Customer Reviews


103 Reviews
5 star:
 (50)
4 star:
 (34)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


36 of 38 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The making of an assassin
Vince Flynn has written a series of books featuring undercover CIA counter-terrorism agent Mitch Rapp. "American Assassin" is a prequel to the series which explains how Rapp started his career. I have not read any of the other books in this series, but this seemed a good place to start.

The story is set in the late 1980s. The CIA want to form a team of black...
Published on 27 Dec 2010 by Julia Flyte

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Maybe an afterthought.......
A pre-quel sounds a good idea but after writing a series of, generally good stories featuring Mitch Rapp, Vince Flynn has disappointed and not lived up to his usual quality. First impression was 'a good idea and should be an interesting read' but final impression was ' good idea but no real thought and structure'. It read as if Vince got bored towards the end. Hopefully...
Published on 17 July 2011 by A. F. Prestwich


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

36 of 38 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The making of an assassin, 27 Dec 2010
By 
Julia Flyte - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: American Assassin (Paperback)
Vince Flynn has written a series of books featuring undercover CIA counter-terrorism agent Mitch Rapp. "American Assassin" is a prequel to the series which explains how Rapp started his career. I have not read any of the other books in this series, but this seemed a good place to start.

The story is set in the late 1980s. The CIA want to form a team of black ops agents who will operate independently from the CIA and who can carry out assassinations of US enemies. They recruit a half dozen likely prospects. Most are ex-military, but one (Mitch Rapp) is a 23 year old college graduate and star athlete, who has his own personal motivations for choosing this career. The course is gruelling and all but two of the applicants fail or drop out. Over the next year, Rapp and another agent are taught the tricks of the trade: how to approach a safe house, how to communicate with your handlers, how to react when you are being fired upon, how to kill efficiently. Only when Rapp's training is complete is he despatched on his first assignment: to kill a Turkish arms dealer who sold the explosives used in the Pan Am bombing over Lockerbie. From here the story moves between Germany, Switzerland, Moscow and Beirut.

This is an accomplished thriller. The pace throughout is steady, the characters are well developed and the storyline feels plausible. It builds to an explosive climax and left me wanting more. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great book let down, a bit, by the ending., 14 Jan 2011
This review is from: American Assassin (Paperback)
I love all the books in this series. This one fills in some gaps about the start of Mitch's life as an assassin. It has great pace to it and I could not put it down. My one reservation is the ending. It's almost as though Vince Flynn was rushing off to a football match or had some other deadline because I think that he could have done much better with the finale. Still, I look forward to the next volume in this saga!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable!, 23 Oct 2011
This review is from: American Assassin (Paperback)
This is my first Vinc Flynn book and I thoroughly enjoyed it. It tells the story of a boyfriend of one of the victims of the Lockerbie bombing. The death of his loved one spurs him on to start training as a black ops assassin - targeted at the new breed of terrorists. I know this is part of a series, and I found it a good starter as I got to know the main character and see how he develops from a rookie to assassin. I have no idea how 'true to life' it all is, but I found it entertaining, nicely paced and well written.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mitch Rapp Earns His Bones, 29 Oct 2010
By 
Donald Mitchell "Jesus Loves You!" (Thanks for Providing My Reviews over 124,000 Helpful Votes Globally) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: American Assassin (Hardcover)
"Seek justice, Rebuke the oppressor; Defend the fatherless," -- Isaiah 1:17 (NKJV)

Among the many heroic thriller characters that excite us, few authors give us much of a sense of how the person got to be whatever way he is. Vince Flynn takes two giant steps in that direction with American Assassin by showing us Mitch Rapp entering assassin training under Stan Hurley through Mitch's first three field assignments . . . including one that appears to be going bad.

A strength of the story is how Flynn demonstrates the ways that Rapp's potential faith in his superiors and colleagues is undermined during the training process. A weakness of the story is that the action parts are toned down to reflect what an inexperienced Rapp might have been able to handle. There's a curious ambiguity in the plot development that has Rapp operating at an exceptional level in hand-to-hand combat from the beginning. This detail didn't quite ring true with me.

All in all, American Assassin was an above-average thriller read for me, and I raced through it. Although it's not essential to read this story if you are a Mitch Rapp fan, I think you will probably be glad when you do.

I, too, am shocked to see how high the electronic price is. I read the hardcover version so whatever weaknesses the electronic edition has are invisible to me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Maybe an afterthought......., 17 July 2011
By 
A. F. Prestwich (West Sussex) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: American Assassin (Paperback)
A pre-quel sounds a good idea but after writing a series of, generally good stories featuring Mitch Rapp, Vince Flynn has disappointed and not lived up to his usual quality. First impression was 'a good idea and should be an interesting read' but final impression was ' good idea but no real thought and structure'. It read as if Vince got bored towards the end. Hopefully in future he will revert to his usual steady standard.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A major disappointment, 4 Jun 2011
By 
This review is from: American Assassin (Paperback)
This is a prequel to a succesful series of high powered thrillers by Vince Flynn. I was really looking forward to finding out how Mitch Rapp got recruited. This story is padded out with a lot of inconsequential stuff. The element that makes the other books so powerful - the tension, the race against time, the sheer adrenelin in the story telling rarely surfaces. Fynn is coasting. Try his other books most are excellent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Rapp Takes the Rap for Assassinations, 4 Jan 2011
This review is from: American Assassin (Paperback)
"American Assassin" is one of Vince Flynn's best books. It reminds me of his "Consent to Kill," my personal favorite Rapp thriller.

"Assassin" depicts CIA hit man Mitch Rapp's life when he is recruited to become a CIA agent. A champion lacrosse athlete in college, Rapp is eager to become a CIA operative after his girlfriend is blown up in the Pan Am Lockerbie attack by terrorists.

Rapp aches to mete out retribution to the terrorists. Some might call it "revenge." Rapp terms it "retribution" when he discusses the subject with the military psychologist who is trying to ascertain whether Rapp is mentally capable of becoming a CIA hit man.

The character of the crusty old half-crazy reprobate Hurley, who trains Rapp to become a CIA hit man, is well limned by Flynn. Mel Gibson of "Lethal Weapon" fame would be the perfect actor to play the stubborn misanthrope Hurley.

The book follows Rapp as he and his hit squad plot the assassinations of various terrorists and malefactors around the world.

Rapp starts out his CIA career by blowing away a Turkish arms dealer in Istanbul. This particular assassination is personal for Rapp: the arms dealer provided the explosives to the terrorists who took part in the Pan Am Lockerbie attack.

Next up, Rapp and his hit squad journey to Hamburg to take out a German banker who is helping provide money to terrorist organizations in the Mideast. The banker owns dogs that he values more than he does his wife. Rapp and his crew use this canine affection against him when they threaten to mutilate his dogs if he doesn't reveal the infromation they want. They will do something to his dogs' eyes if he doesn't start blabbing. The tied-up banker squirms in pain as he watches Rapp and the knife move toward his dogs . . .

Rapp's assassinations are meticulously plotted and detailed by Flynn, informing the book with an aura of realism.

The action-packeed finale when Hurley is incarcerated by terrorists is riveting and chock-full of bloody violence. The Russians are included in the ending as they have been bankrolling terrorists in the Mideast. The Russsians participate in the clandestine negotiations precipitated by the Americans to secure Hurley's release. To no avail. The negotiations fail to prevent the ensuing bloodbath that comprises the conclusion of the book.

A top-notch thriller, no doubt about it.

--Bryan Cassiday, author of "The Kill Option"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I was looking for an alternative to Jack Reacher., 5 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I'm a fan of the Jack Reacher series, but as I approached the end of Lee Child's successful series I needed to find an alternative fix to feed my habit. Reacher was also feeling formulaic. American Assassin exceeded my expectations. Well written and fast paced. I tore through the first book and look forward to more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good holiday book and series., 9 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good read. I am always looking for a new series for holidays etc. I think this fits the bill. A bit of a Lee Child, Jack Reacher type read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars American Assassin, 25 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Amazing characters that, love them or hate them, they leap out of the page and drag you into the plot - top banana!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

American Assassin
American Assassin by Vince Flynn (Paperback - 1 Nov 2010)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews