Customer Reviews


41 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Why Einstein is a true Genius
I too have read quite a few Biographies and what I consider to be the most important quality for one to be successful, is that the work resonates the character of the subject. Reading quotes from the many critics listed, you too will be of those complimenting the amazing work of the Author.

This has to be one of the most intelligently written works I have read...
Published on 7 July 2009 by Mr. M. Hassan

versus
7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The right book if you are looking to understand the man behind the myth.
An interesting biography of a very complex man. I found it very difficult to follow all the discussions around relativity, time, space and physics in general, nonetheless I'm sure Isaacson made a great job of describing Einstein's break-throughs in this field.
Easier to read and somehow more valuable are the parts about the private Einstein, the one who never got...
Published on 24 April 2012 by Giovanni Anchois


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars but I can follow most of the scientific words and it is beautifully written. So enjoying reading this book, 15 Aug 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Einstein: His Life and Universe (Paperback)
I am not into physics. Have up to O'level physics many decades ago, but I can follow most of the scientific words and it is beautifully written. So enjoying reading this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 22 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
very interesting and good explanation on relativity theory
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Einstein: His Life and Universe, 19 Mar 2010
By 
Spider Monkey (UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Einstein: His Life and Universe (Paperback)
Over recent years I have developed a tradition of sitting down over the Christmas period and reading a book in almost a solid block and this year I had the delights of `Einstein: His Life and Universe` to keep me company for a couple of days. This book looks at his life and scientific discoveries and it is clear and engaging throughout. His ideas are explained in a way that most people can readily grasp and it is fascinating to read about his life and the times he lived in as he formulated them. This explores his family relationships and friendships, as well as his scientific rivals. It also looks at his Zionist principles, pacifist campaigning, feelings about WW2 and his latter years in America. There is a middle photo plate section with various photos of Einstein and acquaintances. This is very well sourced and referenced and makes for an in-depth scholarly text that is also accessible and interesting for the general reader. If you are looking to learn more about this iconic and influential man then this is a pretty good first port of call to consider.

Feel free to check out my blog which can be found on my profile page.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good read, 22 Nov 2007
By 
Well done piece of work. The book captures what we already knew about AE and presents it in a very engaging manner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 23 Dec 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Einstein: His Life and Universe (Paperback)
Good book even better price
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Einstein: His Life and Universe, 11 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A book is always a personal choice. Nevertheless I found the book very interesting and I like Walter Isaacson's way of writing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great book on one of the greatest men who ever walked the Earth, 26 Dec 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Einstein: His Life and Universe (Paperback)
This is a very easy-to-read and pleasant book about one of the greatest men in human history. I learnt a great deal from this book. That Einstein was a Jew, that he saw two world wars, that he was a socialist, yet defended passionately personal freedom, the famous equation E = mc^2, his involvment with the atomic bomb, his special and general relativity theories and much more, such as his life in Princeton once he moved to the US. This is one of the best books I read so far and I strongly recommend it to anyone looking for a great and instructive read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Arrived in time and well protected, 26 Jun 2014
This review is from: Einstein: His Life and Universe (Paperback)
It arrived in time and it was well protected. I had some troubles in december with other orders, but this one didn't disappoint me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Einstein: His Life and Universe, 19 Mar 2010
By 
Spider Monkey (UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Over recent years I have developed a tradition of sitting down over the Christmas period and reading a book in almost a solid block and this year I had the delights of `Einstein: His Life and Universe` to keep me company for a couple of days. This book looks at his life and scientific discoveries and it is clear and engaging throughout. His ideas are explained in a way that most people can readily grasp and it is fascinating to read about his life and the times he lived in as he formulated them. This explores his family relationships and friendships, as well as his scientific rivals. It also looks at his Zionist principles, pacifist campaigning, feelings about WW2 and his latter years in America. There is a middle photo plate section with various photos of Einstein and acquaintances. This is very well sourced and referenced and makes for an in-depth scholarly text that is also accessible and interesting for the general reader. If you are looking to learn more about this iconic and influential man then this is a pretty good first port of call to consider.

Feel free to check out my blog which can be found on my profile page.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 4 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Einstein: His Life and Universe (Paperback)
I bought this book for my boyfriend as I know that he likes Einstein. He hasn't started reading it yet but he is very pleased with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Einstein: His Life and Universe
Einstein: His Life and Universe by Walter Isaacson (Paperback - 26 April 2008)
£6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews