Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant analysis of the 2009 Ashes
Mike Atherton's column in The Times is the first port of call for many fans looking to read his expert analysis and insight on the series and this book is full of Atherton's wisdom and insight into the game as well as plenty of behind-the-scenes facts about the players and coaching staff. Nothing escapes Atherton's attention and it is amazing how often he predicts how the...
Published on 14 Sep 2009 by Glen Ponda

versus
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars if you read The Times you'll have read all this already
No argument, this is very well written by one of the most incisive cricket anaylysts, but the problem with this book is that it is essentially a collection of all the articles Mike Atherton wrote for the Times while the series was going on. Fair enough for those who don't read the Times but, if you do and you open this book thinking you are going to read something you...
Published on 5 Nov 2009 by Danny Inman


Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars if you read The Times you'll have read all this already, 5 Nov 2009
This review is from: Atherton's Ashes: How England Won the 2009 Ashes (Hardcover)
No argument, this is very well written by one of the most incisive cricket anaylysts, but the problem with this book is that it is essentially a collection of all the articles Mike Atherton wrote for the Times while the series was going on. Fair enough for those who don't read the Times but, if you do and you open this book thinking you are going to read something you haven't read before, you won't. I know we've all got to do our bit to save the planet, so full marks to all concerned for re-cycling, but I'd rather read something fresh.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant analysis of the 2009 Ashes, 14 Sep 2009
This review is from: Atherton's Ashes: How England Won the 2009 Ashes (Hardcover)
Mike Atherton's column in The Times is the first port of call for many fans looking to read his expert analysis and insight on the series and this book is full of Atherton's wisdom and insight into the game as well as plenty of behind-the-scenes facts about the players and coaching staff. Nothing escapes Atherton's attention and it is amazing how often he predicts how the teams will perform. This book also has some great photos from the Tests. This is a fascinating diary of the victorious 2009 series from a true great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Average, 15 Dec 2010
By 
RRB (Cheshire, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Atherton's Ashes: How England Won the 2009 Ashes (Hardcover)
A fairly interesting read but I thought there would be more of an "insiders" view of the series. For me there was much routine reporting and not enough about what makes top cricketers tick and what goes on behind the scenes. Perhaps it is because I'm an admirer of Mike Atherton both as a cricketer and a knowledgable commentator that I expected a bit more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The best way to relive the Ashes summer, 1 Jan 2010
By 
bookelephant (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Atherton's Ashes: How England Won the 2009 Ashes (Hardcover)
Yes, this was all in the Times (or the vast majority of it was), but do you remember quite how Athers analysed each day's play? Do you keep his old columns in a scrap book? Unless you can answer yes to either of these questions this is a book which is well worth having. The joy of test cricket is in the ebb and flow of fortune over the days and even the sessions, and last summer's series was a classic in this regard, even if it was not a classic of strong performances from each side. Athers' columns replicate this like nothing else can - we follow the twists and turns, and the crises which gripped us all (should we recall Ramprakash? Why not Key?) and the questions which were asked and will be very much forgotten in the hindsight books (Why dont we drop Broad? for example, was a real issue until the 4th Test - had you remembered that?). Add to that the fact that Athers is a really brilliant cricket analyst and a good writer, and you have a recipe for a really excellent, enjoyable book. I enjoyed every minute of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Quality journalism won me over, 26 Nov 2009
This review is from: Atherton's Ashes: How England Won the 2009 Ashes (Hardcover)
Without a doubt, this book would benefit from some sturdy editing. Being as it is made up of pieces written for The Times before, during and after the 2009 Ashes, the use of tense seems odd in places. At first I found this irksome, and I dismissed the book as a hastily assembled, opportunistic cash-in on England's victory... and perhaps this is exactly what it is, however, I was soon won over by the sheer quality of Atherton's journalism (I was not previously familiar with his writing). Atherton undoubtedly has a gift for writing, and though not shy about saying what he thinks, he always comes across as warm, considered and natural.

I enjoyed reliving some of the Ashes summer in these winter months, and I will be reading Atherton's articles during future Test series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ashes, 15 Oct 2009
By 
Peter F. Hagger (Surrey. UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Atherton's Ashes: How England Won the 2009 Ashes (Hardcover)
Many books have again been published after Ashes win.
Mike Athertons is for me the best.
He wrote it day by day as Ashes unfolded and it tells . Each day carried its own emotions and Mike reflects that in his writing.
Very enjoyable and factual.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fantastic book, by the best sports journalist on earth, 30 Sep 2009
By 
K. T. Sims "Kayts" (Birmingham) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Atherton's Ashes: How England Won the 2009 Ashes (Hardcover)
Mike Atherton is one of those people who's blessed with talent in a variety of fields. Most people who've been successful captains of their country in any sporting venture are doing well enough, or if they're a talented batsman. Many former players who go on to write these kinds of books offer ghosted affairs with a hint of insight from their playing days. Atheron offers insight hidden inside beautifully crafted pieces rich with language you'd not quite associate with, essentially, a sportsman. The book is so "readable" it's amost addictive, and it's set up allows you to reminisce on the events of the 2009 Ashes series as no other book will. It's certainly worth reading, for all cricket lovers and I dare say would be enjoyable to Australian fans as wellas English fans. I cannot prase it enough, nor recommend it any higher!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Look no further for your Ashes-based Christmas present, 4 Dec 2009
By 
This review is from: Atherton's Ashes: How England Won the 2009 Ashes (Hardcover)
Atherton's Ashes is as difficult to put down as a box of Cadbury's chocolate fingers. Just one more page, and one more, and just one more, and before you know it you've sprinted through an entire summer. It's well-written, insightful, fair-minded, and a fitting record of another compulsive Ashes series.

It is made clear right from the start that this book is not a reflection on the summer as a whole. Instead, it is a collection of Atherton's articles from The Times, rushed into almost-daily print soon after the action had finished. The resulting compilation is therefore flawed, but in a good way.

A charge of hindsight is impossible to level. After the last day (the third) of the Fourth Test, Atherton writes "Bopara's place is under the biggest threat...the lack of batting alternatives is truly frightening...if an alternative number three is needed, better to go with Rob Key or Owais Shah [than Jonathan Trott]." We all know what happened next.

Of course, Atherton's Ashes isn't perfect. The most disappointing thing is its title, for this wasn't Atherton's series at all. As Atherton himself points out in the book's final passage, Graeme Swann was the real star of the summer - "the off-spinner from Nottinghamshire was not found wanting and nor, we hope when the time comes, will we." Swann's Ashes would have been a far more apt title.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa0434bac)

This product

Atherton's Ashes: How England Won the 2009 Ashes
Atherton's Ashes: How England Won the 2009 Ashes by Mike Atherton (Hardcover - 1 Sep 2009)
16.70
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews