Customer Reviews


216 Reviews
5 star:
 (96)
4 star:
 (46)
3 star:
 (30)
2 star:
 (28)
1 star:
 (16)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Slow start but don't judge the book by this
Ten out of ten. Another Tom Rob Smith hit. Nothing like the Child 44 trilogy. Found it was a slow burner. But a third of the way into it and could not put it down.
Published 1 month ago by Margaret hall

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Mind games.....
An interesting book this one. I really enjoyed Tom Rob Smith's Leo Demidov trilogy but this book was completely different. Daniel's parents, Swedish born Tilde and Englishman Chris, have retired to Sweden. Daniel finds himself questioning his whole life up to then when his father rings and tells him his mother is sick in the head and then his mother rings and says not...
Published 25 days ago by Nicola


‹ Previous | 1 222 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Slow start but don't judge the book by this, 11 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Farm (Kindle Edition)
Ten out of ten. Another Tom Rob Smith hit. Nothing like the Child 44 trilogy. Found it was a slow burner. But a third of the way into it and could not put it down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Just who can you trust?, 25 April 2014
This review is from: The Farm (Hardcover)
The Farm has been on my 'to read' list for a good while now, so whilst I was at the airport recently waiting for my flight to Canada I couldn't stop myself buying it! And I'm so glad I did.

The Farm is an addictive novel that I found very difficult to put down. Cleverly written with lots of suspense and plot twists - where you would least expect them.

Daniel, our protagonist is on his way home from the supermarket when he receives the phone call from his father Chris that changes everything. Chris's wife Tilde (Daniels mother) is seriously ill and has been admitted to a secure psychiatric unit in Sweden. Guilty at not going to visit his retired parents sooner, Daniel books himself on the first flight he can.

Whilst waiting for his departing flight to be called Daniel receives a call from Tilde asking him not to believe anything that his Father has told him, for it is all lies. Tilde has been released from the secure psychiatric unit and is on her way to see Daniel.

Daniel and Tilde return to the flat where Daniel has a secret of his own. As Tilde begins to recount her strange tale of abduction, abuse, conspiracy and murder, Chris repeatedly calls his son, apparently concerned about his wife's welfare. With both parents desperately trying to make their side of the story heard Daniel finds himself having to make a monumental decision.

Who to believe?

And as the story develops, you will be asking yourself that exact question, just who do you believe, and who do you trust?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars believing his parents are happily pursuing their dream, 25 Aug 2014
By 
Luanne Ollivier - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Farm (Hardcover)
Tom Rob Smith is the award winning author of the Child 44 trilogy, but an author I hadn't read until now. His newest release is The Farm.

Daniel's parents,Tilde and Chris, for personal and financial reasons, have decided to move from England to Sweden - Tilde's birth country. They buy a small farm in an isolated community and look forward to a bucolic retirement.Daniel keeps meaning to visit, but for his own reasons, keeps putting it off, believing his parents are happily pursuing their dream.

But when his father calls saying his Mum isn't well and has in fact has been hospitalized, he is shaken. Then his Mum calls, saying she has fled Sweden - and Chris - and is on her way to see him in England. She is cryptic, saying she will only reveal what has been going on in when she gets there. But, he must believe her.....his father is dangerous and her life is in danger....If he doesn't believe her, he is no longer her son.

What a great premise! Smith slowly lets Tilde tell her carefully documented story, complete with her proof. The reader is inexorably caught up in Tilde's slowly built case. But Daniel is torn - this is not the father he knows. Could his mother be mistaken? The reader is never sure of what is the truth - Tilde's 'evidence' seems quite plausible, but her manic paranoia makes her an unreliable narrator.

I really enjoy this style of book - not knowing who is telling the truth, trying to find the thread of what has truly happened in the narrative. I thought Smith did a fabulous job with this.

It was only after I finished the book and was reading more about Tom Rob Smith, that I discovered that the inspiration for The Farm was his from his own life. (Spoiler if you click through). In fact, this book is a mirror of that situation - underlining why I thought the writing was so compelling. While Smith's personal situation was resolved much quicker, the fictional tale had me wondering until the final pages what was real and what would happen.

I really enjoyed The Farm.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A farm is not a home...., 28 July 2014
By 
Michael Watson "skirrow22" (Halifax, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Farm (Hardcover)
This is a book of tenths; 9/10 and 1/10. The larger section (that's to say, most of it, obviously) starts with a disturbing call from Sweden from the Farm (hence the title) from the mother of her son now living in London telling him that she's on her way to see him and that his father is trying to have her sectionalized.

Needlesstosay, the son is confused. His mother lays out an entire story where possible murder, strange Swedish lores and a possible cover up which all seem too much to believe, given what the son thought was a standard, normal life that his parents were living.

Without her son's belief in her, the mother is lost. Does he believe? Well, there we are. Dad turns up, the logic of her claim floats just out of reach. And so we reach the end of the first part.

Mark, the son, is stricken by a genuine guilt and that there must be an answer to the serious accusations. He borrows money and shoots over to the Farm to do his best to solve it all. Does he? This is a well-constructed book, logical in its telling and so falls down just a little in order for the finale to be reached because it's all rather rushed. To achieve this, the characters change their personality sufficient to guide Mark in his quest and, given that 9/10s of the book has set the standard, it does show through.

Still, it is a unique story. I'm not sure that since Child 44, the author has ever quite surpassed that quality but this one makes a good fist of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars oh how I love the Summer holidays, 13 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Farm (Kindle Edition)
A while since I gave finished a book in a day, oh how I love the Summer holidays!
The book was a thriller with a difference that kept me reading and reading. Cleverly written as I kept changing my mind about the credibility of some characters and indeed how it would end.
I loved the setting and the links with London ,also the essential link with childhood which I did not get for a while.
A book I would highly recommend as indeed it came to me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Mind games....., 3 Aug 2014
By 
Nicola "nicola_in_southyorks" (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Farm (Kindle Edition)
An interesting book this one. I really enjoyed Tom Rob Smith's Leo Demidov trilogy but this book was completely different. Daniel's parents, Swedish born Tilde and Englishman Chris, have retired to Sweden. Daniel finds himself questioning his whole life up to then when his father rings and tells him his mother is sick in the head and then his mother rings and says not to believe a word his father says and that she is on her way back to England from Sweden.

The book is mostly made up of Tilde telling her story to Daniel, with the final part being Daniel looking into what his mother has told him. I did find some of Tilde's 'voice' rather odd and implausible but this is a book that is relatively short and very easy to read so I raced through it. Overall it's a good psychological thriller but although there's a twist I did expect something more to end on and I'm finding myself wondering if I have missed something.

Good, but not as good as this author's previous novels, but it is worth a read if you enjoy psychological thrillers and mind games.

Thank you to the publishers and Netgalley for allowing me to read and review this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Farm, 12 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Farm (Kindle Edition)
This book is totally different to the Child 44 trilogy. You form an impression whilst reading the story of the mother that is then confirmed in the book, then the son starts his own investigations...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars awesome book, 6 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Farm (child 44) (Paperback)
Another fantastic thriller from tom rob smith - I couldn't put it down and read it in a day - can't wait for the next one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Interesting read, 30 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Farm (Kindle Edition)
Very enjoyable especially when you know it's based loosely around the true story of his mother and father . Bit of a twist at end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars tb farm, 26 May 2014
This review is from: The Farm (Hardcover)
Was an excellent read, keeping you enthralled to the last page. Calls to mind the writing of the Danish mysteries.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 222 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Farm
The Farm by Tom Rob Smith (Hardcover - 13 Feb 2014)
6.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews