Customer Reviews


111 Reviews
5 star:
 (59)
4 star:
 (32)
3 star:
 (14)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars You don't have to 'believe' to enjoy this tale
Reading this book and knowing the author's beliefs is a little like discovering C. S. Lewis's meaning behind the Narnia books. They work well as novels, with interesting characters and plots, magic realism and whimsy, until you discover that actually, it could all be proselytising. That's not to say they aren't enjoyable.

I've enjoyed Mitch Albom's books...
Published 12 months ago by K. J. Noyes

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Can People Phone from Heaven
I feel that it was not his best novel, but a good read
Published 5 months ago by Richard Andrew Harland


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Beautifully written, 28 Aug 2014
This review is from: The First Phone Call From Heaven (Hardcover)
Great concept, beautifully written. Might have been written for the 'believers' - I enjoyed it nonetheless. Will find other books now by the author and read. Give it a try.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars FAB - U - LOUS, 6 Dec 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As alway's this guy's books are great, couldn't put it down.
By reading this book I'm looking forward to go to Heaven ( not just yet I hope ).
Fabulous
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A good read, 30 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I enjoyed this book... but it's not a patch on the first phone call from heaven! Would be a good holiday read, short chapters and an engaging storyline
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An unexpected story full of suspense. A must read., 22 Mar 2014
By 
What was interesting for me reading this book was that I very nearly hated one of the main characters - Katherine Yellin for the majority of the story, and yet I could not put it down.

The story itself is enthralling and poses a question that demands an answer. I felt a lot like the grieving pessimistic Sully at points: I needed to know the truth and couldn't rest until I did. The First Phone Call is a very interesting look into the human psyche while surrounded by the 'supernatural' and gives the reader a fascinating comparison of the Christian Church and 21st century media and technology.

Mitch Albom is an amazing writer who really makes you think and pulls at your heart strings like no other - he broke my heart with one beautifully placed "never".

I truly cannot recommend this story or this author enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My Faith was touched, 15 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Mitch has been a favourite since I read The Timekeeper a year ago. The way he explores issues of the faith touches my heart in strange places and affects my perspective. I believe everyone should read this book, believer and non-believers. It teaches us about Heaven and what Faith truly is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another good book from Mitch Albom, 5 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A must read book, yet another brilliant book from a wonderful author. Definitely hard to put down, and an insight into hope and belief.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not a classic, 6 Dec 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have read all of Mitch Albom's books and love his moral tales that really get you thinking. I didn't enjoy his one as much though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars first phonecall from heaven, 29 Aug 2014
By 
E. Dixon (Burnley.U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The First Phone Call From Heaven (Hardcover)
I enjoyed this book very much.
The author Mitch Albom is one of my favourites and this keeps up his usual standard.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Kept me hooked from start to end, 15 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I was hooked from the minute I read the first line. A book with meaning and much more than just about the phone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Simply wonderful thank you., 28 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
like all of the authors other books they take you to a place where you feel that maybe it could happen .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The First Phone Call From Heaven
The First Phone Call From Heaven by Mitch Albom (Hardcover - 12 Nov 2013)
£10.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews