Customer Reviews


218 Reviews
5 star:
 (102)
4 star:
 (45)
3 star:
 (27)
2 star:
 (26)
1 star:
 (18)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mr B .. you little tinker ....
Oh Mr Billingham .. you tempting little tinker, throwing your Thorne morsels around & then leaving us wondering & wanting more ... Well, read this and you'll understand that !! What a great story and the set-up of the book itself is superb .. short, sharp chapters all interspersed with e-mail's succeed in keeping the story moving & the blood flowing .. all the characters...
Published 18 months ago by JoParky56

versus
46 of 50 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Tricky one this...
From the outset I will say that I am a steadfast fan of Mr Billingham, having read all the books, having watched the excellent TV adaptations and yes I probably would buy the T-shirt, but overall I found this a curious and unsettling departure of style for him.

The story opens in Florida as three British couples find themselves implicated in the disappearance...
Published 23 months ago by Raven


‹ Previous | 1 2 322 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Bring Back Thorne, 26 Aug 2012
By 
T. Knowles "epd" (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rush of Blood (Hardcover)
I too am an avid fan of MB, especially the Thorne series but this is such a tragic departure from that engaging style that keeps you guessing, into a more 'Eastenders' type plot where you explore the dirty laundry of the 3 couples involved in he novel and all aspects of their dreary lives; none of which hold the interest. At chapter 59 it got vaguely interesting but by then only because I'd travelled so far (skipping huge dreary chunks) thatI needed to know whodunnit.
Dull, turgid and slow. BORING! If I want Eastenders/Coronation street, I'll watch them.
Please do not experiment again Mr Billingham, you have nearly driven off an ardent supporter with this drivel.
Bring back Thorne
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Oh dear .., 6 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rush of Blood (Kindle Edition)
I'm a big fan but this just a major disappointment, over written and totally predictable. Lots of filler in the first half, but things do pick up towards the end. Too many lightly drawn, redundant characters and the scenes set in America do not ring true at all, it doesn't feel like the author did any research on Florida apart from place names. The dialogue between the American characters is indistinguishable form that between the UK characters. Why bother setting scenes in America?

As the author acknowledges this book represents a step outside his comfort zone, which is laudable and may well pay dividends with future novels. Had this been a first novel by an unknown it would not have been published. If you are new to Billingham give this a wide berth, any of the Thorne books are well worth your time. I'll await the return of Thorne next summer, and in the meantime hope that Rebus will keep me good company in the Autumn.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Middle of the road., 6 Aug 2012
By 
Gareth Wilson - Falcata Times Blog "Falcata T... - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Rush of Blood (Hardcover)
I love a crime thriller and whilst this is the latest by Mark Billingham it feels more like a title that is lacking in a number of ways, firstly it splits into two plotlines, one set Stateside and the other in good old Blighty. What unfurls within is a tale that brings a lot of Mark's trademark styles to the fore, it has action, adventure and of course a good number of twists. Whilst this is normally the sort of tale that I love what niggled me more than anything else was that it felt more like a couple of short stories blended together to give a fuller plot with sadly the second part feeling very flat and sadly unfulfilling.

All in, whilst I do love the authors work, this one isn't anything that stands out against a whole host of other titles especially against his own. Its middle of the road and sadly that's where it'll sit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Come back Tom Thorne, all is forgiven, 25 Sep 2012
By 
jason (Aylesbury, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rush of Blood (Hardcover)
I've been a big fan for a number of years now, with each of Marks novels being fast-paced, unexpected and the kind of book you really don't want to put down. Each story has been better than the last, and each new novel hotly anticipated.

Sadly, this one wasn't one of those. It was long drawn-out and predictable. It was a complete departure from his normal style, an experiment I guess. How people can say this is his best novel I really cannot understand. Not impressed. Sorry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Boring, stupid ending - very implausible reason for murder, 11 July 2014
This review is from: Rush of Blood (Hardcover)
Really disliked this book. The reason for the murders was stupid to say the least - I knew who had done it way before the end - long, drawn out and quite frankly ridiculous - glad I got my copy from the Library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A thoroughly good entertainment, 7 July 2014
By 
C. Coote "'book addict'." (Wales.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rush of Blood (Kindle Edition)
I found this book to be engrossing and I read it in two sittings. The central characters - three couples who meet on holiday in Florida are unsympathetic with complex partnerships. The mystery is the disappearance of a young girl with learning difficulties from the motel all were staying at and the underlying question is whether any of them had a part in her disappearance. Back in the UK, a young trainee CID officer keen to make an impact, is charged with undertaking follow up interviews with the couples and carries out her duties with such focus that she irritates not only the interviewees but also the Florida policeman with whom she corresponds.
The couples meet for dinner in each others households, they don't really like each other and have little in common. Their shallowness of the friendships made on aentertainers exposed but until each couple has taken their turn to prepare a meal they cannot disengage. I admit that there were parts of the book which stretched credibility but the tension ratchets up to a surprising climax.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 2 July 2014
This review is from: Rush of Blood (Kindle Edition)
Great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, 1 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rush of Blood (Paperback)
I love Mark Billingham books & this was no exception gripping read from beginning to end, couldn't put it down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Gripping read, 27 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rush of Blood (Kindle Edition)
Great book, couldn't put it down from half way through. Excellent character building, each person seemed real.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 26 Jun 2014
This review is from: Rush of Blood (Paperback)
Excellent read, good twist at the end. Nice to see something other than your typical police/detective type novel.

Great writing from the author as always
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 322 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Rush of Blood
Rush of Blood by Mark Billingham (Hardcover - 2 Aug 2012)
14.47
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews