Customer Reviews


41 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant
Another fantastic book from JC.
Had me hooked from the beginning.
Great characters, great storylines.
A perfect chick lit read.
Published on 31 Mar 2010 by Amy

versus
14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars modern dialogue but lacking plot or substance
I have been an avid Jackie Collins fan for many years. However this book has a group of very weak characters including Bobby Santangelo.Readers familiar with the first two Santangelo books would expect a son of Lucky to be ballsy, tough and into mischief. This guy is too good to be true.
Other characters pop in and out uttering dialogue - but nothing happens !!! a...
Published on 8 Oct 2009 by L. S. Sinclair


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars modern dialogue but lacking plot or substance, 8 Oct 2009
By 
L. S. Sinclair "louise318" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Poor Little Bitch Girl (Hardcover)
I have been an avid Jackie Collins fan for many years. However this book has a group of very weak characters including Bobby Santangelo.Readers familiar with the first two Santangelo books would expect a son of Lucky to be ballsy, tough and into mischief. This guy is too good to be true.
Other characters pop in and out uttering dialogue - but nothing happens !!! a few sex scenes (notable for their lack of steaminess) but none of the vintage Collins skill of plots and sub stories making the reader loathe or root for various characters.
Anyone who enjoyed Chances and Lucky will be sadly disappointed by the watery personalities whimpering through the pages of this epic yawn.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Collins hits the skids, 31 Jan 2010
By 
Gareth Wilson - Falcata Times Blog "Falcata T... - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Poor Little Bitch Girl (Hardcover)
For years, if you wanted something steamy, something glamorous and bound up with the rich storytelling skills then you knew to reach for the latest Jackie Collins. However, more recently it seems to be more about the name on the cover than the real content as the characters within this offering really would not stand out compared to her earlier ones. They're weak, they're unglamorous and above all they seem pretty wretched as their singular unpopular threadbare lives don't make for great material. A good example of this is the character of Bobby Santangelo who you'd expect to have the guts of his mother Lucky, the wants and needs of a playboy but unfortunately is too much of a goody goody with no real backbone and not enough bad boy to satisfy the readers expectations.

Whilst Jackie does seem to be trying to get a more realistic woman into her pieces what she needs to do is get out there and research the women of today as she really does seem to have lost touch with a number of her audience that originated in the 80's. Hopefully she'll get back on form with her next offering.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Yawn, 15 May 2010
This review is from: Poor Little Bitch Girl (Paperback)
I picked this book up as I was recovering in hospital and Jackie Collins was one of the first authors I read as a curious teenager. Fast foward 20 years..I have come to the conclusion that she should actually be writing for teenagers. This book is utter drivel. I was curious about Bobby because I was such a fan of his mum and grandfather but what a disappointment he turned out to be! Bobby had none of the ballsiness or maverick attitude that comes with the Santangelo name, he was just a boring rich kid with a weird obsession with older, powerful women that treat him badly. Totally lame.

This book lacks plot, half way through you wonder what it's actually about, the characters are unlikeable. We have a overpriveledged, spoilt brat whose parents were movie stars and she is now secretely working as a Madame (Hmm..haven't we had that before in another book?) A supposedly 'hot shot' conceited female lawyer who is actually more interested in getting laid and is constantly being pushed around by friends, employers, parents..and lastly a selfish, dumb assistant who believes her married Senator boss will leave his wife just because she's pregnant. And that is what the book is about. Four people and their pea brains.

And if you're looking for a racy read then don't bother. Stephanie Meyer had more passion in her Twilight series. Jackie Collins has mastered the fade to black sex scene. At the end of the chapter the couple have dinner and at the start of the next chapter the sex is over with and they are having a post coital cigarette. It's that bad.

There is a murder plot in the background but it's so transparent you actually won't care by the end of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 31 Mar 2010
By 
Amy (West Midlands) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Poor Little Bitch Girl (Hardcover)
Another fantastic book from JC.
Had me hooked from the beginning.
Great characters, great storylines.
A perfect chick lit read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Fantastic Book, 3 Mar 2012
This review is from: Poor Little Bitch Girl (Paperback)
Jackie Collins does it again by creating another fantastic book, amazes me how she can create such fantastic stories. Loved this book from start to finish and now i'm reading the follow up called Goddess of a Vengenance (which i've read already and now reading again), you cannot put these books down. Great book from a great lady.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars sinfully delicious.., 24 Jun 2011
By 
Beanie Luck Spud (Cotswolds) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Poor Little Bitch Girl (Paperback)
I honestly dont know what all these other reviewers are talking about, i LOVED this book, i thought it was fabulous.

I had not read any Jackie in a while and so picked this up really cheap and once i picked it up, i literally could not put it down.

Jackie is a master of building the most sinfully delicious worlds that secretly everybody wants to live in, i read her for pure escapism, i mean after all, dont we all want our own Bobby ?? i know i do, i have cast him in my head already lol

This is fast paced, narrative is brilliant, it had just enough characters to not only keep me interested, but kept me turning the page, so often romance writers fill the pages with so many people you lose interest in the story but my interest never wavered once.

I am now off to purchase Goddess of Vengeance.

Buy the book, you wont regret it, i didnt :0)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not up to Jackies usual standard., 15 July 2010
By 
Ms. P. G. Hadfield "Pamgwen" (Manchester, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Poor Little Bitch Girl (Paperback)
I've been a reader of Jackie's books for many years starting off with the inimitable Hollywood Wives - Brilliant.

The thing that sets Jackie apart as an outstanding author, is that, you have the glamour, the steaminess, the seediness, but you also get a great storyline.

Sadly this book has 50% of the first three ingredients, but 0% of the latter. It's a bland read, predictable characters and a predictable conclusion, and as a former reviewer said, rushed to conclusion.

However, every author is entitled to a bad book, and this is hers.

Still haven't lost any admiration for her though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Soooo dissapointed!, 29 Jun 2010
This review is from: Poor Little Bitch Girl (Paperback)
I read this because so many people rave about Collins and I was expecting great things. Am I the only person who thinks it was badly written with a boring plot?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great All The Way!!!!, 12 Dec 2010
It's been a while since I read a book by Jackie and I can honestly say that it was well worth it and forget how un put downable her books are.

The chapters are quite short and not too many characters to it's not too long to wait to find out what heppens to each character in their next chapter.

The end was predictable but still good - all in all a good read and glad I bought this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A good easy read, 22 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is the third Jackie Collins book i have read. She does not disappoint. Find it very difficult to put down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa637d1b0)

This product

Poor Little Bitch Girl
Poor Little Bitch Girl by Jackie Collins (Audio CD - 15 Oct 2009)
13.41
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews