Customer Reviews


52 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (10)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pretty good
I loved the TV documentary / soap or whatever you call it so I was eager to buy this when it came out, and I'm glad I did. Long Way Down is the story of Charlie and Ewan travelling across Africa. It's a great accompaniment to the TV programme and successfully describes what they see, every bit as well as your eyes could if they watched it on TV.
The best thing about...
Published on 23 Oct. 2007 by Harry Parsons

versus
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Adventure? What adventure?
I do not want to compare LWR and LWD, although LWR was far more superior.

The first chapters, when they are in Europe, are not interesting at all. One should actually start reading the book from the chapter where they arrive in Tunisia. Still, the writing style throughout the book is not really compelling.

Then the so call 'adventure' is a farce. Two...
Published on 8 Jan. 2008 by M. Billon


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Adventure? What adventure?, 8 Jan. 2008
By 
M. Billon (France) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Long Way Down (Paperback)
I do not want to compare LWR and LWD, although LWR was far more superior.

The first chapters, when they are in Europe, are not interesting at all. One should actually start reading the book from the chapter where they arrive in Tunisia. Still, the writing style throughout the book is not really compelling.

Then the so call 'adventure' is a farce. Two support vehicles, one doctor, one ex-SAS... It really makes the African approach naive, and almost arrogant. But I think it's simply out of ignorance.

It's actually a pity for Ewan and Charley, because finding the life opportunity to cross the African continent on motorcycles is normally a great and unique adventure. But they've missed it totally for themselves and for their own memories to cherish.

So this book is not worth all the publicity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing sequel, 10 Nov. 2007
This review is from: Long Way Down (Hardcover)
I went straight out to buy this book, having really enjoyed Long Way Round and Race To Dakar. I wasn't necessarily expecting more of the same - I knew from the start that their ride through Africa would have a very different feel to Long Way Round. And unlike a lot of newspaper reviewers, I don't have a problem with the fact that they did a lot of work for 'charidee' along the way. But this book was still a disappointment. The account of the journey lacked any really coherence and I didn't feel by the end of the it that they had undertaken a great adventure in the same way that they had on their previous trip. The book also referred at several points to tension within the camp and that seemed to be reflected in an awkward writing style and succession of rather flat jokes. I'd struggle to recommend this to anyone, either a fan or someone new to the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Thoroughly Disappointing, 12 Nov. 2008
By 
This review is from: Long Way Down (Hardcover)
In contrast to their first adventure, the entire franchise has been entirely compromised by this incessant need to indulge Ewan's emotionally-challenged wife. Although Charley appeared to cope admirably with what transpired to be a truly bizarre set of circumstances, Ewan's persistent lack of spirit certainly detracts from this otherwise unique and quite remarkable journey. As Charley indubitably secures his reputation as both hardened-adventurer and well-balanced individual, I am loathed to conclude that a more suitable partner would have yielded greater enjoyment for both reader and rider alike.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing after the brilliant first..., 17 Nov. 2007
By 
D. Little (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Long Way Down (Hardcover)
Have just finished this and am extremely disappointed, as others have said before me.

It had absolutely none of the magic or adventure of Long Way Round, and seemed a truly half-hearted attempt at recording the journey.

Frustratingly, I cannot put my finger on the reason for this. But what came across occasionally was obvious tensions between the crew, which I suspect started with the decision for Ewan's wife to partake in part of the trip. I'm guessing this caused some friction between Ewan and Charlie and it has come across in the writing.

A real shame as it's something I was truly looking forward to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Long Way Down, 13 Feb. 2008
By 
Spider Monkey (UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Long Way Down (Hardcover)
Having loved the series of LWD I was hoping for good things from the book. I suppose after the lack lustre LWR book I should have know what to expect! This is sadly like the first book, slow paced, not especially descriptive, a touch dry and focusing more on the petty tensions and frustrations than the actual journey. Funnily enough you didn't get a feel for the tension from the TV series, but this book really focuses upon them. Charley has a habit of name dropping all the sponsors and equipment providers, which although I know they have to acknowledge, the body of the text isn't the best place to do so. One redeeming factor is the various colour plate sections which show the journey in quite a good light and the maps are up to a good standard also. It seems like a great adventure and the TV series showed that aspect really well, the book on the other hand is a little dry. Worth it if you're a big fan of the series, other wise you can give it a miss and not worry too much.

Feel free to check out my blog which can be found on my profile page.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't buy this book!, 1 Feb. 2009
By 
Mr. Guy D. Bromley (Edinburgh, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Long Way Down (Paperback)
This book is an extremely dull and unrevealing book that has no depth or thread to it at all. It is inelegantly written, and it is evident that Charley and Ewans' entries were written by the same ghost writer as the writing style doesn't differ. The book is also full of annoying product placement. The worst book I've read for quite some years! Buy it, and it will annoy you too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars An opportunity lost., 27 Nov. 2007
This review is from: Long Way Down (Hardcover)
It is obvious that both Charley and Ewan have spoken to the person writing this book and it is a literal account of what they did. They could have gone deeper into what they wanted to achieve etc. The thing is that a lot of people will watch the tv programme and then want to read the book. In fact what they will find is the programme in print. They had the space to expand on the adventure etc. They didn't

You get the feeling that instead, it is a cynical tie-in book that was rushed to print to cash in on the popularity of the tv programme.

I hope the boys will spend more time and effort next time round or down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Ghost written and self indulgent, 4 Jun. 2010
This review is from: Long Way Down (Paperback)
I think I read hardcore in this book a few times?

Hardcore? How is being pampered through your entire trip with free hotels free bikes and a shed load of money in anyway hardcore?

Mondo Enduro is much better than this drivel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Long way to go!, 11 Aug. 2009
This review is from: Long Way Down (Paperback)
Good book guys ,but.......... cut down on the bad language. Our English has better words that are less offensive that you can use.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars The Long Let Down..., 23 Sept. 2010
This review is from: Long Way Down (Hardcover)
I'm an optimist, so to me it seems that the popularity of Long Way Round forced the team into make some decisions that were driven by sponsorship rather than the story...

Pros...

More incredible scenary
Some great looking roads...
Some interesting sites visited
Interesting (albeit brief) preparations

Cons...

Poorly structured
Lack of story development
Ewan's wife (she shouldn't have had anything to do with this - sorry Ewan!). The friction with Ewan & Charly was evident throughout.
Tight time scales, covering too much ground far too quickly.
Too much coverage of support team...
...and on and on...

I appreciate that recording a documentary style production such as this requires that the camera record all manner of conversations/topics etc... however after the success of the first series, it seems like a lack of experience and a poor planning when it comes to the overall delivery. The production team should have scoped this out much more clearly.

All-in-all...simply nowhere near as good as LWR.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Long Way Down: The Illustrated Edition
Long Way Down: The Illustrated Edition by Charley Boorman (Hardcover - 4 Sept. 2008)
£25.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews