Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "...we know so much of it could be put right, but we have no idea how to make it happen."
Read only because this was lent to me by a colleague, this is not normally a book I would choose to read. My perception is that these days books written by comedians who turn 40 and have a mid-life crisis are ten-a-penny and I though this would be one of those books filled with pedestrian observations of hitting the big Four-O.

Oh, how wrong I was...
Published on 17 Aug. 2010 by Femmielala

versus
1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not Steel's best work
I am usually a big fan of this author but this account of the conflicts inherent in reconciling his socialist beliefs with the banality of everyday life - growing older, being married and mortgaged etc - is just boring. Discovering with surprise after an appearance on Question Time that a conservative panelist is not a bad guy gives a misleadingly puerile impression...
Published on 1 April 2013 by Anglolawyer


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a beautiful book, 31 Dec. 2008
Mark Steel has written a really great book, I found it poignant and compulsive reading. More serious and personal than some of his previous works, but still with some huge laugh out loud moments, here he perfectly captures the wistful sense of how in your middle years you can feel so alone and out of step with things - exactly as he says "what IS going on?" His themes are both intensely personal, and apply in a wider more general sense.

I do love it when comedians I admired 10 years ago go on to become great commentators!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Disillusionment was never so uplifting, 31 Aug. 2008
By 
Vp Campbell (Leicestershire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Mark Steel stands out in modern Britain as one of the consistent and committed unreconstructed socialists in public life, although he's much funnier than most.

This book is more melancholy though as he discusses the horrors of modern society (how the view that nothing is worth doing unless someone can make a profit out of it has become so dominant in the UK) in the context of the breakdown of two of his long term relationships- one the woman he had kids with, the other the Socialist Workers Party.

It's amazing that he can discuss the breakup of his long term relationship without ever really giving away the specifics, or with recriminating comments about his ex-partner, and yet at the same time articulating the confusion, hurt and despait such a break-up can lead to (and make some good jokes along the way).

The stuff about the SWP is harder to take as it takes him the whole book to realise that the SWP are a bunch of pointless, ineffectual idiots, whose only achievement seems to have been to helped reduce socialist principles in the UK to a laughing stock. At least he's realised this by the end.

As ever, like in his columns for The Independent, Steel is able with razor-sharp humour, logic and insight to pinpoint the absurdities of the modern age. His excoriation of how the logic of capitalist 'competition' and 'choice' have led to more and more homogeneity on the high street- in every town and city in Britain there's nothing but a sea of chain stores, many of which are global chains too- is particularly incisive.

Despite the rather gloomy tone throughout, Steel's sense of humour in spite of everything, and continued hope for the future wins through in the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 28 Oct. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Love it. He is my favourite comedian and I love all his work. A clever man with so much talent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the funniest guys in the UK, 12 Mar. 2009
This hilarious book exactly mirrored my life at the time of reading - a disillusionment with marriage and the organised left (despite having faith in both). But still believing in love and socialism.

What's Going On is both hilarious and moving in the same sarcastic style as his Independent columns. At one point he realises life is not as cut and dry as his principles - smiling at a policeman and befriending arch Thatcherite Bob Monkhouse.

I have met him on a few occasions and he truly is a man of the people. I remember just before he gave a lecture on Thomas Paine and The Rights Of Man, he generously gave up his preparation time to discuss my modest little books. He also gave me half of his beef and horseradish sandwich pack - socialism in action!

If you like Mark Thomas, Frankie Boyle, Jeremy Hardy, Jo Brand etc you'll love this.

Paul Wellings (author of 'I'm a journalist...get me out of here', 'Spend it like Beckham' and 'Sex, Lines and Videotape')
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars refreshingly hopeful, 12 Nov. 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I absolutely loved this book- as with most of mark steel's meanderings. He is brutally honest and still creates a sense of hope which makes such a marked change to the fashionably cynical times we live in. An absolute must for anyone who enjoyed any of the political riots in Britain during the last three decades. If you have the pervading political disillusionment that comes with age read it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'Blood On The Tracks' meets Paul Foot's 'The Vote', 14 Aug. 2008
Another sublime tome from Mr. Steel. I had to actively restrain myself from reading it too quickly, but I still polished it off in less than a week such was the addictive reading it encourages. Warm, witty, inspiring and profound in equal measures. Hugely recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Intelligent, and different (how many socialists do you know, 20 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: What's Going On?: The Meanderings of a Comic Mind in Confusion (Paperback)
Intelligent, and different (how many socialists do you know? Really?) and LOL funny. Want something different and entertaining? Go for it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars essential reading, 20 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A book that reminds you that principles in life are important and that you can't always win, but you can enjoy trying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Relationship breakdowns and the Socialist Worker's Party. Quite funny., 22 Mar. 2009
By 
Mr. Stuart Bruce "DonQuibeats" (Cardiff, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
A whole book in which a self-confessed middle-aged man compares his own relationship break-up with the gradual demise of the Socialist Worker's Party should, by definition, be awful. However Mark Steel manages to not only get away with it, but he pulls off a very readable book.

He jumps unashamedly between talking about himself being relegated to sleeping on the sofa, to major political issues and global capitalist sociology. It's an autobiography, but it's more of an autobiography about what he's thinking, rather than what he's actually done.

It's very funny in parts, but I wasn't as engrossed as with some of his previous books. There are a couple of sections that are a bit too self-indulgent, and others where the sarcasm-dependency of his comedy is a little exposed. However what it maybe loses in entertainment value it makes up for with poignancy, which it has in spades by the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars True dat, homeboii, 19 July 2014
This review is from: What's Going On?: The Meanderings of a Comic Mind in Confusion (Paperback)
This is a book, this is a book about things.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

What's Going On?: The Meanderings of a Comic Mind in Confusion
£7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews