Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars79
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 18 October 2007
I was blown away by this book [and in fact the whole trilogy!]. Aside from having a stunning plot which is able to spread across three books without becoming tedious; the world in which Tally and others live is perfectly thought out and utterly believable. Its a brilliant book but very hard to describe to others- many people would turn their nose if you said "its set in the future and everyone has had an operation to make them pretty." BUT DONT BE DISCOURAGED! Tally's story is so down to earth and exciting this book is one that will be glued to your hands, and your brain, for a long while.

Another point. When you're finished the debate is on: Is the city evil with its operations, boundaries and runaway-rules? Or are the Smokies really driving the world back to rusty times of environmental damage?.....
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 14 April 2010
Tally Youngblood has been Ugly and Pretty - now she's Special. In fact, she's a special kind of Special, she's a Cutter. Cutters are the youngest Special Circumstances agents there are and they have privelages allowing them to take down the New Smoke by any means necessary. All Tally wants to do is the have Zane back with her again but to join the Cutters he has to proove himself and the best way to do this is too escape. Tally and Shay come up with a plan that will not only get Zane on their team but it will help them find the New Smoke. Using all of her new talents, Tally tracks Zane and his group until she finds that the New Smoke isn't quite what she expected.

Specials carries on the story from the previous two books with the exact same energy, great characters and awesome plot. Westerfeld has a way of descibing things that while not too fancy, makes you really able to imagine every little detail. By this, the third book of the series, the characters seem like old friends and make you really care what happens to them, although I have to admit Shay was starting to annoy me some what in her jealousy of Tally's feelings for Zane - however, this is pretty typical behaviour for a girl her age I'd imagine.

The book throws you straight into the action and doesn't stop until the end making it an exciting page turning read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 May 2016
pooled ink Reviews:

SPECIALS drops us mid-action where we discover the inevitable fate of Tally Youngblood. Firmly implanted into the secret government sector of guardians Tally has been forcefully recruited into a brand new clique of enforcers. They are the strongest, smartest, fiercest, adrenaline junkies on earth. They’re the Cutters. Born from the cult in PRETTIES they have reached new heights. They have been surgically altered to be supreme and they have become unstoppable. Ambition and intellect are dangerous to mix but mix they have and Dr. Cable will just have to watch as her pride and joy deteriorate under the one power stronger than even them, love. The stakes are higher than either of its literary predecessors and have only further to climb. The city cannot contain Tally, soon she will drag in the world.

Read my FULL review here: [...]
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 August 2013
This series of books is aimed at teens and whilst I enjoyed the other 3 books this one I felt was unsuitable for it's target audience. I felt like the story was glorifying anorexia and self harm ( cutting) and therefore I felt disappointed in what could otherwise have been a great series. The series otherwise poses some very interesting thoughts on the way we live in the world and the possibilities for the future. If this was being bought for a teen I would recommend that a parent read it first to decide if the child it is for is able to deal with some of the issues raised without being influenced into trying things out.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 December 2014
Really enjoyed this series of books, a bit like the Hunger Games but a younger version that's a lot less violent!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 April 2014
Very enjoyable continuation of the series, not as good as the last to but still loved the ending, still alittle predictable like the last one, but very happy that I still have one more to read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 October 2013
The book is great and finished off the trilogy, for me there was some unexpected events, and the. Ending is fab. The delivery time was excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 July 2013
A great series I really enjoyed. It has left an impression and I will not forget it.

Tally has more adventures and excitement.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 November 2014
Good price quick delivery
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 August 2013
The book was amazing, really enjoyed all the books in the series. Recommended for young teenagers, very easy to read and get into.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£3.85
£6.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.