Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great book
This is an extremely well written, straightforward book on the world of exorcism. It's not a silly book that is out to scare people.

The story is told through the eyes of a Catholic priest, Fr. Gary Thomas, who travels to Rome to become an exorcist, and the experiences he has form the backbone of this book. Woven into this narrative are stories and testimonies...
Published on 1 July 2009 by Sara

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Insight into a mysterious world
This book follows the 'training' of an exorcist in Rome.

The book is well written and gives a view into the world of exorcism. It even considers the interplay of exorcism and psychiatric disorders. Some of the events described here are inexplicable. Unlike sensationalist films such as The Exorcist or The Omen, this book is far more down to earth...
Published on 6 Dec. 2009 by Mr X


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great book, 1 July 2009
By 
Sara (Los Angeles) - See all my reviews
This is an extremely well written, straightforward book on the world of exorcism. It's not a silly book that is out to scare people.

The story is told through the eyes of a Catholic priest, Fr. Gary Thomas, who travels to Rome to become an exorcist, and the experiences he has form the backbone of this book. Woven into this narrative are stories and testimonies by other exorcists and the official teachings of the Catholic Church on things like angels and demons.

I've read other books on the subject but none really come this close to capturing the thoughts, feelings, and emotions of an exorcist as he performs his ministry.

In addition, this isn't a book written by a priest who is already a 'believer' and so is out to preach. Instead, because he is a journalist, Baglio does a great job of asking the tough questions that no other exorcism book tackles, debunking several notions about exorcism and demonic possession in the process. The book also includes several testimonies by victims and psychiatrists who work with exorcists and is very well balanced.

So many books come at this subject with a preconceived bias and I found it refreshing that this one didn't. The majority of the source material comes directly from interviews with exorcists and the author interviews psychiatrists, anthropologists and even physicists to try to understand the truth about demonic possession.

At its heart, this is an uplifting story of a priest who discovers firsthand the power of prayer and the notion that even though evil exists, good will ultimately triumph. A fascinating read and one I would recommend to everyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Insight into a mysterious world, 6 Dec. 2009
This book follows the 'training' of an exorcist in Rome.

The book is well written and gives a view into the world of exorcism. It even considers the interplay of exorcism and psychiatric disorders. Some of the events described here are inexplicable. Unlike sensationalist films such as The Exorcist or The Omen, this book is far more down to earth.

The only negative point about the book is that I felt something was missing. It is hard to describe what the problem is but I finished the book with the impression that the author had only scratched the surface of his subject matter. Nevertheless still a worthwhile read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fresh look at a disturbing topic, 17 Feb. 2010
By 
I found this book gripping and thought-provoking. It's very well-written and an easy read. I know what the other reviewers mean about something missing, as the story ends just as the main protagonist is starting his ministry back in the USA - I could see a sequel in a few years. Nevertheless, given it's on a topic about which there's a lot of sensationalistic rubbish in circulation, in my view this book strikes the right balance between "unquestioning credulity" on the one hand and "refusal-to-even-consider-evidence-that-doesn't-fit-a-positivist-prejudice" on the other. And when all's said and done, it kept my interest throughout - a proper page-turner. Recommended reading for the open-minded; though I'm sure Ditchkins wouldn't enjoy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good to know he was a sceptic, 27 Aug. 2009
Written in a slightly fictional style, the book gives a journalists's account of a year in the life of an American priest, who had been (reluctantly on the priest's part, as he had never encountered a need for exorcism despite years of Catholic ministry) nominated by his Bishop to undertake Exorcist training at a college in Rome. It is good to see things through the priest's eyes as we journey with him from disbelief to acceptance of demonic activity. The description of the sincere, tireless dedication of the mentor Exorcist in this exhausting and tedious ministry is truly humbling. Contrary to the popular image of an Exorcist as a powerful figure, humiliation is the lot of an Exorcist both from sceptical colleagues and demonic entities, but in the end, it is this very humility that gives Exorcists the edge over forces whose downfall was pride, allowing Exorcists to be a channel of God's grace, power and healing. Although I knew very little about the work of an Exorcist when beginning the book, I finished it thanking God that I am a member of a Church that takes this ministry seriously enough, to appoint properly trained Exorcists in every diocese.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars New Working Tool for Deliverance Ministry, 4 July 2011
By 
This review is from: The Rite: The Making of a Modern Day Exorcist (Paperback)
This boook gives an excellent picture of the current formal and in-service training of an exorcist, incidentally and quite unintentionally highlighting the deficiencies in each. Anyone engaged in deliverance work could give this book to friends and family to give them a clearer picture of what their leved one is actually involved in, to inform their prayer and support. However, like any published work, it fillets out the more boring aspects and readers must understand that life is not lived nor work undertaken on a perpetual "high" as the book might appear to suggest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars between two stools., 21 May 2011
By 
emperors servant (hive world verghast) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Rite: The Making of a Modern Day Exorcist (Paperback)
Not a bad book. It was not sensational or spooky enough to be at the entertainment end of the spectrum. I struggle to imagine how they made a movie out of it. On the other hand, it was lacking any real depth as an academic examination of the topic. It is written like an extended newspaper investigation, which I suppose is exactly what it was. Worth a read nevertheless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars More miss than hit, 30 July 2010
By 
Gareth Wilson - Falcata Times Blog "Falcata T... - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
As a fan of unusual titles, I was fascinated by the chance to see how a modern exorcism was conducted by the church of today. That said, whilst the subject matter was fascinating the authors interpretation and overall depiction of events of today was sadly lacking, there was no passion, it was pretty standard writing and was just written as basic facts so inevitably was pretty boring. Add to the mix that the various events within this title felt more like the people involved were using religious matters to hide mental illness and its sadly a title that's more miss than hit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great read, 2 Aug. 2014
This review is from: The Rite: The Making of a Modern Day Exorcist (Paperback)
A very intruding and realistic portrayal of a catholic priests training in exorcism. Told in a narrative form, rather than in a dry technical way, making it vey readable and intriguing. I recommended this book to several friends, who also enjoyed it. A must read for anyone interested in the reality of exorcism and demons amongst us
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Even better than the movie, 4 April 2014
By 
Amazon Customer (Denver, Co United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rite: The Making of a Modern Day Exorcist (Paperback)
The movie, even if from my personal point of view was fantastic, was just aimed to "have fun" and could mislead you to some wrong ideas or concepts. The book is a serious research about the demonic possession an exorcism with an extensive bibliography supporting it. I was expecting a novel and I read a very well conducted and written journalist work... I was pleasingly surprised!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars interesting, 9 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rite: The Making of a Modern Day Exorcist (Paperback)
I was very interested in some of the points raised could be hard going at times but overall probably makes you question things in a new way
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Rite: The Making of a Modern Day Exorcist
The Rite: The Making of a Modern Day Exorcist by Matt Baglio (Paperback - 1 April 2010)
£7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews