Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Harsh!
To start with the smallest of criticisms: this book is so lavishly produced that its title appears in silver letters. Unfortunately, the silver colour has a tendency to disappear from the cover and end up all over your hands...but maybe my copy was just hot off the press!

For those who have been fans of Armstrong and Miller since their Channel 4 days, this book...
Published on 5 Oct. 2010 by Dr. George L. Sik

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Buy the hardback
An excellent book, however do not buy this as a kindle download. The book is near impossible to read on the screen and very difficult to resize. A huge disappointment for what should be an excellent read. Hopefully this problem will be quickly sorted for download. I will buy a hard copy in the mean time.
Published on 9 Oct. 2010 by Laura


Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Harsh!, 5 Oct. 2010
By 
Dr. George L. Sik (Epsom, Surrey) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Armstrong and Miller Book (Hardcover)
To start with the smallest of criticisms: this book is so lavishly produced that its title appears in silver letters. Unfortunately, the silver colour has a tendency to disappear from the cover and end up all over your hands...but maybe my copy was just hot off the press!

For those who have been fans of Armstrong and Miller since their Channel 4 days, this book will come as the most indulgent of treats: hilariously written, exquisitely produced (the silver colouring aside) and packed bursting with detail. All your favourite characters are there including the RAF pilots whose lingo sounds suspiciously up-to-date, the accident prone historian Dennis Lincoln-Park, the unsettlingly frank divorced father and his son, and my favourites: Brabbins and Fyffe, Flanders and Swann cross-bred with the Macc Lads. There are a few faces I didn't recognise who I think will making their first appearances in the shortly-to-be-aired third BBC series and perhaps in their live stage show which will be touring very soon.

My laugh-out-loud pick of the crop has to be a series of restaurant menus which skewer the way these are currently written with surreal panache - and a painfully funny take on the branding of the 2012 Olympic Games.

All in all, everything you'd hope for from this talented pair (ably assisted by the League of Gentleman's Jeremy Dyson). Is it though?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not just for fans of the TV programme, 25 Nov. 2010
This review is from: The Armstrong and Miller Book (Hardcover)
My girlfriend has a disturbingly large crush on Alexander Armstrong, and so I bought this for her birthday in a desperate bid to make a joke of the situation, as an alternative to crying into my pillow in humiliation.

While I find the TV programme amusing in places, I'm by no means a committed fan, and so I must admit to having deep reservations about how the sketches would translate onto the printed page. However, I must say they've done a fantastic job. The book takes the form of an almanac, with all of the sketches having a number of different entries all in a style which fits the characters - for example, the farmers market charlatans are profiled in a magazine type piece, the vampires in need of love have entries on an online dating site and the chav-like RAF pilots have a Biggins-style cartoon strip.

The design is excellent throughout, and the thought that has gone into the presentation allows all the humour of the TV show to shine through, and as a spasmodic viewer I actually find the book funnier. As a result, the Armstrong and Miller book goes far beyond a novelty Christmas present, being a great supplement to the TV series for Armstrong and Miller fans and, while people who've never seen the show may struggle to recognise the characters, anyone who has a passing familiarity with it should get just as much enjoyment as anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'Absolutely Priceless', 25 Nov. 2010
By 
This review is from: The Armstrong and Miller Book (Hardcover)
Being a huge fan of A & M, thrilled to see this book full of their best characters and sketches, the accident prone Dennis Lincoln-Park, the very pc RAF pilots, a brilliantly funny skit on the upcoming Olympics, amazing illustrations throughout, just many of the delights on display here, very reminicent of the classic Monty Pyhton books of old.
As the previous reviewer said, such a beautifully produced tome shouldn't be reduced to the size of those hideously tiny Kindle screens, in fact that applies to all books, hope to god their won't be a whole generation who'll only know books in this form, would be a complete and utter crime.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very funny, and beautifully done., 7 Nov. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Armstrong and Miller Book (Hardcover)
I was hoping for new 'Pilots' material, and there was lots of it: several episodes of a boys' comic called 'Warmonger' where the Nazis speak in gothic script, with excellent illustration in a proper 40's/50's style, tweaked wartime posters, so well done that they look like the real thing. But there is a huge quantity of other great stuff; snobby estate agent ads, up-market tatoos, the Joy of Sex with fruit and vegetables, and bits from all their TV characters. it's large octavo, and 346 pages, so a very substantial piece of work. The photography, graphics and printing are of the highest quality, and it's on lovely paper. It's the ideas and writing which makes it worth reading, but its quality as a book makes it worth owning, too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It is though, isn't it though?, 18 Feb. 2011
This review is from: The Armstrong and Miller Book (Hardcover)
As a huge fan of Armstrong & Miller I absolutely loved this book. It's packed full of hilarious sketches and references to their show. All the recurring characters from the show appear at some point although some work much better in paper format than others. The cavemen 'Origins of' sketch appears once but (unsurprisingly) doesn't work as well as it does on TV while the Vampires have various pieces littered throughout the book, ranging from dating site pages to clothing adverts, which are all brilliant.
The book is also scattered with new material perfectly suited to the format; menus mocking the current trends in haute cuisine food naming, snobby estate agents particulars and advertisments for overpriced furniture.
While newcomers to Armstrong & Miller will probably enjoy this I would say that real fans will get the most out of it as there are a lot of in-jokes.
The quality of the book is excellent; nearly four hundred pages of top quality photos and everything is layed out excellently.
My one small complaint is that they didn't include the words to all the Brabbins & Fyffe songs (there are lyrics for four or five songs in there though which is nice).
Even once I'd read through the whole thing I kept finding little things that made me laugh; even the first page (the one with all the copyright info) is scattered with a commentary by one of the infamous Airmen and the acknowledgements at the end are written as a script for a play (and are one of my highlights of the book, absolutely brilliant)

If you enjoyed the TV series at all then I would thoroughly recommend this book, and if you haven't experienced Armstrong & Miller yet then this is as good a place as any to start.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Buy the hardback, 9 Oct. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An excellent book, however do not buy this as a kindle download. The book is near impossible to read on the screen and very difficult to resize. A huge disappointment for what should be an excellent read. Hopefully this problem will be quickly sorted for download. I will buy a hard copy in the mean time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 15 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Armstrong and Miller Book (Hardcover)
So much to look at due to the creative layout of the pages. Good for a rainy day on the sofa, or Christmas!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 20 Feb. 2011
This review is from: The Armstrong and Miller Book (Hardcover)
I love Armstrong and miller and this book was brilliant. The book also came on time so I am very happy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars not my style, 13 Mar. 2012
This review is from: The Armstrong and Miller Book (Hardcover)
Having never watched the TV series and reading the reviews I sent for this book.
Now I am not a prude and enjoy a good joke but this book was not for me and I would be
very embarrassed if any of my family/friends found it in my home.
With Alexander's background and talents I can't understand why he has to be involved
in this type of 'humour''.
So it has been returned for a refund.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Armstrong and Miller Book
The Armstrong and Miller Book by Ben Miller (Hardcover - 7 Oct. 2010)
£19.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews