Customer Reviews


36 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars LET ME TELL YOU FROM ITALY: IF YOU PLAY TENNIS YOU NEED IT
Hi, I'm a tennis player and a tennis teacher from Italy, Rome. I've started to play at the age of 10 and I started to teach at 19 years old. I've had a very good teacher that taught me everything about technique and much things about mental tennis. I've a degree from the Italian Tennis Teacher Federation. I like my work and I'm also fond of tennis. For that reason...
Published on 15 Feb 2000

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Stick to The Inner Game
I had high hopes for this book, but ultimately I didn't feel that Brad says anything that the average player shouldn't already know. His message is basically "prepare well, and use your brain". I guess some people need to have the obvious spelled out, but once you've got the message there's a lot of padding in this book that doesn't add much. The Inner Game gave me a...
Published on 20 Sep 2003


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Great tennis manual, 26 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Winning Ugly (Paperback)
Excellent guide to the mindset of Gilbert and his methods, if you are interested in tennis you want to read this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Enterteinment and some gold nuggets, 22 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Winning Ugly (Paperback)
Boris Becker, Andre Agassi, Jimmy Connors... The players you know (or thought you knew) are used as examples by Brad Gilbert, to illustrate how a cunning tennis player can beat a tennis-wise superior opponent. Very entertaining, easy read in a chatty style. Some nice pieces of advice are also found every here and there. These gems still feel up-to-date even if the book was originally written decades ago. Andy Murray sort of links it to today and to the pretty different tennis which is played on the same courts Brad Gilbert used to fight his matches on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Play tennis to win, 19 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Winning Ugly (Paperback)
Brads a star when it comes to winning, this book has helped change my game. No longer do I dream of a Fedderer backhand rather whatever works
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Winning Ugly., 27 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Winning Ugly (Paperback)
Brilliant book! How to get inside your opponent's head.
How to beat a player who is better than you!
There are many ways to skin a cat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great book on how to develop your game plan, 25 Dec 2013
By 
Peter Dolinaj "Peter Dolinaj" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Winning Ugly (Paperback)
After reading this book you will gain some great tips on how to use your strength against your opponent's weaknesses.
Most of recreational players have no game plan at all. This book will help you develop one and benefit from it.
I've already tried some tips in my tennis club and it really worked!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Controversial Tennis Coach., 10 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Winning Ugly (Paperback)
A book about tennis with some interesting comments and anecdotes. Brad Gilbert always something different to say about tennis players and their behaviour .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Winning ugly, 3 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Winning Ugly (Paperback)
Very interesting book with lots of good points on how to handle matches and also on how to help your child cope with matches. I would recommend this to all plays.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Fairly interesting read, 28 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Winning Ugly (Paperback)
some good information but most of it fairly obvious. Doesn't produce miracles!
Tennis fans should find some of the stories interesting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Will Improve 95% of Club Players, 18 Jun 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great book, enjoyable reading, nearly finished it in one sitting!
I've played for most of my life and this book has helped my game. I can win matches that perhaps I shouldn't using the advice Brad gives.
It gives you an edge, that extra bit of confidence that you need sometimes.
Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic book, 5 April 2011
This review is from: Winning Ugly (Paperback)
all tennis fans have to read this book

It is very enjoyable and a lot of funny anecdotes.

Ok for Brad
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Winning Ugly
Winning Ugly by Steve Jamison (Paperback - 4 Jun 2007)
6.29
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews