Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The War Comes to Istanbul
This is the sequel to the already impressive Leviathan, and continues Westerfeld's rollicking alternate universe take on the Great War. We continue to follow Deryn and Alek as they and the living airship Leviathan embark on an important mission in Istanbul.

The author depicts the exotic city beautifully, with both period detail and his own additions- some very...
Published on 16 Sep 2011 by David Ford

versus
0 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great setting, but overpriced (kindle edition) and very short
If you liked the first book your love this book, but two things to bear in mind its overpriced and very short, i finished this book in a single sitting!. not even 6 hours worth of reading. For these 2 reason, it only gets 3 stars.
Published on 22 Dec 2010 by Dan


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars awesome, 20 Nov 2011
By 
Kirsty at the Overflowing Library (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Behemoth (Hardcover)
I loved Leviathan being a fan of Steam Punk and a history geek and was so excited to get round to reading Behemoth. I am pleased to say that I was not disappointed and enjoyed it as much as Leviathan and am equally excited about getting started on the final book in the series.

The thing I loved about these books is the characterisation of the two main characters Alek and Deryn and the contrast between the two. I love both of them separately and also love the relationship built up between the unlikely pair.

I love the world Alek and Deryn live in. There are many parts which you recognise from history which excited the history geek in me. I often found myself looking up people and places and events elsewhere whilst I was reading it to find out a bit more about the main events and what in fact did actually happen. I also love all the steam punk elements and the combinations and contrast between the world of the Darwinists and Clankers. I particularly love all the Beasties particularly gorgeous little Bovril.

The main storyline in this instalment was fast paced and engaging keeping me wanting to read more and more to find out what was going to happen. I also really enjoyed the scenes with the rebel groups and thought there were some brilliantly funny scenes which I loved reading. I loved the pictures that appeared alongside the story and really felt they added to the story.

A fantastic instalment in the series which I enjoyed. I am looking forward to reading Goliath very soon and finding out how everything finishes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The War Comes to Istanbul, 16 Sep 2011
By 
David Ford "Genre junkie" (Cheltenham) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Behemoth (Kindle Edition)
This is the sequel to the already impressive Leviathan, and continues Westerfeld's rollicking alternate universe take on the Great War. We continue to follow Deryn and Alek as they and the living airship Leviathan embark on an important mission in Istanbul.

The author depicts the exotic city beautifully, with both period detail and his own additions- some very cool animalistic walkers and steam powered shadow plays, among others.

The world might be just as great as in the original book, but here the characters take centre stage, as they and their relationships deepen and develop. Alek begins to fully consider his destiny and possible role in ending the conflict, and Deryn struggles between duty and friendship, and examines her own burgeoning feelings for the archduke's son who still thinks her a boy.

There are great new characters too, in the resistance fighters our heroes befriend within the city. We also finally discover what is inside Dr. Barlow's mysterious eggs, and those expecting a powerful warbeast of some kind might be pleasantly surprised.

The tale builds to a thrilling climax as the protagonists face the horrors of a new German weapon, and the action scenes throughout the book are of a higher standard than those in the original book.

Sterling work, too, from Keith Thompson, whose illustrations just get better and better. His drawings impart bags of character to Alek, Deryn and their friends, and he excels at depicting the industrial machinery of the Clankers as well as the biological monstrosities of the Darwinists (Cronenberg would be proud).

Now the only problem is waiting for the last installment!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars On the run (again), 25 Aug 2011
By 
E. A Solinas "ea_solinas" (MD USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Behemoth (Leviathan) (Paperback)
At the end of "Leviathan," the Clankers and the Darwinists did actually manage to work together in order to save all their lives. But... you know that couldn't possibly last. And things immediately get tense in "Behemoth," a steampunky adventure story filled with political intrigue and Middle-Eastern grandeur -- and Scott Westerfeld expands his story far beyond the main characters.

It doesn't take long for Alek to realize that he and his companions are about to be imprisoned by the British, once they're no longer useful. Fortunately, they're headed to the Ottoman Empire. But when the Leviathan lands in Istanbul (NOT Constantinople, Dr. Barlow reminds us!), it becomes obvious that all is not well. England's autocratic "borrowing" has angered the sultan, who is more inclined to favor the Germans... who also happen to be in the area.

In the meantime, Deryn is being sent off on a secret mission that may give the British a triumph over the Ottoman navy, even as Count Volger blackmails her with her little gender secret. And Alek has escaped to somewhere in Istanbul, where he falls in with a small band of rebels -- which could lead to a shocking shift in power.

The first book was all about escaping from the Germans/Austrians, but "Behemoth" focuses on a the political upheaval of war. Scott Westerfeld spends a LOT of time on diplomatic and political matters in this book, and the delicate balance of nations. But don't worry, politics doesn't make this book boring.

Instead, Westerfeld makes this story into a steampunk thriller, with smoothly-intertwined subplots and some tense action scenes (being chased through the Istanbul streets on a giant mechanical beetle!). His prose is strong, smooth and detailed, and Westerfeld painstakingly explores some new technology, both Darwinist ("living" diving armor!) and clanker (mecha elephants!).

Downside? I was a little disappointed by the revelation of what was in Barlow's eggs. I just... expected something a bit more epic.

And the characters are given a lot more development as well. Alek has grown into a young man who is more cautious, sensible and more open-minded; and Deryn is sent on dangerous secret missions while trying to keep her gender a secret. Westerfeld drops some hints that romantic feelings are blooming between these two, although Deryn ends up in an awkward love triangle of Shakespearean proportions.

Scott Westerfeld spins up a solid, suspenseful adventure story in "Behemoth," and lays the groundwork for a brilliant climax. Absolutely brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's a long wait until the next book! This series is blowing me away, especially Deryn's view on events., 19 Nov 2010
This review is from: Behemoth (Hardcover)
Scott Westerfeld has done it again. Leviathan was left on a cliffhanger (of sorts - there were so many questions left unanswered). Knowing the main characters already made Behemoth a pleasure to read. The new characters are equally charming, and provide Deryn with a few problems. Young romance blooms in several directions - not all as you may think! At last we find out what Dr Barlow was trying to hatch. Alek sneaks away and actually steals one of the hatched animals, which causes quite a bit of mayhem. Alek is on the run from a lot of people. It wasn't necessarily the wisest move, but he carries it through, making valuable friends who will be able to help Deryn.

As much as I love life in the sky (there is some in this book) I liked seeing Deryn live on the ground. The environments both she and Alek find themselves in captures the imagination, especially with the accompanying detailed illustrations. I love the words that are created for cursewords - they made me laugh. Both Alek and Deryn suffer tragedy in this book, coupled with enormous character growth through the events that unfold. They've both come a long way from the start of their adventure in Leviathan, and I'm eager to see where the next book takes them. Undoubtedly it will bring about scary new foes, as well as familiar ones.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Steampunk steams away, 3 Oct 2010
By 
Gareth Wilson - Falcata Times Blog "Falcata T... - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Behemoth (Hardcover)
The second novel in Westerfeld's Steampunk series and one that proves that he is a master storyteller. Beautifully constructed, this alternate world is one that readers will love to inhabit, there are machines, monsters, action and plenty of adventure as out heroes continue their fight to survive against the odds.

Add to the mix a great blend of dialogue, solid world construction and a plot that just doesn't let up and you know that you have one hell of a story on your hands. Seriously good fun and with beautiful artwork that accentuates the tale you know that it's something special. Definitely a series that I'm recommending as Christmas gifts as the silence you will have whilst your young reader devours this will be worth its weight in gold which will also fuel their own imagination.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars like it, 11 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Behemoth (Leviathan) (Paperback)
i like the product it is la a good buy 4 the money good quality i love it2 b**** z like it ace look haha
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Book two and the pace picks up nicely, 13 Nov 2013
This review is from: Behemoth (Kindle Edition)
After a good but moderately slow start to the series, Behemoth certainly met my expectations and picked up the pace nicely. I really enjoyed the battle scenes where technology met Darwinist genetics in some mighty clashes which I felt were missing in the first book.

The story threads of Alex and Deryn became more entwined in Behemoth and I found her less irritating than in the first book. There is some good character development with them as they both seem to grow in confidence and find their places in the coming war. Also the introduction of a couple more faces to the mix certainly helps to keeps the story flowing nicely, adding the odd twist here and there.

I thought that the standard of illustration continued and the portrayals of some of the major events are great to see. I'm certainly looking forward to the final instalment with Goliath and can't wait to see how things end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Gripping story, 29 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Behemoth (Kindle Edition)
I started with Leviathan to try out the universe and an author I did not know. I have to admit I have been unable to stop reading and went through the three books very quickly. I have loved the alternative universe and loved the characters. Behemoth is as good as Leviathan or Goliath and well, if you started and enjoy the first one, it will not disappoint.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Steampunk Great War vol II, 23 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Behemoth (Leviathan) (Paperback)
At the end of volume I we left the genetically engineered British flying whale Leviathan on its way to Constantinople on a secret mission, having rescued the grandson and putative heir to the Austro-Hungarian emperor from the Clanker land dreadnoughts of his nominal German allies.

In Behemoth the tale continues, with our heroes joining up with the Turkish underground to depose the sultan and keep the Ottoman empire from joining the war on the side of the Central Powers. A ripping yarn with teenage heroes, so perhaps aimed at the teenage market, but don't let that put you off if you are over 19 - it is consistently well written and imaginative on many levels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars More please, more, 29 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Behemoth (Kindle Edition)
I loved this one as much as the leviathan (first book) and would recommend this to anyone who likes fantasy or steampunk novels
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Behemoth (Leviathan)
Behemoth (Leviathan) by Scott Westerfeld (Paperback - 9 Jun 2011)
5.24
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews