Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


39 of 40 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good but there are better
I bought this book as a preserving novice along with the WI's Best Kept Secrets jams, pickles and chutneys by Midge Thomas. I prefer the latter but there are some fab recipes in this book especially the Spiced Dried Apricot jam which is sensational. The first chapter covers all you need to know about preserving including sterilising jars, setting points, equipment etc...
Published on 17 May 2009 by Jen

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars preserves book
it is a good simple to follow preserves book, did not have the one i wanted in it but will use anyway. clear concise printing and colour pictures.
Published 13 months ago by karen


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

39 of 40 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good but there are better, 17 May 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: WI Book of Preserves (Hardcover)
I bought this book as a preserving novice along with the WI's Best Kept Secrets jams, pickles and chutneys by Midge Thomas. I prefer the latter but there are some fab recipes in this book especially the Spiced Dried Apricot jam which is sensational. The first chapter covers all you need to know about preserving including sterilising jars, setting points, equipment etc. the following chapters cover jams and conserves, jellies, marmalades (pink grapefruit and lemon is highly recommended), curds and cheeses, chutneys and relishes, pickles, compotes, candies and dried fruit, sauces and spreads and oils, vinegars and alcohol. Plently to keep you busy and a wide range of ingredients used so you'll find a suitable recipe whatever the season.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Boss Jammers, 2 Sep 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: WI Book of Preserves (Hardcover)
Seriously - where else would you expect to learn about jam making? The WI, sometimes regarded with wry amusement and dismissed as jam and Jerusalem, does tremendous work for communities. But even if they were nothing but jam they would still have the right to shout their existence with triumph. BECAUSE JAM IS IMPORTANT, DAMN IT! This is a superb book. Quite the best I've ever found on the subject. Easy to use, uncomplicated and inspirational.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars easy does it, 13 Sep 2010
This review is from: WI Book of Preserves (Hardcover)
I was sure I could rely on the W.I. and I was not disappointed. This book was nicely written with clear no nonsense recipes,and so easy to make. The strawberry jam in particular was the quickest that I have ever made. I will be doing another batch of preserves tomorrow, love it .Mary (ex W.I member)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Preserves, 25 May 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: WI Book of Preserves (Hardcover)
I make alot of preserves using produce from my garden and this book gives some very good ideas and recipes that actually work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WI Book of Preserves make an excellent gift to an old friend., 5 Nov 2009
By 
Vivien Jenkinson "chutney witch" (South Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: WI Book of Preserves (Hardcover)
A clear and concise recipe book with plenty of pictures.
There is a wide variety of recipes, all tried and tested by experienced cooks.
I bought this book for a friend. Maybe a friend will buy me one! here's hoping.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a splendid, informative book, 12 Oct 2009
By 
This review is from: WI Book of Preserves (Hardcover)
A good overall guide to jams and preserves beginning with a list of essential equipment. Everything one needs to know about the basics of making james and preserves with a splendid collection of various fruits to use.
A good "jam Bible" - the W.I. have done it again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Where else would you learn about preserves!, 15 Sep 2009
By 
ratscat13 "ratscat13" (North East Scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: WI Book of Preserves (Hardcover)
This is a good book - I bought it coz as the review title states - who else would you ask but the WI!

It is an informative book on jams, chutneys and preserving etc. However the recipes are nothing unusual. If you are looking for a basic introduction to traditional preserves then this is a good book for you. However if you want to experiment with new ideas then there are better books out there.

That said it works well with an introduction to the principles of preserving, sterilising etc. Then moves onto the recipes.

There is nothing wrong with this book but it's not very adventurous.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars preserves book, 3 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: WI Book of Preserves (Hardcover)
it is a good simple to follow preserves book, did not have the one i wanted in it but will use anyway. clear concise printing and colour pictures.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring book for Jam Making, 21 Sep 2011
This review is from: WI Book of Preserves (Paperback)
This book seems larger than it actually is. The recipes are complemented by excellent pictures which really inspire you to try them. An excellent starter book for preserve making. Good value for the money. Amazon packaging was high standard and the book was delivered promptly - something amazon are consistent with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic variety, 15 Jan 2011
By 
S. S. Lane (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: WI Book of Preserves (Hardcover)
Great recipes with lots of different ideas and full instructions for the beginner. Liked this book when i received it so much that I bought it as a Christmas present for my sister who was equally impressed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb59c20c0)

This product

WI Book of Preserves
WI Book of Preserves by Carol Tennant (Hardcover - 1 Sep 2008)
Used & New from: 5.04
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews