Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars H£IST Amazingly Rich
I was first attracted to this book because the robbery happened where I grew up. Not to mention that £1.3 million was sat a couple of hundred yards from my house in a white van at the Ashford International Hotel. I have lost count of how many times I must have driven past that van on the day it was dumped there.

This true story is written in an easy way, even...
Published on 13 Mar 2011 by Sam Arnold

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fair account but not a rivetting read
A pleasant enough read but nothing new or any startling new revelations to be had.

It seems that most of it has been found via Google and Wikipedia in particular so you could do it all yourself for no cost and the internet has photo's of all the main players as well.
Published 10 months ago by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars H£IST Amazingly Rich, 13 Mar 2011
This review is from: Heist: The True Story of the World's Biggest Cash Robbery (Paperback)
I was first attracted to this book because the robbery happened where I grew up. Not to mention that £1.3 million was sat a couple of hundred yards from my house in a white van at the Ashford International Hotel. I have lost count of how many times I must have driven past that van on the day it was dumped there.

This true story is written in an easy way, even the long legal cases are written in a manner that is easy to read. The author has a talent for telling a story whilst still giving the facts collected. On the areas of the case that are still "grey areas" the author gives the facts and allows the reader to make their own opinions. What is better than reading a crime novel that leaves you still to answer questions.

I thought I knew a lot about this case being so close in proximity to where it occurred but this book has given me even more facts. On the questions of the conspirators that were acquitted of the charges I have made my own opinions about them, as you will.

I thoroughly good read which leaves just one big question unanswered, just where is the other half of all that money that no one has found.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good read, well written, 2 Nov 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Heist: The True Story of the World's Biggest Cash Robbery (Paperback)
First time I've read this author and was attacted by the subject matter. I'm not a fan of 'true crime' but gave this a shot. Thoroughly enjoyed it. It was very well written and told in a cohesive, structured manner. Humerous in parts, you cannot but be amazed at the incompetence of some of the main players. One thing to watch for though - the narratives under the second set of pictures in the book tells you whether some of them were found guilty or not, but you don't read this until later on in the book, so don't read the picture narratives until you have finished the book! Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent read, 14 Oct 2012
By 
Mr. Russell P. Ketley (dartford kent uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Heist: The True Story of the World's Biggest Cash Robbery (Paperback)
A fascinating look into the Criminal underworld, well reasearched, the book neither glamourises or condemns Crime just tells you what happened. I can't believe no no one has made the film yet!?.
Having lived in South East London & Kent since the 80's it's possible i could have rubbed shoulders with any one of the people involved. I must admit I havn'nt finished it yet but the book definitely holds the readers attention.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 16 April 2014
This review is from: Heist: The True Story of the World's Biggest Cash Robbery (Paperback)
Very good read I was gripped from the opening, however I'm not usually a book reader but this book is for anyone who enjoys a bit of crime and truth to how other choose to use their life, as this was all over the news just a few years ago made me see the truth from individuals during the trial, not just what the paper printed. I will not disclose any of the book as it will spoil it. Please read!!! A**
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very interesting., 30 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Heist: The True Story of the World's Biggest Cash Robbery (Paperback)
Living close to the incident and being able to identify various locations quoted in the book made it all the more interesting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing read......, 19 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A gripping read that a layperson can enjoy.. I felt like I was on the jury.... 5 stars read it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heist, 7 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Heist: The True Story of the World's Biggest Cash Robberyvery good read. hard to put it down once started , good paced and very good account of events.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars OUTSTANDING.........., 13 Jan 2011
This review is from: Heist: The True Story of the World's Biggest Cash Robbery (Paperback)
Having been given this book as a xmas present, i was delighted. Soon as i had the chance to open it i never put it down. As i progressed through each chapter i was gripped by the whole story. The build up to the actual height was gripping, by time i reached the trial i almost felt i was in the court listening to the case progress. Cedit must to go to the author and researchers that have put this book together, and have the true evidence of the case for our own eyes. Not only will the heist go down in history, the book will tell the whole story.......

A must read for any true crime fan
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Instant classic of true crime, 1 Dec 2009
This review is from: Heist: The True Story of the World's Biggest Cash Robbery (Paperback)
It's hard to imagine a better book being written about this extraordinary story. Howard Sounes has all the facts at his disposal but what is so impressive is the way he deploys them: introducing a large array of characters so skilfully that we never lose sight of who is who, and giving just enough background on each so we understand a little of what made them who they are. In fact the book functions brilliantly as a portrait of a section of British society operating on the margins of legality: full of people who aren't quite crooks themselves but who know crooks, and enjoy the association.

But the point here is the storytelling, and Sounes is a master at this kind of forensic re-creation. As with FRED & ROSE, the jigsaw is assembled with mesmerising skill, and although this is an altogether lighter read -- the awful experiences of the hostages notwithstanding, Sounes is often aghast at his villains' ineptitude -- it is no less compelling.

I don't read a lot of true crime but I like to read the best books on really interesting cases, and it's difficult to see how there will be a better one on the Tonbridge raid than HEIST.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Securitas Robbery, 20 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Heist: The True Story of the World's Biggest Cash Robbery (Paperback)
An honest book which in the main is very accurate. I know, as I sat with the author for many hours in court through the trials. The book is easy to read and there is good attention to detail, my main criticism is that Howard puts his own slant on several issues. He was not in possession of all the facts and has made some assumptions. The book arrived quickly and was well packed. Overall a good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa335c834)

This product

Heist: The True Story of the World's Biggest Cash Robbery
Heist: The True Story of the World's Biggest Cash Robbery by Howard Sounes (Paperback - 26 Nov 2009)
£5.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews