Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good book
This is a good book which is easy to read and covers all of the areas you will need to know about when trying for a baby. I liked the sections for future Dad's because my husband was able to just dip in and out and read the bits that were relevant to him instead of getting too bogged down by science. The only thing I would say is that the style in which it is written...
Published on 30 Jan 2012 by Emma

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Kindle version not good
the page numbers on the kindle are terribly out of order. you will be in the middle of one section, then it will jump to another topic and back again. decent book - but not a good format for e-readers
Published 14 months ago by Angela


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good book, 30 Jan 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: What to Expect: Before You're Expecting (Paperback)
This is a good book which is easy to read and covers all of the areas you will need to know about when trying for a baby. I liked the sections for future Dad's because my husband was able to just dip in and out and read the bits that were relevant to him instead of getting too bogged down by science. The only thing I would say is that the style in which it is written can get rather irritating. Sex is referred to as the 'baby dance' which i found a bit cringy. I would have preferred the book to just stick to the facts instead of always trying to be 'amusing and cute'. So a bit patronizing but all in all a helpful book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Kindle version not good, 23 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
the page numbers on the kindle are terribly out of order. you will be in the middle of one section, then it will jump to another topic and back again. decent book - but not a good format for e-readers
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good starting place, 22 Sep 2011
This review is from: What to Expect: Before You're Expecting (Paperback)
This book is well written and suited what I was looking for. There are many helpful sections with tips and advise. It won't be my only pre-pregnacy read, but it is one I will keep coming back to for advice and reassurance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Kindle formatting is shockingly bad, 5 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I was looking forward to reading this book on my kindle, but the formatting of this edition is so bad, it is unreadable. It appears to be just a digital copy of the physical book, with no thought to how reading on a kindle is different.

There is no table of contents or page numbers - so the regular references in the book to different sections and page numbers to allow you to pick the info most useful to you are useless.

The text chops and changes, with no idea of where it is going next. You will be reading a section of text, say a list of bulleted descriptions of something - then suddenly a new paragraph will start on something else, with nothing to show it is a change, then the original text will continue - but now with no reference to what it was about. I think in the book, the breakout sections are shown as that, they are in a different colour or within a box - but none of that formatting has been transferred to the kindle, and with no table of contents there's no way to jump from one section to another anyway.

This could have been a very good book, with a little thought to formatting, so the related text was together, and a table of contents instead of page numbers, to allow readers to jump to different sections as needed. However, in it's current form I have managed to stumble through about 40% of the book, and I've had to give up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Some is just common sense!, 30 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: What to Expect: Before You're Expecting (Paperback)
I bought this book after experiencing a miscarriage. I was shocked how a lot of information was common sense? like stopping/limiting alcohol. not smoking. eating well. vitamins! etc etc.
But there are parts that are more than common sense! I guess it is a case of looking through and selecting sections that will be useful to you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 13 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: What to Expect: Before You're Expecting (Paperback)
Great book when starting TTC. Clear unpatronising advice. I particularly like the specific sections for the man in your life! Would buy next book in series when lucky enough to conceive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book., 5 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: What to Expect: Before You're Expecting (Paperback)
This is such a great book and gives you so much information. A great read to get your life and body ready the year before you start trying for a baby.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Review, 26 Jun 2013
By 
D. Minton "ArtemisPhoebe" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: What to Expect: Before You're Expecting (Paperback)
A good concise guide, needed for Pregnancy Reflexology Course. Contains concise information. I look forward to using it. Good size and color
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars The way it is written was fine as was the info, 21 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: What to Expect: Before You're Expecting (Paperback)
Most if the information is things I already new. I felt the book repeated itself too. It has a section about things that stand in the way of fertility too which is not yet relevant to me. I just felt it was re looking repetitive and very basic info. The way it is written was fine as was the info.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I would thoroughly recommend to anyone trying to conceive., 3 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: What to Expect: Before You're Expecting (Paperback)
An excellent book, I refered to this so much whilst trying to conceive. It has so much information and advice it truly is a fantastic source of information and comes with charts to track your cycle etc. I would thoroughly recommend to anyone trying to conceive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

What to Expect: Before You're Expecting
What to Expect: Before You're Expecting by Heidi E. Murkoff (Paperback - 7 Jan 2010)
7.69
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews