-62 (Hardcover)
My husband loves this book - he was a National Service man so it's a chance to relive 'awful' old times!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

National Service: From Aldershot to Aden: tales from the conscripts, 1946-62
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews