Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Temptress, a good who done it
Having lived in Kenya until 1973, and regularly visiting it since to visit relations, I found it very interesting. I agree with the writer that he is very likely correct
in his naming the murderer of Joss.
But I did find it disconcerting that there were many mistakes on other facts, which I personally noticed knowing the country and the people involved.
For...
Published on 29 May 2010 by Dr. Divinity

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Adds to Alice, but not to Erroll
An interesting biography of Alice's history and life, although you feel some areas are not fully explored (history with father for one).
However, as an addition to the Erroll murder investigation I didn't find it added anything new, and was not convincing in its conclusion, as the "confession letter" is already known about. (And why has no-one ever tracked it...
Published on 4 July 2010 by Albatross


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Temptress, a good who done it, 29 May 2010
This review is from: The Temptress: The Scandalous Life of Alice, Countess De Janze (Hardcover)
Having lived in Kenya until 1973, and regularly visiting it since to visit relations, I found it very interesting. I agree with the writer that he is very likely correct
in his naming the murderer of Joss.
But I did find it disconcerting that there were many mistakes on other facts, which I personally noticed knowing the country and the people involved.
For all it is a very interesting book and well worth reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Adds to Alice, but not to Erroll, 4 July 2010
This review is from: The Temptress: The Scandalous Life of Alice, Countess De Janze (Hardcover)
An interesting biography of Alice's history and life, although you feel some areas are not fully explored (history with father for one).
However, as an addition to the Erroll murder investigation I didn't find it added anything new, and was not convincing in its conclusion, as the "confession letter" is already known about. (And why has no-one ever tracked it down...?) This however, is hardly Spicer's fault, as the murder is already too distant to ever be solved finally and indisputedly. Also why does he gloss over the most famous scene of her life in the mortuary ?
Beautiful photos though, but it needs more...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Tempting but ultimately unfulfilling (spoilers), 8 Nov 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Temptress: The Scandalous Life of Alice, Countess De Janze (Hardcover)
I came to this after reading 'White Mischief' and 'The Bolter', in which Alice played significant, though peripheral, roles. Spicer makes much of his family's connection with Alice and the Happy Valley set, but other than a few facts about her early life and the reminiscences of her children, this doesn't add much to the general reader's knowledge. Considering the sensational material, the book isn't a gripping read, partly because of the author's tabloid style and also because his two major conjectures - that Alice killed Joss Hay and that her behaviour was a result of a specific mental illness - seem spurious and are impossible to prove beyond doubt.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Happy Valley Set, 28 May 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Temptress: The Scandalous Life of Alice, Countess De Janze (Hardcover)
We have been very intrested for years in the going ons of the happy valley set in Kenya and the life and death of Lord Errol we own many books on this subject and this book gave us a deeper insite to the going ons and also was good reading but still leaving that little bit of dout to what really did go on with Lord Errols murder
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, excellent read, 29 Jun 2010
By 
Sarah "Sarah" (Bedfordshire, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Temptress: The Scandalous Life of Alice, Countess De Janze (Hardcover)
I really recommend this book for anyone interested in Kenyan/colonial history. It gives an interesting insight into Alice de Jnaze's unusual life and is a great read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the most fascinating biographies i have read in recent years, 20 May 2010
By 
Mr. Alexander Pr Watson (london) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Temptress: The Scandalous Life of Alice, Countess De Janze (Hardcover)
A must read for anyone who is interested in this era. I personally found Spicer a fantastic writer and one who clearly put his heart and soul into this woman. His detective-like approach shines through in his thesis on Alice murdering the Earl of Erroll. I, who for a long time believed guilt must surely lie with Jock Delves Broughton, am now convinced by Spicer's accusation that it was Alice. Spicer's portayal of Alice has to be one of the most fascinating biographies of late and i could not put it down once.

I cannot recommend it more. It would make a fantastic film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Informative read about another happy valley subject, 13 May 2010
By 
warthog (Wales /England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Temptress: The Scandalous Life of Alice, Countess De Janze (Hardcover)
I have always loved the photograph of Alice De Janze nursing that huge lion cub, which I first saw in the book 'White Mischief'. She seemed a fascinating subject for a biography and the writer does not disappoint. He is obviously one of those writers who has a deep affection for Kenya and prepares the scene very well for the character he introduces. Her unstable personality and violent mood swings certainly make one wonder if she did kill Errol. After all these years writers are still discussing this murder and it never ceases to fascinate the reader. Did she do it? I think we will still be in the dark, however it is well worth reading. I would recommend this book for a good holiday read or long air/train journey.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Temptress. A Review, 26 Jun 2010
This review is from: The Temptress: The Scandalous Life of Alice, Countess De Janze (Hardcover)
Anyone with an interest in the "White Mischief" murder of Lord Errol in Kenya in 1941 will love this book,Alice de Janze, the subject of this book,is there at the very heart of the scandal,of the, so far,unsolved murder.
Paul Spicer comes up with his own theory of who killed Lord Errol,only by buying the book will you find that out!
An excellent read,a real page-turner,you will find hard to put down.
I recommend anyone new to the "White Mischief" mystery to buy this book,and "The Bolter" the story of Idena Sackville (by Frances Osborne)another character very much involved in the saga,Idena was one of Errols wives.
And then go back to the original "White Mischief" book by James Fox and everything will tie-in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating and scandalous!, 15 May 2010
By 
Kindle Customer (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Temptress: The Scandalous Life of Alice, Countess De Janze (Hardcover)
A fascinating, detailed page turner. The author has captured the era and place excellently. The story itself is unputdownable, and (as far as we know) all true! We will never know what happened that night, but the version put forward in this book is very compelling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not worth the read, 3 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Temptress: The Scandalous Life of Alice, Countess De Janze (Hardcover)
Should have been an interesting tale like 'White Mischief', but unfortunately Mr. Spicer is a poor writer and the book NEVER came ALIVE !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Temptress: The Scandalous Life of Alice, Countess De Janze
The Temptress: The Scandalous Life of Alice, Countess De Janze by Paul Spicer (Hardcover - 29 April 2010)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews