Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tower of Silence
I've read quite a few of Sarah Rayne's works, and they are all generally thrilling and enjoyable reads. So I looked forward to this book.

This is quite a long book, nearly 500 pages, so there's plenty of time to get right into the story and characters, and it's a story that takes place over quite an extended period of time. Mary Maskelyne, who killed her...
Published 13 months ago by Keen Reader

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars tower of silence
I wasn't too keen on this but it is only the 2nd of her books that i have read so perhaps others are better
Published 16 months ago by S. M. Thompson


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tower of Silence, 23 Jun 2013
By 
Keen Reader "lhendry4" (Auckland, New Zealand) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Tower of Silence (Paperback)
I've read quite a few of Sarah Rayne's works, and they are all generally thrilling and enjoyable reads. So I looked forward to this book.

This is quite a long book, nearly 500 pages, so there's plenty of time to get right into the story and characters, and it's a story that takes place over quite an extended period of time. Mary Maskelyne, who killed her parents in the 1960s has been moved to the facility of Moy in Inchcape. Selina March, who has lived in Inchcape since the 1940s after her parents were murdered in an uprising in India, has decided to earn a bit of extra income by letting out rooms for a bed and breakfast. And Joanna Savile wants to come and stay there to get atmosphere for her new novel, which will also include background on facilities such as Moy. Hovering over Inchcape is an old monastic Round Tower, centuries old, which lends a malevolent atmosphere to the neighbourhood.

What's so great about this novel is not only the storyline which I found particularly clever and intriguing, but the utterly horrifyingly awful things that were going on at times in the story. If it's true that you can never really know what's going on inside people's minds, then reading this story would seem to confirm it.

This is a great story by Sarah Rayne; I found it more horrifying and scarier than some of her other books, and the characterisation and storyline were really enthralling. I powered through this book in one day, utterly engrossed. Totally recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly recommended, 10 Nov 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Tower of Silence (Paperback)
A stunningly atmospheric book that grips the imagination long after reading. All characters are wonderfully developed, the emotions frighteningly palpable and the settings are beautifully crafted and darkly realistic.
The most psychologically disturbing book I have read.
I can`t wait for her next book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another good one by Rayne, 11 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tower of Silence (Paperback)
Another scorcher by Sarah Raynew! Great psycho author however she does tend to flit between past and present in her books and I know some people find this frustrating, but her books are high pace and will keep you hooked from cover to cover
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very chilling, 8 Dec 2008
By 
JM (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I adore this author's books, they are so cleverly put together with all the different threads from different periods in time coming together at the end. This one I felt, had the most exciting present day climax out of all the ones I've read(not read Spiderlight yet), it was very tense with the killers loose in the tower. And what happened in India was horrific, it makes your skin crawl to think of what the children went through, especially when they were hiding in the tower.
I was almost put off by another review of this book which said you need a strong stomach to read it, well I am very squeamish and I coped, there are some unpleasant bits but they're not very graphic so it's not really gruesome.
BUT, although it's still a wonderful read and definitely a 5 star book, I didn't think it was her best one. Don't let that put you off though, if you have never read Sarah Rayne before, give yourself a treat with any of her books, they are all fantastic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A terrific thriller, 20 Oct 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Tower of Silence (Paperback)
Sarah Rayne has written a thriller with echoes of Minette Waters, and I can't give much higher praise. The past affects the present in a number of ways, and her characters zing off the page. There is a real sense of unease, and almost horror, as the denouement approaches.
A great read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sarah rayne takes you on a nightmare journey,then wraps everything up neatly, 20 Aug 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have read 3 of rayne`s books now and have enjoyed them all. This particular book involves murder of the absolute worst kind - including torture - and you will need a strong stomach to get through it. There are ghosts lurking around that will send little shivers up your spine. And the language is atrocious. Yes this book has everything - if you can take it ! The one thing i don`t like about rayne`s books is how she always takes `the easy way out.` She links everything up nicely at the end and the `heros` always end up in a nice cosy sitting room, enjoying a lovely meal, drinking wine by the fire, and discussing details of `the crime` - just in case WE missed anything. Her plots are so outlandish i even laughed out loud at a very `edge of your seat moment` - i couldn`t help it - "THERE WAS A BAD MOMENT WHEN EMILY THOUGHT I CAN`T POSSIBLY COPE WITH ALL THIS - I CAN`T COPE WITH SELINA AND MARY,AND WITH KRYSTOF INJURED AND WITH JOANNA CHAINED UP..`
lol.
I don`t know what it is about this writer but she just makes you coming back for more....and more.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 4 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tower of Silence (Paperback)
Excellent, one of her best!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Cracking Read, 16 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tower of Silence (Kindle Edition)
I've read several of Sarah Rayne's books and have enjoyed them all. This one is about the best I've read yet. Fast paced, creepy and slightly disturbing the story is never less than totally absorbing.
A great author who deserves to be in the best sellers list every time. Check this one out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Madness through and through, 14 Mar 2010
By 
C. Bannister (Jersey, CI) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tower of Silence (Paperback)
I picked this book as I'd enjoyed a Dark Dividing so much, this one was good but not that good!

The only problem I had with the Dark Dividing wss the amount of suspending belief I had to do, this one was even more far fetched maybe I because the characters were not as well developed

That said it was an enjoyable read, but not a compulsive page turner for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Read!, 13 Feb 2010
This review is from: Tower of Silence (Paperback)
This was the first book I read by Sarah Rayne and I really enjoyed it. Her characterisations are skillfully done and the plot is fast moving between several different periods in time. It was quite gruesome in places but there the tension and mystery built up steadily to a satisfying conclusion.

I've already bought another book by the same author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Tower of Silence
Tower of Silence by Sarah Rayne (Paperback - 28 Feb 2008)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews