Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Stratton Adventure So Far
I've read all the Stratton novels and this is definitely the best yet. The suspense, dialogue and sense of adventure all add up to a brilliant read. Stratton is fast becoming my favourite hero, surpassing James Bond. Duncan Falconer again manages to include many humerous incidents which help make this book such an all-round literary experience. The books of Andy McNab...
Published on 7 July 2009 by Ellen Yates

versus
12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Thriller with depth (3.5 stars)
The author's previous novel was a weaker effort but here he does an excellent job.

British Special Forces soldier Stratton is sent in to give advice to some rebels in a small South American country only to find himself caught up in sub plots and politics that spiral out of control. Set in the jungle the author does not go for non stop action, but sets up the...
Published on 28 Jun 2009 by Nick Brett


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Thriller with depth (3.5 stars), 28 Jun 2009
By 
Nick Brett (Wiltshire, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Mercenary: 5 (John Stratton) (Hardcover)
The author's previous novel was a weaker effort but here he does an excellent job.

British Special Forces soldier Stratton is sent in to give advice to some rebels in a small South American country only to find himself caught up in sub plots and politics that spiral out of control. Set in the jungle the author does not go for non stop action, but sets up the background and the characters so you care for all of them and about what happens to them. There is action of course but it is appropriate to a proper plot and build up. There are one or two small plot holes (such as why use a Brit and a CIA operative that is a little too over the top) but this moves with pace and is a real page turner.
For those who like McNab and Chris Ryan, this is easily as good and adds to the reputation of the author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Stratton Adventure So Far, 7 July 2009
By 
This review is from: Mercenary: 5 (John Stratton) (Hardcover)
I've read all the Stratton novels and this is definitely the best yet. The suspense, dialogue and sense of adventure all add up to a brilliant read. Stratton is fast becoming my favourite hero, surpassing James Bond. Duncan Falconer again manages to include many humerous incidents which help make this book such an all-round literary experience. The books of Andy McNab and Chris Ryan are nowhere near such textured and satisfying reads.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Mercenary-Brilliant, 3 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Absolutely brilliantly written, I didn't want to put it down. Duncan Falconer is clearly a very talented writer.
If you want good adventure stories look no further. In my opinion he's better than McNab and easily equal to Chris Ryan
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good book, 13 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Well written and presented will read more of this authors books very good indeed

Downloading another right away

Thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars mercenary ,Duncan Falconer., 10 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Have downloaded all the Stratton books, this is the best so far. Love all the books in series and recommend downloading a sample.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars D. Falconer, 19 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Read a few of these novels not as good as some SAS novelists but still entertaining needs to be a bit more explicit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very Good, 5 Mar 2013
By 
A. C. Nelson "Silverado" (Spain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A throughly good read. Lots of action and suspense. I couldn't put it down and read it in two days.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars John Stratton, 14 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Brilliant, slightly different to what I expected but action and intrigue from cover to cover. John Stratton can always be relied upon to produce the goods - his books are never disapointing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Mercenary (Stratton 5), 23 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is an excellent book, a must read and allow time as you will not be able to put it down ..Service from Kindle is always efficient
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars good holiday read if you like this type of book, 28 April 2011
I can see why this is compared to McNab, but their styles are completely different; I found this slightly more enjoyable as it he doesn't take you on a step by step walk through of every operation as if a training manual. The plot is flimsy but engaging and perfect for lying on a beach or sitting on a plane. 3 stars because I would pick up another of his books if I stumbled across one.

My pet hate about this book is the fact that the cover picture has nothing to do with the story - wrong weapon, wrong mode of insertion. The publishers should get a grip and either put a picture of a rebel in the jungle or make up an abstract drawing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mercenary: 5 (John Stratton)
Mercenary: 5 (John Stratton) by Duncan Falconer (Hardcover - 25 Jun 2009)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews