Customer Reviews


43 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Witty and entertaining
This is a short book, don't expect an encycopedia length biography to send you to sleep on the train, and at times it does read a little like the transcript of her one woman show, which it is based on, rather than a book in its own right. But, that said, Carrie's writing is incisive and funny and if only half the stories were true she would have had an astounding life. I...
Published on 2 Jan. 2009 by F. Scott

versus
10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars When can we have the full memoir?
What a life Carrie Fisher has had! Unfortunately we don't get enough of it in this slim memoir, adapted from her one-woman show. I got the feeling that the book was only an edited transcript with added photos, and not adding much to the show's material. Maybe it was too soon after her ECT which has played tricks with her memory - if she were to write a full memoir a few...
Published on 4 Jan. 2009 by Annabel Gaskell


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars When can we have the full memoir?, 4 Jan. 2009
By 
Annabel Gaskell "gaskella2" (Nr Oxford, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Wishful Drinking (Hardcover)
What a life Carrie Fisher has had! Unfortunately we don't get enough of it in this slim memoir, adapted from her one-woman show. I got the feeling that the book was only an edited transcript with added photos, and not adding much to the show's material. Maybe it was too soon after her ECT which has played tricks with her memory - if she were to write a full memoir a few years hence, it would surely be a different proposition. Short as it was, I did enjoy it though. You definitely feel sisterly towards her and want her to be your friend after reading it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Witty and entertaining, 2 Jan. 2009
By 
F. Scott "Himawari" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Wishful Drinking (Hardcover)
This is a short book, don't expect an encycopedia length biography to send you to sleep on the train, and at times it does read a little like the transcript of her one woman show, which it is based on, rather than a book in its own right. But, that said, Carrie's writing is incisive and funny and if only half the stories were true she would have had an astounding life. I most enjoyed the anecdotes about her mother, star of one of my favourite movies ever, and the way in which she clearly gets battier as she ages. Their altercations may have hollywood granduer as their backdrop but, in essence, are little different than the frustrations that come with loving someone and find them intensely irritating in the same moment. I love Carrie Fisher and really enjoyed reading this, even if I finished it in an afternoon rather than the longer book I expected.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable read, 16 Jan. 2014
By 
Bacchus (Greater London - Surrey) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Wishful Drinking (Paperback)
I purchased this book having watched reruns of the entire Star Wars saga on TV over Christmas and having watched Carrie Fisher's One Woman Show of the same name as this book.

This is unusual among showbiz memoirs because there is not that much showbiz gossip [unless you consider revealing that George W Bush can fart at will or receiving strange random telephone calls from Bob Dylan count as showbiz gossip]or even description of the writer's successes and work. Instead you get an often hilarious account of growing up in a Hollywood goldfish bowl in which most of your acquaintances are in the movies or other branches of show business in some way. You also get a lighthearted account of being Princess Leia, not just in the movies themselves but in everyone's consciousness, especially for of scifi nerds.

But the other aspects of the book are the dysfunctional relationships everyone has around her and her substance abuse, alcoholism and bipolar disorder. The reality of these must have been terrible but Carrie Fisher's self-deprecating humour lightens up these terrible episodes and ultimately evokes sympathy rather than pity or any other emotion.

I think the live show was better but I am glad to have read the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Funny little book containing Carrie Fisher's VERSION of events and people in her life., 9 Dec. 2012
By 
Jon (Havdrup, Denmark) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wishful Drinking (Paperback)
While Fisher is very honest about her own struggle with addiction and bipolar disorder, including her ECT treatments, her description of other people, primarily her family and ex-boyfriends/husbands, seem a bit selfrightious, and "look at me, I am Carrie Fisher AKA Princess Leia.

Also there are far too MANY jokes, or attempts at jokes, in this book. Almost every other line (truthfully) is meant to be some sort of joke. Usually on some else's behalf.
In the end this, this "so honest book - devoid of selfpity self bio, and so on", becomes somewhat biased and almost "manic" in the end. But the again Fisher makes no attempt at hidding she is "crazy", quite the opposite.

Fisher actually gives the impression that she is sorry for being in the Star Wars movies. But when all and said and done, who would know her - and buy this book - if not for Star Wars. Which Fisher mentions herself in the book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Alcohol, Debbie Reynolds, Cary Grant, manic depression and THAT hairstyle..., 16 May 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wishful Drinking (Paperback)
This is definitely what I'd call a sketchy book. Sketchy because it is adapted from Fisher's one-woman show, flitting to and fro between various areas of her life and events in her past. Sketchy in that her ECT treatments have undoubtedly damaged her memory and therefore many of the details that might otherwise have been included in an autobiographical book have been lost. And sketchy in that in true bipolar style, her prose veers from insightful genius to a little incomprehensible and back again.

That being said, I really enjoyed it! I could almost hear Fisher recounting her anecdotes, deadpanning at every comic twist, offering up each tidbit of her life with a bittersweet kind of relish. I didn't really know anything about her other than that she played Princess Leia, grew up into the actress I'd seen in When Harry Met Sally [DVD] [1989] and Undiscovered [DVD], and was severely manic depressive, so for me it was an interesting read. She covers everything from her alcoholism to her relationship with her beautiful but decidedly unconventional mother; from the trend in her family for multiple marriages to the inescapable legacy of the Star Wars movies. She is irreverent, self-deprecating and has a refreshing voice that simultaneously pays tribute to and breaks down the illusion of Hollywood glamour thrown up by her glittering background. I'll be eagerly awaiting the release of Shockaholic at the end of 2011!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A short but hilarious conversation with a wicked wit, 11 Mar. 2013
By 
Sarah Durston (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Wishful Drinking (Paperback)
I have to admit that I had assumed this would be a complete autobiography and hadn't particularly paid attention to their only being 120 pages. In her introduction Fisher explains that she has written down these anecdotes from her life whilst trying to recover memories after having ECT treatment!

What follows is hilarious; a rambling monologue of some truly bizarre life experiences. These include; the addiction advice she received from Cary Grant, waking up to find her friend dead in the bed next to her, a very strange marriage proposal, a couple of little anecdotes from Star Wars and her relationships with her mother, father and daughter. She also warns that time spent with her can turn you both bald and gay!

I'm sure there are some die hard Star Wars fans who will be disappointed by the lack of information about her time on the film, but I loved this book. Fisher has a very Jewish and caustic sense of humour, not unlike Joan Rivers and she was great company!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the most funny/moving biographies ever written, 22 Jan. 2010
By 
C. Zapponi (Rome, Italy.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Wishful Drinking (Paperback)
All of Carrie Fisher books are someway her biography, but this one is in the most sincere, sraight to the point, personal and original way. She's not only witty and smart, telling us about her childhood dreams and misfortunes, her unexpected and life-long transformation into the main (and ONLY!) female character of the most famous space-saga of all times. She claims for recognition, as someone who "survived" (though she does not like this word) Princess Leia's myth and curse, drug addiction, mental illness, two overly famous parents, and many other events she is eager to tell with her unique sense of humour and a soft melancholy which makes everything even more intense. She turned her life into a Show, and the Show into this book. Reading it, feels like spending a few hours with a friend who's not ashamed to tell her secrets, but does it with great style and a sort of painful pride to be finally able to be -just- herself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A short but hilarious conversation with a wicked wit, 11 Mar. 2013
By 
Sarah Durston (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wishful Drinking (Kindle Edition)
I have to admit that I had assumed this would be a complete autobiography and hadn't particularly paid attention to their only being 120 pages. In her introduction Fisher explains that she has written down these anecdotes from her life whilst trying to recover memories after having ECT treatment!

What follows is hilarious; a rambling monologue of some truly bizarre life experiences. These include; the addiction advice she received from Cary Grant, waking up to find her friend dead in the bed next to her, a very strange marriage proposal, a couple of little anecdotes from Star Wars and her relationships with her mother, father and daughter. She also warns that time spent with her can turn you both bald and gay!

I'm sure there are some die hard Star Wars fans who will be disappointed by the lack of information about her time on the film, but I loved this book. Fisher has a very Jewish and caustic sense of humour, not unlike Joan Rivers and she was great company!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wishful drinking, 27 Aug. 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wishful Drinking (Hardcover)
I liked the book very much. Ms Fisher went through a lot but, though, her life's journey took her through a lot of dire straits, she managed to come through and stay alive. As I, always, say to all the setbacks I encounter: Darn!!! Well, carry on living, regardless!! The Starwars saga is #1 capo d'opera in my heart and mind and #2 on the my list of best movies ever, after "Harakiri" by Masaki Kobayashi ( I am 12 years Ms Fisher's senior, however, born in the year of the monkey, like her. Monkeys are positive thinkers and in most cases bounce back. That's why I take this opportunity to wish her all the best in her future.) She will be immortal in these movies (Starwars)and leaves a legacy in her daughter: this means a lot. I am a big fan of hers and her mother, Ms Reynolds.

Ileana Eliza Paunica
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting, 4 Nov. 2009
This review is from: Wishful Drinking (Paperback)
Amusing, interesting and works best if you imagine Carrie Fisher is sitting in front of you actually reading this aloud, as it's based on her one-woman show of the same name. I can imagine this working better as an audio-book narrated by the author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Wishful Drinking
Wishful Drinking by Carrie Fisher (Paperback - 1 Jun. 2009)
£7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews