Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great holiday read.
Cream teas....etc. is a really informative, interesting and incredibly funny book. It evokes memories, of past holidays; the highs and lows of getting there, and surviving. Brian Viner is an entertaining writer, and makes even the most mundane facts, interesting by his personal anecdotes...and those of friends and family. The book revived memories of long forgotten...
Published on 30 Jun 2011 by P Gregory

versus
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing
Have read all of Brian Viner's previous books, all very good, in fact "Ali, Pele, Lillee & Me" is among one of the best books I have ever read, however this book just grated with me. There are some good bits, but a lot of it came across as annoying. It seemed that there were unnecessary sneering at people if you come from a certain place, Kettering, Kidderminster, Horsham...
Published on 4 Sep 2011 by M. Reynolds


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great holiday read., 30 Jun 2011
Cream teas....etc. is a really informative, interesting and incredibly funny book. It evokes memories, of past holidays; the highs and lows of getting there, and surviving. Brian Viner is an entertaining writer, and makes even the most mundane facts, interesting by his personal anecdotes...and those of friends and family. The book revived memories of long forgotten holiday incidents, some enjoyable, some devastating. A memorable read, worthy of 'dipping into' for years to come. Will recommend to my Reading Group.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What an Entertaining Read, 30 Nov 2011
This was my first Brian Viner offering and what an entertaining and informative book it was. I honestly never thought that I would find an author that would make me laugh out loud, in the way Bill Bryson has over the years, but Brian Viner certainly did. I have read this book in the USA and found it refreshing that the author chose not to jump on the bandwagon in bashing America, or indeed Americans, except where justly deserved and furthermore, affording similar treatment to Great Britain and its inhabitants. So in a nutshell, if you are a seasoned traveller, who likes to relate to many of the scenarios and also to be informed of areas you don't, you will love this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great read!, 12 Aug 2011
I thoroughly enjoy Brian's column and really liked his earlier books. This one combines interesting history with lots of fun stories along the way. If you like Bill Bryson, you'll like this. Thanks Brian!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An amusing look at the great British holiday, 20 Jun 2011
By 
Bantam Dave (Bradford, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Brian Viner must be one of the most entertaining writers around at the moment. It doesn't matter whether he is writing about TV, football or even about his home life in Herefordshire every one of his books have been a pleasure to read. He is one of the writers that I most look forward to reading and his latest book, Cream Teas, Traffic Jams & Sunburn, didn't disappoint in the slightest.

In this book he turns his attention to the Great British Holiday, investigating how they started and how they have developed, the many diverse type of holidays that we now can choose from and the people we can thank for this. He does all this in a manner which as well as being very informative is also very funny, because his text is peppered with some excellent anecdotes about his or his acquaintances experiences whilst holidaying. For example I loved the tale about the couple searching for Knickety Knackety Street whilst visiting York when they should have been looking for the equally unusually named Whipmawhopmagate.

I also enjoyed reading about the heroes of the British holiday, which feature well known names like Billy Butlin, Freddie Laker, Richard Branston and Charles Forte but also include long forgotten but equally important people like Sir John Lubbock, whose Act of Parliament introduced the bank holiday, Vladimar Raitz, who pioneered the package holiday and the unlikely sounding Gerard Blitz, who came up with the idea of the all inclusive holiday resort. As well as these though, there are some other people included that you wouldn't usually associate with the holidays; people like the executed war-time traitor Lord Haw-Haw and even Hitler himself.

This is a fairly comprehensive look at holidays as there are sections about most of the many different types of holiday that people enjoy nowadays, from the old fashioned sea-side holiday to cruises, naturist holidays or spa breaks although there is one surprising omission - that OAP's favourite, the coach tour. I was a by little disappointed with this as I was hoping to find out if Wallace Arnold was the pipe smoking, retired bank manager that I have always pictured him to be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 4 Sep 2011
Have read all of Brian Viner's previous books, all very good, in fact "Ali, Pele, Lillee & Me" is among one of the best books I have ever read, however this book just grated with me. There are some good bits, but a lot of it came across as annoying. It seemed that there were unnecessary sneering at people if you come from a certain place, Kettering, Kidderminster, Horsham & Southend spring to mind. The story about the friend who turned up at the airport with 3 out of date children's passports but were not allowed to board the flights was blamed on the smug check in desk girl, the references to the lawyers, stockbrokers & captains of industry who frequent the beaches where he holidayed for 10 years & the university reunions after dinner party pieces stories just came across as irritating. I would recommend borrowing the book from the library rather than buying. Am hoping this book is a blip and the next one sees a return to previous excellent form
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect Present, 2 Nov 2011
A friend bought this book for me, knowing that I was already a big fan of Brian Viner's writing. It's a wonderful read, as I'd expect - funny, engaging and informative. Brian Viner uses his own experiences - and those of a variety of friends and family members - to explore the subject, and along the way digs up some fascinating facts about the iconic names and places of the holiday industry. For anyone who's ever huddled in the lee of a windbreak on a British beach, looking anxiously at the sky for signs of a break in the clouds, this is the perfect read. It made me nostalgic for the simple holidays of childhood. Excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good, well worth a read, 26 Oct 2012
A book about the Great British Holiday and the Great British on holiday.

For all those who have battled with putting a tent up in a howling gales and rain in August or have been stuck behind caravans, or moaned about the towels left behind by Germans, this is the book for you.

Viner touches on lots of different subjects, not always in depth, but enough to get a flavour. It is very, very funny in parts, so much so that I did laugh out loud at some parts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Holiday Reading, 1 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is a good laugh and a must for anyone who enjoys going on holiday and traveling.
A very good book to take away with you.
Light hearted and not to be taken too seriously but also rings true.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A riveting holiday read., 11 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I re purchased this book recently, as I lent my own copy to a 'friend,' and havent seen it since. That's how good it is!

Cream Teas, is a wonderful read and covers all aspects of the British on holiday,in this country and sometimes abroad. Its written in Brian Viner's engaging style, with humour, pathos and some wonderful descriptions which evoked memories for me and my friends. I have heard that the author received the acclaimed award for the best narrative travel book of 2011! I'm not at all surprised.!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Packed with Great Brirish Holiday Stories in UK and Everywhere Else..., 29 Aug 2011
By 
Really enjoyed this book. Full of personal stories - you couldn't make them up...! Very funny and a great read - Brian Viner really gets it - the British on Holiday!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Cream Teas, Traffic Jams and Sunburn: The Great British Holiday
£6.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews