Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Unarmed and dangerous
Carl Hiaasen never runs out of satiric material when he mines the demographics of Florida, and this time around he's drawn a bead on Medicare scammers (the medical scooter), filthy restaurants, McMansion builders, retirees with too much money and too many houses and power boaters. Somewhere in the middle of this hilarious stew is the story of an Oklahoma school teacher...
Published on 12 July 2013 by Blue in Washington

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Is that it?
20% of book gone and I am still waiting for the humour and the plot hasn't really started yet either. This is my first Hiaasen book and I don't get why it is in the humour section. It's a light, throw away crime novel which I can't be bothered to finish. I don't hate it but it hasn't grabbed me either as a funny novel or as a crime novel - I don't care about the arm...
Published 2 months ago by N. Frary


‹ Previous | 15 6 711 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Dislike Product Placement, 24 Jun. 2013
This review is from: Bad Monkey (Hardcover)
I've read all of Hiaasen's adult novels and this one is not one of his best. As others have said it just about completes 2/3 of way way through and limps passed the line quite a while later.

Also one of my pet hates is product placement in books. Hiaasen must be pretty wealthy by now so why does he feel the need to accept product placements in his books. The Google Earth/Maps advert is really annoying. It's completely out of context and lasts for quite some time. You can see it's been shoe-horned in for no real purpose, other than to make him money. It's a bad job poorly done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hiaasen at his best again, 27 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bad Monkey (Kindle Edition)
The tale is unusual but entertainingly complicated, the events are unlikely but funny, the characters are charming but possibly dangerous. Yet another excellent view on what people will do to achieve their own ends. I would seriously recommend this to anyone and certainly to Hiaasen fans who thought he would only be writing about golf from now on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 13 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bad Monkey (Hardcover)
Great story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 1 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bad Monkey (Hardcover)
Great read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I loved it. It makes you both laugh and cry, 13 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bad Monkey (Paperback)
At last! Hiaasen is back on track. I loved it. It makes you both laugh and cry. Crying because he tells you a lot about corruption and the bad things we do to our environment, but in a way that makes you laugh out loud. I am already looking forward to reading it a second time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars an enjoyable read, 21 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bad Monkey (Kindle Edition)
The usual cast of misfits and weirdos made this another cracker. The 'bad monkey' of the title was a great new addition to Mr Hiaasen's cast of unusual and deranged characters and the ongoing battle between the main character and his hapless neighbour was very entertaining!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Welcome back Carl, 17 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bad Monkey (Kindle Edition)
I was delighted to see a new CH book which was not a re-print of previous newspaper articles. He is one of my favoriye authors and this one did not disappoint. A whole new cast of larger than life characters and the expected sparking dialogue.

Not to be missed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not his best work but worth a read, 11 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bad Monkey (Kindle Edition)
This isn't Hiaasen's best novel but it is an entertaining read and funny enough to keep you reading. If you're new to this author try his other books first. If you're already a fan this won't put you off but it's unlikely to become your favourite Hiaasen novel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Made me chuckle, 29 July 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bad Monkey (Kindle Edition)
Besides being funny (and I mean genuinely funny), this book was well constructed, well written, had a bit of tension; the main character was likeable; some of the others were hilarious; the story had a few twist. All in all I couldn't put it down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Weirdly funny but compelling, 31 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bad Monkey (Kindle Edition)
A strange mixture of detective and unusual humour. At times it jumps confusingly from one aspect of the story to another, however it would not have been easy to leave unread. Only for those with a broad mind and appreciation for the alternative.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 15 6 711 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bad Monkey
Bad Monkey by Carl Hiaasen (Hardcover - 11 Jun. 2013)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews